We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrecife Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arrecife Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Arrecife Gran Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My Husband & I stayed here for a week in mid October & after reading previous reviews were unsure what to expect. We booked with Low Cost holidays for a last minute trip. On arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner which reflected the attitude of all the staff we encountered , who were extremely helpful & treated us really well. We were upgraded at no extra cost to a suite as the room we were destined for had a maintance issue ( we were offered the option of waiting for this to be fixed or to take the suite). We were also offered an upgrade to half board ( we had booked b&b) on a special offer which we decided to take & were delighted that we did as the food for both diner & breakfast was of an extremely high standard. The bedroom was kept really clean with a change of linen daily. Really recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Seaview is a must from 4th floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    283
    113
    32
    21
See reviews for
67
449
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just spent a week on holiday in this hotel ... Bedroom / suite was very clean bed really comfortable and spotless clean ... Great shower ... Breakfast was fantastic freshly cooked in front of us ...
Inside Pool was very disappointing
Sun-deck .. Tight squeeze and dirty don't think it had been cleaned in years ... Ate food in the Pool Bar .. Was ok but not brilliant ...
Staff in the Pool Bar were excellent especially Alex he was so friendly and went out his way too make sure everyone was having a good time with his good choice of music and excellent service.
Would not return too this hotel it's certainly not 5 Star

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good 3* but no where near a 5*. The rooms are very clean and of a good standard with some great views. The breakfast is very good with lots to choose from. The pool bar staff are very friendly and gave us great service even thou they seemed under pressure and unable to cope with workload - as a consequence the pool bar lacks any standards of cleanliness, the glass tables look like they have never been cleaned and behind the second bar is disgusting. The food is a hit and miss in pool bar and we had to send back a number of items.
The worst was checking out as we had a number of items on our bill that did not belong to us. We asked to see all our restaurant and bar bills but the reception could not produce so I refused to pay. At present I am in dispute with the hotel. I recommend you check your bill before paying.
Great location but only a couple of decent restaurants and no nice bars.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice hotel. Food reasonable. The swimming pool is very dissapointing for such a large hotel. The lifts were a bit of a nightmare also as only one was working some of the time. Staff were friendly although the front desk should stop answering phone calls whilst dealing with you in person. The area the hotel is in is a very quiet area. We took bus to Puerto De Carmen and Playa Blanca which are both good resorts. Chinese restuarant across the road is great ! Found that eating out and drinking in the other resorts were far cheaper also.

Room Tip: Higher you are the better the view although if lifts not working a problem. Sea view worth paying fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a small suite on the 14th floor, room 1401 with wonderful beach and sea views from our bedroom and lounge area, lovely sunsets were a bonus. B & B at about £73 per night. Twin beds but we reorganised to a big double by placing the mattresses across the bed. It continued to be made this way all week! Good bathroom facilities with shower over bath, double basin and screen door to toilet and bidet. Modern TV and secure room Wi-Fi. Separate Wi-Fi available in other parts. The modern glass and timber roofed heated indoor pool, bar, lounge and attached beautiful sunny balcony with loungers is a real treat. A good evening restaurant and separate bar is on the highest (17th floor), restaurant meals were not large but interesting and sensibly priced. The best local wine "El Grifo" was acceptable at 18 euro a bottle it opens at 7pm, get there to enjoy the sunset. A full arrange of breakfast choices is available on the first floor, which makes evening meals special. Arrecife was great as a base, the main bus station is a 20 min walk, or get there by town bus, from there the whole Island, including day trips to Fuerteventura and La Graciosa Islands are possible without seriously early starts. The local buses are comfortable and inexpensive. Staying close to the hotel, the adjacent beach is reasonable and there are extensive level walks in both directions.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got both sea, beach and the edge of town view in the south west corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My mother and I had booked this hotel through LowCost Holidays as a "secret hotel" it claimed that it would be a 5 star hotel. Flights and transfers to the hotel were smooth.
Upon arrival at the hotel it is certainly imposing, it is the tallest building and can be seen as you fly into the airport. We were dropped at the hotel and made our way into reception. There was no one there, and no way to alert anyone to our prescence. We tried to shout hola and hello and still no one came. It took what I presumed to be a local spanish person to eventually alert anyone to our prescence. We then began the process of checking in. Prior to arrival mum had emailed the hotel and informed them that it was my birthday and had asked whether anything could be done in recognition of this be it an upgrade (as we had seen on here that many people had asked for an upgrade and had been granted one) or something similar. They emailed back stating that they would put a bottle of cava in the room for our arrival.

