We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait to get out of it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Tropical to your Saves list
Aparthotel Tropical
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Puerto Viejo, 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
County Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to get out of it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Terrible horrible dirty place. Turned on my heal and left. I was nearly going to wipe my feet in the way out. Carpet filthy, 2 small camper like beds. Door wouldn't lock. One small window overlooking someone else's balcony. Would not stay here if I was paid to. We ended up booking into another hotel for the week at our expense rather than stay one night in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was in a great location. We stayed on the 5th floor room 507 which is the best room on that floor. Large balcony ideal for people watching on the busy road below although quite noisy. I heard the bin men every morning at 7am but at least it gets you up early. No kettle but had large fridge, 4 ring hob, oven and microwave. Great shower and comfy beds. Loats of local supermarkets nearby which were reasonable priced. Weather was a bit disappointing 4 days of blue sky and sunshine put of 9....the rest were cloudy but warm. If you like the sunshine I'd head south if I were you. Lovely resort but wouldnt go again because of the weather.
Lago martinez is an outside salt water pool which is huge and worth a visit. Great for topping up the tan. 12 euro's to get in 10-6 includes bed and cushion. Great day out with or without kids.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room on the 5th floor overlooking the road and not the square as this is even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apartamentos P, CLUSTER REVENUE MANAGER at Aparthotel Tropical, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinions with all of us in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Puerto de la Cruz. Sorry to hear that the weather wasn't as sunny as you wished but this way it does not get too warm and kids can enjoy playing in the dangelous sunshine a bit longer than in the south where the radiation is very high.

Should you change your mind (we get full sunny days in winter) please check our web for repeating customers offers.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your comments and hope you had a safe journey back home.

Yours sincerely,

The Mangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night for Carnival. Whilst rooms are a little tired and carpets threadbare they were very clean with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. This hotel shares entrance, reception etc with Park Plaza Hotel and on the roof are two pools, one for each hotel, but you can use either. Each room has a safe and a good size fridge and cooking rings. There's a supermarket yards away, Considering this is a budget hotel the breakfast was very good, better than the 4 star we stayed at just before. Note this Hotel faces the main town square and during festivals and carnivals you may not get much sleep. The reception is open all night and its great for nipping back for the loo or for a snooze before returning for a spot of salsa at 6am!.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony facing the square -if you enjoy nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcdelgadoafonso, Revenue Manager at Aparthotel Tropical, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear J&B

May I take the opportunity to thank you for your comments with regards to our centraly located complexes Apart-hotel Tropical and Apartments Park Plaza and hope you have enjoyed your exiting and safe "Canival Holiday". Indeed the Carnival is noisy but that is the essence of it, as a compensation you can enjoy a free show almost all night, but it only lasts just about two weeks. Should you prefer a more tranquil accommodation, please check among our other 4 complexes in Puerto. They all offer excellent value for money.

Hope to see you again next year and thank you once again for the comments.

Yours sincerely,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during our visit to Tenerife. The room was clean (although smelled of disinfectant during our all stay) and rather spacious.

Our two concerns were:-
- the windows and balcony looked at the main city square where in the restaurants they held very loud concerts every evening till mid-night.
- the breakfasts were not suitable for vegetarians, no choice at all apart from muesli and cheese, but moreover all dish-ware was very unclean.

So if you decide to stay here, ask to have a room not facing the square and don't have breakfasts in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location in old town near seaside, beaches and bus station to take a bus for hiking trails and to Santa Cruz.
The entrance to the Hotel Tropical is NOT Puerto Vuejo 1! You have to access the Hotel Tropical through the Park Plaza Apartments C/ Jose Arroy 2! IT SHOULD BE MENTIONED in www-site or in your booking! The building is old and over the time, full of senior citizens from Scandinavian countries. My room had sea view without balcony. It was impossible to sleep without earplugs because of really loud noise from the square, Plaza Charco. Live music every night until late in the restaurant below and at square, in the wee small hours the cleaners started to clean the square. Kitchenette was dirty and floor was not cleaned well during my staying. Sunbathing area at roof top was fine but senior citizens reserved all deck chairs early in the morning. The swimming pool was grubby. At least the view was great at the roof.

Room Tip: Three star hotel by Spanish standards???
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Only stayed here for a night and at the price paid (18 GBP) for a twin room - could not fault it. Shower was powerful, room was clean, bed comfortable, a full working fridge & kitchenette - what else do you want? The location was great - right on the edge of a lively square full of bars & restaurants, 5 min walk to bus station, 3 min walk to small beach. If you only need a clean room with comfy beds & good shower - go for this hotel; if you like sitting in your hotel room all day - forget it, you will not like it as rooms can be on the small side, the balcony is tiny and the balcony doors are a bit dodgy. This is not a modern hotel, age is showing but it is clean & comfy. Did not have breakfast or eat at the hotel as there were plenty places in and around the square. Did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment about that either. Reception was very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good value for the money and near to everything.
Loud music from the square every evening but downtown is downtown...
Pool high up,breakfeast more than enough.
China restaurangen next to the hotel very good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Tropical

Address: C/ Puerto Viejo, 1, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Puerto De La Cruz
Aparthotel Tropical Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.