We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Escondida

Restaurante Escondida
Calle Pasaje el ancla 1, | Alcala - Guia de Isora, 38686 Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 865 080
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Escondida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,799 of 3,529 Restaurants in Tenerife
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the peaceful fishing town of Alcala but still within easy reach of West Tenerife���s most popular tourist resorts, you���ll find Escondida, a chilled out lounge bar and restaurant with a young, funky feel. Wide windows offer stunning sea views while deep colourful sofas are the perfect place to relax with a delicious mojito before moving through to the restaurant, with the same views but a more formal setting. The compact but varied menu offers everything from tapas dishes for a real taste of Spanish food through to blackboard specials, made using in season local ingredients. Every dish is beautifully presented and a real treat for holidaying foodies after an authentic experience.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The restaurant with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the longest established restaurant in Alcala. It is perched on the cliffe above the tiny fishing cove and has large picture windows. The cooking is local with meat and fish main courses. The fish changes with availability and the freshest are on the blackboard every night. It has the atmosphere of being run by a family for local families, and all the better for that.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comment abaut our Restaurant Escondida. As you said we always offer fresh product for our customer, that´s why we write every days the fresh fish and some daily sugestions on our blackboard.
Your comments always help us to continue offering season fresh products and always trying to progress day after day.

We hope to see you soon in your next trip.

Best wishes for Christmast and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is relaxing with great views. The food is Spanish but with middle eastern touches as both owners lived in Morrocco and this is translated to their cuisine. Fresh Fish, great salads and chilled wine as a great combination to enjoy the sunset

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kindly comment, we always try to do our best and to innovate keeping the same quality as always.

We hope to welcoming you again in our Restaurant.

Thank you and all the best for you..

Gorka Lozano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“They need a kick up the backside”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went for dinner with my wife and her brother - never again. The entrance a lobby were so dark I should have brought my torch. When my eyes adjusted I was glad I hadn't brought it - tacky, dusty bits of tat were lying all over the place. We had followed a party of five into the restaurant and were left waiting for 10 minutes while the waiter seated them and sorted them out with menus. Then he served some drinks to the two other tables that occupied. Eventually we sat down with menus. Of the 7 white wines on the list the first three we asked for were not available, unforgivable. At that point we should have left. The waiter disappeared for a while then returned and took our order, at this point a couple of more staff arrived, I guess he'd been phoning them to come in as he was overwhelmed by the thirteen customers who were in the restaurant! My wife and I ordered Cherne and my brother-in-law ordered Tuna. Big lumps of dry overcooked fish arrived with a few chips and a bit of salad. None of us could finish our meals. To add insult to injury the bill was 70 Euros. Poor service, poor food, poor surroundings. Will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir,
First of all I really think you was in another restaurant, because your description doesn't fix with our place. As everybody can see in our restaurant's pictures the light in the entrance is fine, you said was dark, also we clean the restaurant twice by day, so I don't understand your comment .
We never leave a guest waiting on the door to be seat, if the restaurant is busy we ask you allways if you want to wait for a table in our Lounge having a drink.
You also said that you order 2 wines in our list that the waiter said that we didn't have, that can be true because the wine production in Tenerife this year was very few but we have other propose that are not on the menu.
You also said that your bill was 70 Euros, and that you had 2 cherne and a Tuna fish, you also have to say how many starter, dessert and what did you drink, maybe the all makes 70...

Anyway you should told us your desagree the night you had your dinner, so we tried to see what happened.... but never kick up the backside or any other place because this is not polite.

Best regards,

La direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

went twice early November 2012 everything very good. Garlic prawns to die for. Let them cool before eating, as very hot. Fish was excellent and also the entrecôte steak.. Try local wine which we thought was good value very good. Would highly recommend this lovely characterful restaurant overlooking the local quay.

HR. Poole Dorset

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kindly comment, that held us very much to keep on going.
Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes and happy Christmast

La direccion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food here was fantastic! We went two nights during the week at around 8 P.M., and really loved it. The view was very nice, with a cool breeze through the windows. The Gazpacho Andalucia was outstanding, and I never thought I'd like cold tomato soup. The wrinkly potatoes were also quite good, and were accompanied by some great sauces. I also was a big fan of their fried peppers, although I'd say that they were much better in Valencia, Spain. The waiter was very polite and helpful, and the food came quickly. Really liked this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscondidaTenerife, Gerente at Restaurante Escondida, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanyou very much for your comment, we allways try to do our best with all the visitors.
Hope to see you soon.

Happy Christmast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Escondida also viewed

 
Alcala, Guia de Isora
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 

Been to Restaurante Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.