We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden City holiday apartment

Lovely sandy beach only 5 minute stoll
Lovely sandy beach only 5 minute stoll
Lovely sandy beach only 5 minute stoll
Garden City with Heated pool
Bright studio apartment
Bright spacious studios
One studio has a double bed
Tenerife
|
Condo/Apartment – 
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alj0naK
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice place, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

'+" A good place for its price. We didn't plan to spend lots of time in the room, so mostly we needed a comfortable place to sleep and have a shower, breakfast. Really good location, next to Siam Park, shops, not far from the beach, bus stops and Puerto Colon, from where all the boats and attractions start.
The pool was clean. Place guarded at night and it feels secure returning there for the night.
Don't forget to take your hairdryer, towels (or ask the owner for it) and prepare to pay a visit to the shop the first you get there to buy water and all necessary (soap, shampoo, toilet paper...).
We visited this place with a good mood, so not much could spoil it.
" - "The boiler is quite small, if the first person doesn't care about the second, probably the second won't have any warm water left.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi/fi was expansive and small boiler - lack of warm water
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2013
I am pleased you had a good holiday and enjoyed your stay.

The water heater is the standard size like all the boilers there and just takes about 20 minutes to reheat so it is easy to plan shower times if the first person has taken all the hot water.

A new toilet roll is provided for arrival and there is a mini market on site and a large supermarket just a 2 minute stroll away for soap etc if you do not take your own. Welcome packs can be provided if required.

Garden City is close to everything for your holiday in the sun and pleased you had a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hannah P
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in a lovely complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was the first time we booked through a private owner. The booking process was really easy and the owner provided clear directions.Keys were left in a key box on the front door and we were given the combination number and entry was smooth and the apartment ready for our arrival.

The studio apartment we stayed was ideal for our needs - it had obviously been recently painted and even had a brand new sofa and soft furnishings.

The studio was clean and well maintained and certainly a lot better than the budget apartment we had expected. It was also good to have proper beds and then a sofa to sit on and watch the British TV.

During our stay we had a problem with the kettle not working and we telephoned Janet and she replaced this the same day. We found Janet very helpful during our stay and she recommended places to go.

It was also great having the option to order towels as this meant we didn't even have to pack any beach towels and as there was a self launderette on site we just travelled with hand luggage.

Garden City had 2 pools but we used the heated one as although the days were very hot the water did cool. We also went to the beach which was just a 5 minute walk away - but mostly stayed by the pool.

We would certainly recommend this apartment and are booking to return later this year with family.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location of the complex
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Pleased to hear you had a good time - the apartments are really popular and guests book with me time and time again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
oxtailric...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DONT EVER STAY IN APARTMENT ")£">GARDEN CITY>>/.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

OUr second day there the toilet overflowed,we had to call the cleaner ,Janet,whom then came.i,came back to the apartment to see janet the cleaner ,her husbandmand someone bent over the toilet fixing it,Janet said to me u will have to pay him30euro,i didn,t really think about it and came him the 30,euro.THe 4th day i locked the safe and couldn,t open it,it had my tablets ,money and anything else of value,once again i went and phoned janet,whom said she will come and try opening it,but it would cost me 50euro.i replied 50,euro?She said if i,d like, i could phone alock smith and it would cost me 240E.I told her to come,she enteredthe apartment,moved this piece of stuck on tape,put her key in it,OPENED IT,.Cost me 50..5th day after being shoping and buying meat and frozen foods,that dinner time,the electric went off for 5hrs,frozen food kaput..we,d order towels,she bought two and we re-ordered another two for fourth coming week,they never came,we saw cleaner about 12 days later.mentioned,the towels,she replied ,oh she must of put them in the wrong room,then gave us 4towels,haha,we had 3days left and had bought towels by then.I HAD AWord With Garden City manager whom said because it was aprivate apartment of which he,d had compliants of befor,They couldn,t do anything about it,but that i should really contact the owner which i did after our return,ands tell her as it was not on. that people whom are on holiday through no faults of theirs, should have to pay out more monies,when they had paid so much in the first place for their holiday.I have spoke to owner whom said she would inquire with janet the cleaner,and get back to me,That was on the 10th or 11th ,ist 2013. Haven,t had a reply yet?SO To anyone whom is going to tennerife apartament [2032!!]DO not book it.THE complex is nice,and i believe and what i saw of the complexes apartments they were good,so don,t book aprivate one as you,ve got no recourse if anything goe,s wrong.Book it through Garden City,itself,that way any problems they sort it no cost!!,with private,you get ripped off and at the time u ain,t in aposition to do anything about it,SO you pay.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: when we moved to los christanos.
Liked least: THe way the cleaner manipulates money of you,because of the situation,
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2013
I cannot believe you have left this review as I have written to you - but have not had a response.

