We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of all holidays in Tenerife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masca Valley

Masca Valley
Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 177 Attractions in Tenerife
Type: Valleys, Outdoors
Attraction details
1 review
“The best part of all holidays in Tenerife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I went to Masca valley with my dad and younger ister(13years). We were keen on this walking. We took 2l water bottle, it was not enough but we took some water from the spring, which was always with us :)
Before our trip, it was claimed that it would be hard and will take more than 3h. Nevertheless, we spent just 2h down and 2h walking up. Of course we rushed but also had some stops.
The view have taken my breath for some times. Everything was so magnificent. I loved that sense of nature — no trashes, no seen steps of human.
If you came to Tenerife not for laying in the beach, you must try to walk in this valley!
Take even sneakers. Just remember that there are some slippery rocks.
Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    196
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Valium and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Masca is all it is cracked up to be. BUT:

(a) go early
(b) do NOT go back to Santiago de Tiede; carry on and make it a round trip

It's bad enough driving down - the longest 10 min drive in your life. do not even think about going back the same way just as the tourist coaches come down. just don't. And if you are doing the walk to the coast, take a bus/taxi and get the boat out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Take the TAXI!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Please, please, PLEASE! Do yourself a favor and take the taxi up to Masca. I drove up to Tiede and decided I didn't want the stress of driving up to Masca and my God was I right! The drive up to Masca is so much worse than Tiede. If you're driving leave your car at Los Gigantes and pay a taxi driver to take you to the top. It will cost you around 23 Euro's one way but it is so worth it. You will enjoy the experience so much more. The drivers do this about 5 times a day so they know the route and they know what they're doing. For me Masca was more beautiful than Tiede. It's definitely my number 1! There are some restaurants where you can eat and enjoy the view. If you talk with your driver he will either come back for you later or wait for you on top of the hill. If you visit Tenerife this is not something to be missed!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great experience, especially if you like walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Once you are through the horrendous drive down to the village it is really beautiful. The walk down the gorge is signposted as being closed however it is open. The walk starts with steps then quickly moves to a clear path between the rocks and cactus following the line of the small stream. The rocks are not difficult however I wouldn't walk down if it was wet because they look sharp if you fell on them. There are some steep drops with no barriers. However, that being said we walked down with a 6 year old and 9 year old. We walked for about an hour down then turned about and walked back up. We had never intended to do the full walk however whilst looking at maps since we estimate we did about half in that time. It wasn't hard going, we took no more time on the way back up - although it is steep. I wouldn't recommend it if you like flat safe walks, or, if you have mobility or respiratory problems, however if you regularly walk in the countryside then give it a go. We saw plenty of babies in rucksacks also being carried down.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT FOR THE ELDERLY, DISABLED OR CHILDREN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Masca gorge is a beautiful hike for those with experience, and by all means go on the hike if you are fit and healthy. However I cannot stress enough the dangers of it for children, elderly and disabled, I am a young teen and I found it very hard. There are many sheer and narrow cliffs, that if you tripped and fell down could easily cause death. There are some very frightening challenges to overcome on the way down. Its also quite hard to navigate where to go. On my way down I seen i rock covered in fresh blood, that proved the danger to me. The scenery is on the other hand the most spectacular things I have ever seen! ADVICE: If you are considering a trip to Masca, take a taxi as you will find it very hard to find a parking space, and if you are not planning on hiking back up the gorge then pre-book a water taxi (boat) to pick you up from the harbour below.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masca Valley also viewed

Tenerife, Canary Islands
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Masca Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masca Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.