We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely must do, but EXPENSIVE cable car to top! Also get your permit in advance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcan El Teide

Volcan El Teide
Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$75*
and up
Tenerife Shore Excursion: Private Teide National...
Ranked #2 of 178 Attractions in Tenerife
Type: Volcanos, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cheadle Hulme
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“An absolutely must do, but EXPENSIVE cable car to top! Also get your permit in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Absolutely loved the trip from Playa de Las Americas up to El Teide, a 3500metre vertical climb. Loved it so much we did it again to be up the for sunrise, which was quite literally surreal. With complete zero residual light the stars in darkness before dawn were incredible.

Definitely hire a car, don't do an organised trip - you'll want to explore at your own pace. Go up on one road and come down another.

The cable car was €25 return for an adult and €12.50 for kids 12 or under. Pretty steep but it is still worth it. The cafe at the bottom of the cable car serves surprisingly good food and drinks, but make sure you take plenty of water with you, you will surprise yourself y how long you want to spend up there. We were able to see La Gomera and La Palma, then Gran Canaria the other way too!

And the big HUGE piece of advice is to arrange your summit permit in advance - only with this can you get to the very top of the crater to look down inside it. They limit these to protect it from erosion and you can't arrange or even buy one on the day, I was gutted to is this bit. You can do it online here: https://www.reservasparquesnacionales.es/real/ParquesNac/usu/html/detalle-actividad-oapn.aspx?ii=6ENG&cen=2&act=1

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    267
    47
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy trip to vulcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The most impressive thing was that you can go from the shore with the warm sea to the foot of mountain with the snow on its peak... And the trip by car will not last more than 1 hour to get above the clouds and to see the peak. We get to 2 000 m height by car and desided not to go to the peak that time and postponed it to the next visit - we did not take warm clothes since we initially drove to the beach and just occasionally desided to go to the vulcano since it was going to rain on the shore :-) Next time I will definitely go to the peak (as high as it would be comfortable for me). On 2 000 m I saw tourists who went there and they looked very warm weared and excited :-)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A must, but pricey to visit the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

You have to visit Teide if going to Tenerife, thats a definite. We have visited Tenerife 3 times in the last 4 years, and every time have visited Teide. The landscape is lunar and the air is beautifully clear if a little thin!
We have done it in a hirecar and on an organised trip. If planning to use the cablecar to go to the top, be prepared for it to be expensive, it is very costly, but it is beautiful once up there. We have done the cablecar once, wouldnt again purely as the cost is so high. On subsequent visits we have just visited the lower part which is stunning in itself. Be careful to read organised trip details. We were stunned every year to discover people believing theyve booked to go to the top who are astonished to find they have to pay extra for the cablecar...but its their lack of attention to the details clearly there when booking trips.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Long drive up to the base of the volcano but worth it. The cable car is 25 euros each and the queue is long so be prepared. There is a small cafe but this is very expensive 3.30 euros for a can of pop!! there are lots of photo stops on way up and well worth the drive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Simply breathtaking experience! The only drawback is that you have to wait in a rahter long line to get tickets for the Teleferico to take you to the top. For the first time I had a chance to notice that at 3555meters there really is a little less air than at sea level. Once you are at the top you can't take your eyes off the view. But remember, if you take the Teleferico cable car you should not return down later then after one hour... Imo not enough to see it all, but what can you do :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan El Teide also viewed

Tenerife, Canary Islands
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 

Been to Volcan El Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcan El Teide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.