As we checked in we asked whether we had been upgraded and were rudely and abruptly told no. The what I presumed to be a manager then arrived and very abruptly told us that we had booked an economy room what did we expect. He was dismissive and rude.

Having booked in they waved in the general direction of the lifts with no maps or anything about the local area. We then went up the stairs to the lifts with no help from anyone - definitely a point if anyone is travelling who is injured/disabled/elderley.

We arrived in our room 1306 to find the most....appaling view of the town rooftops not what I was expecting. There was no bottle of cava either, starting to get very disheartened at this point. We then had a look around the room. The phone by the bed did not work but luckily the phone in the toilet did, as mum had a cold her sense of smell was not brilliant however as I went into the bathroom the smell was overwhelming of sewage. Mum came in and also was able to smell it. From the toilet she phoned down to reception to inform them that this was disgusting and unacceptable. They didnt seem to understand what we were talking about. Eventually they agreed to move us rooms stating though that this was the only other room available unless we were willing to pay 23 euros a night extra.

The room we were moved to was 0509 with a view of the roundabout and the pool. It was dark, the walls are painted khaki, there appear to be limited lights in the main area. For what was for 2 people and was booked for 2 people there was only 1 arm chair which struck us as strange so we asked for another one. Eventually getting the cava and the extra arm chair. The aircon is dreadful and barely works we tried to keep the window open however when the room was cleaned they insisted on closing it (as well as moving our things - very irratating).There were questionable stains on the left side of the bed as you lay on it, bedding had holes in it very poor quality.

The shower screen was inadequate as everytime you had a shower you soaked the bathroom and the floor which was dangerous. Toilet moved when you sat on it, un-nerving and noisy.

On the upside the safe was free which is unusual and the fridge was cool and you could store your own drinks in it without being charged. Beds were quite comfy and the TV tuned into Sky and a couple of UK channels if you wish. The Shower is actually quite good if you get past the soaking of the bathroom

On the first night we were exhausted and went to a little restaurant over the road which I will review separately which although basic was fantastic, would highly recommend this. We visited the buffet restaurant the food was ok but I felt it was expensive for what it was. At 18 euros per person plus a bottle of wine it wasnt cheap for an average meal.

Breakfast was pretty good, there was a good selection of food including cooked food pastries and fruit. Eggs and bacon were being cooked in front of you so were fresh. There was cava as well which was a nice touch. Although crockery and glassware was a problem as there wasnt enough sometimes and wasnt always clean.

Beach - we had anticipated using the beach a lot however on the first day we walked on the beach and I was apparently very close to stepping on a piece of glass that was about 2 inches in length, mum nearly stepped on glass the next day so we avoided the beach.

There was no information about local events, we found out (too late) that it was the Lanzarote Iron Man happening whilst we were there as well as a music festival or something (loud until 3am with no warning)
In this same respect the pool and pool bar were closed on the Friday from 5pm until the next day.

Pool bar was expensive - 6 euros for ok ish cocktails, they didnt do sangria until we said we were going somewhere else even then it wasnt proper sangria - I've never had sangria with chopped banana in it and it was just brandy and wine. We ordered a burger and chips for lunch on our last day as we had seen other people ordering them and they looked lovely. We ordered chicken and were presented with veal burgers and then when we took them back they claimed that was what we ordered again rudeness. Eventually our chicken burgers arrived - well all I can say is I ate the chips and the bun, it was disgusting but didnt want to complain again.