Firstly, Janet certainly did not charge you anything for fixing the toilet - even though you had broken it yourself. In all the 15 years I have been renting apartments this particular damage has never occurred before and the maintenance man tells me it was a small problem which you had tried to rectify yourself and caused more damage - thus flooding the bathroom and the property below. You did contact the complex so if you paid anything it must have been to them - it certainly was not to Janet who actually had the problem fixed for you promptly.

You also failed to mention the time you lost the apartment key while you were out, leaving your wife locked inside the apartment as you had locked the door with the key, making it impossible for her to open the door. You had to call Janet to rescue your wife from inside the apartment and to change the locks as you had lost the key.

Regarding the safe. You entered your own combination number on arrival but later during your stay you forgot the code number you had programmed. This occurred early on New Year's Day. You telephoned Janet and she told you unfortunately, she could not drive as she had been drinking the previous evening (New Year's Eve). The only way she could get there was by taxi - so you would have to pay for a return taxi and something for her time as it was a holiday. Or a locksmith would have to be called and it would be your responsibility to pay him as there was no fault with the actual safe.

Janet informed you that if you could wait until the following day she would happily let you into the safe without charge. I would point out that it was totally your fault you were locked out of the safe as you had forgotten your own code number which you had set.

Regarding the electricity this was obviously a power cut on the complex and beyond my control, but as you pointed out electricity was back on within a few hours. I am pleased to say power cuts rarely happen.

You also fail to mention that on your last night you burnt a hole in the brand new bedspread, which I had purchased for your arrival. The damage went right through two sheets, mattress protector and the actual mattress on the bed which all had to be replaced, at considerable expense, for the next guests.

I am sorry if there was a mix up with the towels - but you only had to contact Janet to let her know and she could have resolved this.

The power cut was out of our control and other than the towels all your complaints were actually caused by yourselves. As you are aware Janet is easily contactable in case of any problems.

This is a self catering apartment and not a hotel. Guests are expected to be able to cope and look after themselves.

I am pleased to say many guests make repeat bookings and come back again and again to stay in my apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul M
Johnstone, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with my wife and 4 year old son. We've been to Las America a few times and knew the area fairly well but had never stayed at Garden City before. We knew the location was ideal for just about everything being close to bars, restaurants, San Eugene shopping centre and short stroll to the beach. As for Garden City, we were extremely happy with the comlpex. The area around the pool was not huge but this was more to our taste. The pool itself was nice if a little cool considering it was supposed to be heated. The pool bar was very reasonable and the food was good quality. The bar staff were all friendly and helpful. The studio was ideally placed overlooking the pool and was comfortable if a little "well used" (only real complaint was the sofa bed was not the most comfy). All in all, a nice friendly place to stay. Will not hesitate to book here again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The sofa bed in a studio is really suitable for one child to sleep and even though it is a double sofa bed it is not really large enough for 2 adults and this is why I put the two single beds in the apartment - but leave the sofa bed for a single person adult or a child. I will certainly take a look at the sofa bed when I am next over shortly and replace.

I am pleased you had a good time - Garden City is close to everything. The main pool is heated but the other smaller small to the rear of the complex is not.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
R0sella
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with other members of our family in 2 one bedroomed apartments in August and have already rebooked for next year. But had a chance for a few days quick get away with my husband and only availability for a last minute break was a studio apartment.

While the studio was much smaller than a one bedroomed apartment it was more than adequate for our needs for a short break. We spent most of the time by the pool or on the balcony - who wants to stay indoors? The studio had a hob and microwave which we never used as we ate out every day and just used the kettle and toaster for first thing in the morning.

The complex is not new but everything was clean and tidy (I understand it is about 25 years old) but being older the rooms are larger than some of the newer complexes I have stayed in. Personally I prefer this complex as Garden City is close to everything including some great value bars and restaurants.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The proximity of Garden City to the beach and shops
Liked least: having to return home
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
antonio74...
anywhere
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beware of sunbed hoarders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at garden city in March, 2011. The position of the studio was perfect...opposite the swimming pool. It was very clean and presentable with adequate utensils for our needs. Our only complaint (which we made twice to the bar people) was that most sun beds had towels on them from about 7-30a.m., with many not having any occupants till dinnertime. There were several signs around the pool advising not to reserve beds but to no avail. We found this a very selfish attitude especially went most were British!!!

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2011
I am pleased you had a good holiday - Garden City is an ideal complex as it is close to everything for a great holiday. Sunbeds hoarders tend to be a problem in most complexes where the sun beds are free of charge. I will speak to the community when I next visit to see if something cannot be done to discourage this sort of behaviour, especially during peak times. August is one of the main holiday periods so it tends to be busy with families who want several sun beds. There is another swimming pool at the rear of the complex and this tends to be quieter with more sunbeds available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$357
/ Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Deanna D
44 07092 808164
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2007
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing