We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, nice hotel, airplane noise not as bad as you would expect!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunningdale Village

Save Saved
You added Sunningdale Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunningdale Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Golf del Sur | San Miguel De Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 397 hotels in Tenerife
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, nice hotel, airplane noise not as bad as you would expect!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked independently with booking.com, 1 bedroom apartment. Very pleased, huge balcony with comfy furniture, well equipped and clean. Flat screen tv's with a choice of English channels. No air con but at this time of years fans were adequate. Airplane noise isn't as bad as you would expect & they don't fly between midnight & 7am which helps. Nice pool if a little chilly! Restaurant food good & so is the takeaway. Evenig entertainment every night but we didnt watch any so cannot commet. shop on site has all the essentials. would recommend car hire if u want to get out and about shich we did. loro parque a must and teide. We travelled with our 9montb old son and the staff were fab, nothin a problem cot, highchair provided in apartment. Would Defiantely go again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubLaCostaWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Sunningdale Village, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments – we were glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at our resort and that you found the facilities for your baby boy were as you had hoped. Your feedback is very important to us and we have passed on your kind comments about the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Resort Manager, Sunningdale Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from our second stay at Sunningdale Village. Nice venue although the proximity to the airport means the planes are very loud & low going over but after a few days you almost begin not to mind. Pool area is as you would expect. Team Marina cater for young children with various activities throughout the morning. Zacharys is lovely for food/drinks/snacks but very expensive. Entertainment during lunch & evening is normally provided. We enjoyed a fashion show, snake & parrot show, pool games, bingo and live music. The accommodation is adequate (English channels ITV BBC & Sky are great to have!). The maid visits only once a week. There are lovely restaurants within walking distance of Sunningdale..and a couple of Irish pubs. It is a 8 euro bus ride to Playa de las Americas for shopping etc. This holiday sadly was absolutely ruined by the weather. We had rain & cloud every day (torrential at times) apart from one day. You do go to Tenerife expecting to see some sun so we were very disappointed at our bad luck. Even worse to hear the staff say they haven't had rain in 18 months! All in all Sunningdale worth a visit...but only if the sun's out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubLaCostaWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Sunningdale Village, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank for your taking the time to post your review. We were so sorry to hear that your holiday coincided with bad weather – unfortunately that is out of our control! But we were pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed the on-resort entertainments and activities. As it is your second stay with us you will know all about the attractions of Tenerife and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future, when the sun is shining and you will be able to enjoy the island at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely CLC resort. Friendly staff, Lovely 1 bed apartment but had a very comfortable sofa bed in the lounge area, had everything in the apartment that you would need, welcome pack on arrival. Entertainment every night. You dont need to leave the complex but if you do its only a short walk to bars, restaurants and shops. The bus stops are at the end of the road to Cristianos and Las Americas.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice and wherever you are you will always have the noise from the planes as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beware guys when staying here you are just next to the airport so it is very very noisy . It is a real shame that CLC have not done more to insulate the properties from noise as we stayed in a lovely 2 bed property and I agree with what everybody else says about how wonderfull everything is on the resort but if you are a light sleeper then stay away as the aeroplanes go over every half hour or so .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from our first CLC visit to sunningdale, had a fabulous 2 weeks. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. accommodation great and fantastic views! lovely and relaxing, made to feel very welcome by everyone. entertainment every night. This was our first visit but planning to return asap! met some lovely friendly people and of course the weather was a bonus! would recommend the catamaran trip to see the dolphins and whales, if not staying at sunningdale to eat would recommend Tapas and Chilli andThe Rondevouz, in Golf Del Sur and The Cave in Los Abrigos. Thankyou so much to all the staff for making our first stay so memorable. hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: appt 29a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were offered a discounted week here on the proviso we attended a promotion to advertise and recruit to Club La Costas latest timeshare offer.
Thus we were put in ''marketing accommodation '' which I understand is not as modern as some of the apartments.
One bedroom with a sofa bed for two. Fridge with small freezer compartment, washing machine, microwave but no dishwasher.
Satelite TV with UK channels and kids programs, always a bonus in my experience. DVD did not work unless you bashed it on top, advised by rep to do this.
No air con, just ceiling fans which I am led to believe is standard. You will be provided with towels, teatowels, washing powder tablets and washing up liquid. Also some teabags, bit of jam, butter etc milk, red wine and bread on arrival.
Patio area with umbrella, table and two loungers.Very close to each other so little in way of privacy for conversation etc.
Pool area is standard, bar well equipped and good prices. Supermarket on site is not extortionate either unlike some places.
Nightly entertainment but we did not participate. Some activities for kids, but no a full programme. Son did not attend as we went out every day. We did not eat here so cannot comment on food other than it looked good, plenty of it and reasonably priced.
Would reccommend a car.
Better part of island as less tourists, cheap supermarket up road, Mercadona which is all over Spain. Close to bars and restaurants in this area. All built for tourism, not an existing village.
Closes beach is San Blas, very small and frequented by folk in the masses of rental properties around it.
We used La Tieje up the coast, empty but it is used by naturists so be warned.
Los Abrigos is closest town, great seafood restaurants, great harbour and bars.
Would go back for convenience, but cannot comment on value seeing as we paid £99 for six nights.

Room Tip: Marketing rooms are dated but clean and have basic equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from our 9th visit to this resort and it remains as lovely as ever. The same staff are there year after year which makes us think they must be happy there too and means that we are always sure of a warm welcome back- it's like visiting family! We also see lots of the same guests there each time so lots of people seem to feel the same way we do.
Sunningdale Village is always clean and well maintained. It is only a short taxi ride (10-15 mins) from the airport so very convenient. However, the incoming aircraft do pass directly over the swimming pool which we love but others may not!
The apartments we have stayed in have always been well equipped with a washing machine being of particular value to us! Our various apartments have not had air-conditioning (although some units do) but the ceiling fans have always been adequate to keep us cool. We have always had either a terrace or balcony with both table and chairs plus sun-loungers and all have been great for sun- bathing (particularly useful for those with younger children who need an afternoon nap indoors- parents can still enjoy the sun)
Team Marina provide a kids club as well as activities for adults and a timetable is always provided on arrival so you can see what's going on. Our daughter was 4 years old on our first visit and is now 13. She has always found something she wants to join in with as well as making lots of friends around the pool each year.
Sam's Pantry is the shop on the resort. It is well stocked and the staff are friendly and helpful.
We eat dinner in Zacary's restaurant on site each evening and have also enjoyed breakfast and lunch on occasions too. As I have coeliac disease I require a gluten free diet which the chef is happy to cater for and the restaurant staff are happy and able to assist with menu choices. The restaurant can get busy especially in peak season so it's advisable to book your table in advance. There is also entertainment each evening so we never feel the need to go elsewhere. The restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding tropical gardens with Mount Teide rising in the background and this coupled with the excellent service we always receive in Zarary's makes it just wonderful.
The resort of Golf del Sur is quiet which again is what we are looking for but we can easily access the bigger resorts of Los Christianos and Playa de las Americas either by the hotel bus service or the local Titsa buses if we want to. Team Marina also sell tickets for various excursions around the island if you want to explore more.
We will definitely go back here again as soon as we can- it really is one of our favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunningdale Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Village

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel De Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Tenerife
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Tenerife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunningdale Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunningdale Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunningdale Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.