The usual reservation of sunloungers happened however there are only about 15 soun loungers to a hotel that has at least 150-200 rooms. Pool is covered which is strange and not heated at least I didnt think it was. We enjoyed the soun loungers but the sun doesnt reach them until about midday but not a problem as we enjoyed reading and chatting.

The area is not a tourist area there is a small town with shops including a supermarket, although there are a few little corner shops you can pick up a decent bottle of wine and take it back to your room for 3-4 euros (18 euros for room service wine!!)
Not many restaurants a couple La cervezeria and la terezza (v.unsure of spelling!) both good with La Cervezeria doing awesome sangria (cheaper as well) and amazing cocktails that were miles better than at the pool bar. The waiters are lovely as well and so good cannot fault them. However thats about it. There is an AWESOME ice cream shop which you must try and has the loveliest man serving quite decent prices 3 scoops for 3 euros 20, the banana coconut and strawberry are to die for. La Tope is meant to be a brilliant place to eat, however it doesnt open until 8pm so a bit late for what we wanted.

Lifts are hilarious - if they work they are sporadic and BE CAREFUL when they arrive as they dont always meet the floor so you could trip.

Our room was noisy but we made the best of it. It seems that the hotel has called itself the Arrecife Gran Hotel ***** and isnt actually a 5 star, I would best describe it as a slightly upmarket Travelodge.

Lanzarote was beautiful and the people in shops and restaurants were lovely. The town was lovely and there is a little harbour which is beautiful. Arrecife is not a bad place at all and can be quite beautiful. But there has to be a better hotel. We made the most of our stay and enjoyed it with a few cocktails!! Apologies for the long review!!

Room Tip: Rooms over sea view are likely to be quieter but hotter. Keep windows open for ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just back from a holiday in this hotel. We weren't disappointed.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was big with two washbasins and a shower over the bath. The water pressure was impressive and the water varied between hot and warm, but never cold. A previous review warned of "a toilet behind a glass door". In fact the toilet is in the bathroom behind a frosted, sliding glass door and offers plenty of privacy! Included in the bathroom are free toiletries: shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser. These are replenished each day. Also offered are a shower cap, toothbrushes and small tubes of toothpaste, a comb and also some cotton buds and make-up remover pads. There is also a small, simple hairdryer.
The downside was the air conditioning. On arrival we thought it wasn't working, but in fact this is a "green" thing to save energy. After the first day we were more used to the heat and it was no longer particularly noticeable.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious with something for everyone from cereal, fruit, English breakfast, pastries, cold meats, pancakes.... The same was true for the dinner buffet where there was always a choice of fish and meat freshly cooked in front of you (you could have both, the portions were quite small!).
We ate one night in the restaurant on the top floor (if you have half board you pay 50% of the food bill). The view was lovely, the service very good and the food delicious.
The swimming pool is indoors with lots of sofas and some day beds to lie around on. The downside was the narrow sun terrace outside with not enough space or loungers.
The beach is out of the front door of the hotel about 50 yards down on the same side of the road.
We found the staff not particularly friendly at first, but some thawed if you insisted on being pleasant to them!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrecife Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrecife Gran Hotel

Address: Parque Islas Canarias | Arrecife de Lanzarote, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arrecife Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrecife Gran Hotel & Spa is the only 5 star hotel which is situated next to one of the biggest white beaches of Lanzarote.Ideal to spend an unforgettable vacation full of relaxation and tranquillity. It offers in its 17th floors 26 standard rooms, 26 rooms with sea view, 104 suites with sea view an 4 Imperial Suites on the 16th floor with extensive sea views. Fantastic and spacious rooms with excellent views over the sea and the beach, El Reducto beach.All rooms are equipped with the following: •Internet connection/ WIFI•Satellite television•Bureau •Mini bar•Safe deposit box•Air conditioning •Telephone in sleeping room and bathroom Attention to detail is present throughout. They combine exclusive decoration, sophisticated amenities and an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrecife Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrecife Gran Hotel Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrecife Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.