We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, surrounded by blue sea and crashing waves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rural Costa Salada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rural Costa Salada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rural Costa Salada
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Camino la Costa. s/n. Finca Oasis, 38270 San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Tenerife
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, surrounded by blue sea and crashing waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Living on the South Coast of Tenerife, it's nice to get away once in a while and this little place was so relaxing and homely that I will try to return again very soon.

Print out a copy of the directions map directly from the hotel website before you drive, and you'll find the place with no trouble - even I managed it! Oh, and as you're almost there you'll drive through a banana plantation - without a doubt, don't turn round because you are on the right track.

Reception is in the main car park and you, complete with your luggage are driven down to the main building on a Golf buggy.

The Hotel has an oldie world charm about it with lots of antique type furnishings. Bedrooms are fairly small with a spacious bathroom (well, ours was) and very clean. There is Spanish TV, a minibar (which is very reasonably priced and well stocked with drinks/snacks) and there was lots of hot water - so no complaints there.

I had taken a bottle of my own wine to the hotel but couldn't find a corkscrew. The staff were very helpful and the receptionist went out of her way to get a corkscrew, then tracked me down to the pool to hand it over to me.

The restaurant food was deliciously different in the evening, although portion sizes were a little on the small side, and the buffet breakfast was well stocked with a mixture of hot and cold foods.

One particularly nice touch is that the hotel offers free tea and coffee throughout the day which you can help yourself to in the restaurant.

Take suitable shoes for walking and you can explore the coastline here, or take a good stock of reading material and lie back to relax by the poolside. There isn't much else to do, which is exactly what I wanted! Heaven.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

we spent three nights in this remote and ouite hotel. we were not prepared for such a place where the roaring sound of the sea waves govern its atmosphere..
we had a hard time finding the place, bacause there was no exact address we could put into our gps, but once we were there we couldn't ignore it's charm. we drove through narrow paths and by walls of banana groves, and if we hadn't known the hotel must be somewhere there, we would have retreated back to the lit areas.

the main hall of the place is warm cosy and well taken care of, and the ajacent dining room is overlooking the rough sea. the place has some sort of a pub, and a beautiful veranda outside the house. the pool is perfect, very inviting and beautiful.
the one less perfect point was the room we got. kind of "spartanic, and very minimal. how shall i say - it was not that inviting to jump into bed.. the blanket of shining stars we could see from our room veranda compensated some, but didn't change the feeling that the room was dull, like a regular basic simple beach room.

for breakfest we had fresh rolls right from the oven, eggs made especially for us and good coffee. we liked that!

the place is no doubt special, but i would recomend it only to those who want to get away from the rush and crash of the city to desolve into the sounds of nature and the simplicity in style.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I am afraid my comments are quite different.
On the positive side I will say that this hotel has a unique and amazing location : getting up in the morning while staring at the ocean gives one a unique feeeling BUT :
- there is no warm water in the evening in room 104
- in the morning one needs to let the water run for, at least, 5 minutes before getting any hot water
- there is no hair-dryer in the room (but they bring you one if you ask for it)
- there is no space to leave your luggage
- breakfast : the « hot water » dates from the day before and not much attention is given to elderly clients (we stayed with our parents)

One would accept many things if there was any kind of flexibility regarding the prices but, if you do not come through an agency you pay the high price (145 €) for a minimal service. Room prices are the same, should you get a bath or a shower. This is definitely a hotel I wouldn't recommend for a long stay : it seems to be living on its reputation.
G. Annez

  • Liked — the scenery
  • Disliked — the price!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed here in March and had a great time. Well worth booking a superior room, it's not much more expensive than the standard rooms and you get a furnished balcony that gives directly onto the ocean.

It was incredibly quiet at night (apart from the sound of the waves). The pool area is beautiful and well maintained.

The only downside for us was that the promise of being able to order wine and tapas did not materialise - the only option was a full meal in the rather dark and stuffy restaurant, with a pretty wierd menu (instead of good ol' rustic Spanish fare, the chef was trying to do something more experimental and didn't really manage to pull it off) - also there was no bar, so you had to order wine by the bottle at restaurant prices. It's quite a schlep to any decent local restaurant so this was a pity. We thought maybe the tapas option only starts in the summer?

Definitely recommended, though. Very rustic and out of the way, lots of peace and quiet and really nice staff.

  • Liked — location, pool, peace and quiet
  • Disliked — very limited food options
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

It was an exceptional experience staying here. Parking and reception are reached through a not-at-all-scenic banana plantation above the sea. Then a buggy takes guests and luggage down hill, away from anything else, to a house converted from family use to a small hotel where the sea breaks on the rocks just below you, the sun sets dramatically every evening, and you can spend your time just doing nothing with no noise except the breakers. The rooms are well-furnished and comfortable, good breakfasts (including boiled eggs cooked perfectly to order!). Part of the relaxation of the stay here is being able to order in the evening anything from a glass or jug of wine and olives - to take and eat on you own terrace or balcony if you want, or on the terrace outside the restaurant and lounge - to tapas, one dish or a full meal. This is a most useful feature, for there are some good days out in the area, so it is nice to be able to come back, leave the car up above and not go out again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rural Costa Salada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Costa Salada

Address: Camino la Costa. s/n. Finca Oasis, 38270 San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Cristobal de La Laguna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural Costa Salada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rural Hotel Costa Salada is situated on the north coast of Tenerife. Set in an horticultural paradise of Canary Island flowers and plants it sits in a commanding position on a cliff top looking out over the ocean. With only 12 rooms this property offers an intimate enviroment in peaceful and relaxing surroundings. For the more energetic there are numerous walking opportunities.The hotel has swimmingpool,jacuzzi y saunaAll rooms have direct dial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rural Costa Salada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Costa Salada Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rural Costa Salada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.