We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamar

Altamar
Avenida de Fred Olsen, 1, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
928 800 000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Altamar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Arrecife
Price range: $43 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This restaurant is so nice! If you have some special day, you should go there to eat. Food was really good, we took this tasting menu (42€) including wines and water. I recomed!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfection of Pretention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Where to start. Being made to believe a reservation is mandatory is quite irritating when you discover you are one of two parties in the entire restaurant that night. After staying in the hotel, I can safely say the food at the pool bar was almost identical, except of course in its price.

Just because the selection of bread rolls I chose not to eat at breakfast and lunch is warmed up and served to me with a silver spoon does not make it tasty or worthwhile. This sort of pretention was annoying, especially as all we would have quite liked was nice food, a normal- large portion and a nice atmosphere.

Food was bog standard, and atmosphere was worse. The view is nice if you enjoy viewing a derelict town and an airport.

The waiter was friendly however and i do feel there was just a problem with mixing good food with pretention.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant on the 17th floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very good food served traditionally in the restaurant on the 17th floor of the Gran Hotel. Excellent value for quality food in a wonderful setting

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really nice meal in a stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The views are awesome and the service faultless, with the right touches of a glass of cava on arrival and a bill that doesn't shock you.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We took the lift to the 17th floor of Gran Hotel, Arrecife & sampled the best meal we'd had in our week in the Lanzarote capital.
Although well after sunset, the view (over the town and the floodlit beach) was spectacular.
The staff were attentive when we wanted them to be - but gave us time to chat (and digest) between courses when we requested this.
The menu wasn't huge, but had plenty of options. We were delighted with the standard of the food.
Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but we considered 70 Euros for 2 people (two courses + bottle of wine + coffee + liqueur) good value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamar also viewed

 
Arrecife, Lanzarote
 

Been to Altamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.