We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamar to your Saves list
Hotel Diamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Fred Olsen 8, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Erskine,Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay in this hotel and we were as pleased as last time but had a much better wi-fi from our 6th floor room on this trip. We spent the week touring the island on the buses ( 5 mins walk away) and toured from La Graciosa to Playa Blanco to Teguise. Value for money, views across the sandy beach and position make this the perfect hotel for non pool lounger people.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
49
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Hotel Diamar in September 2014. We were deciding between two hotels in Arrecife, Hotel Diamar and Arrecife Gran Hotel. And we were very happy with our choice. The location is great (similar with both hotels). Hotel Diamar is located right on the promenade on the beachfront very close to the city centre. The hotel is also very close to the airport (5mins by car, 10mins by bus) but not too close to be bothered by the noise of the planes. The biggest advantage of this hotel are the balconies with seaview. I believe that during the high season when the hotel is fully booked, it's not that easy to get a seaview room, but it is definitely worth paying the extra cost to get it. When it comes to the staff, they are helpful, some are more helpful than others. We arrived around midday, so it was before the check-in. The young woman on the reception was very helpful, she told us that our room on the third floor was not ready, but when we asked for higher floor, she immediately gave us room on the sixth floor (with no extra cost). We were celebrating our anniversary during our stay and we received cava(Spanish sparkling wine) and fruit as a gift from the hotel staff what was very nice. The only little problem with the staff is the knowledge of English...they barely speak/understand a word. The room was nice, comfortable with standard furniture. The bathroom was quite spacious with bathtub and the whole place was very clean for the whole time of our stay. And I have to mention the balcony (and the view:)), it is quite big with a small table and chairs. We spent most nights dining or drinking wine on the balcony. Breakfast is ok, typical buffet, nothing special, but it was tasty. It is not possible to park in front of the hotel (unless you are very lucky), but we found a free parking spot 100m from the hotel, near the bus station. I am trying to think about something we didn't like about the hotel, the wifi connection wasn't good, but we were on holiday, so it wasn't a problem and unfortunately the room was missing the fridge. Overall, the hotel was very good for a 3* hotel, great value for money with the service standard of a 4* hotel, so it's definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: Seaside view room and higher floor is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel deserves another * when compared to others. Breakfasts first class & set you up for the day. Fast, free wi-fi. Arrecife bus station 5 mins walk away & airport bus trip average 20 mins. Regular service no. 23 bus.Hotel right opposite SANDY beach yet 5 mins walk into city. My only gripe is t.v. has only news stations & no hot drink facilities in room but there is a decent coffee/snack/wine etc bar in hotel that is also used by a few locals (a good sign); serves a good red wine by the glass & decent rolls (come from hotel kitchen made to your choice) etc. All excellent value. I did not try the evening meals during my 3 night stay so unable to comment. If I'm ever in Lanzarote again I will stay here.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In Brief-

Good:
Location - Excellent, in town but on the seafront.
Room - Good size and clean. Bedding very basic.
Bathroom - Good. Basic and clean. Excellent Hot water pressure.
Facilities - Basic
Food - Basic
Value - good for the quality of the hotel.
Service - Polite and efficient

Bad:
Wifi - Very slow. Some rooms get weak wifi connection.

We were booked into the hotel by my company because we usually stay in 5 Star but the nearby hotel was fully booked. I was surprised to see that Arrecife didn't have more 4 of 5 start hotels in the area.

On arrival the reception was efficient and polite. The room was nice and clean and there is sufficient space. The beds where a little hard but not too much. The bed linen was basic but clean.

The TV channels include nearly all Spanish as you would expect but at least there were two English news channels BBC and CNN. There is no real facilities in the hotel but it had a pool table that looked ok.

There was no jug or bottle of drinking water in the room which was a little surprising but maybe the tap water is drinkable. Fridge was on but empty.

The room was quiet and the climate control was fan was not too loud and it seemed to get the temperature correct.

Food. If you like good food this is not the place to eat. The food was very basic and more like a roadside cafeteria. Large portions less quality.

I only stayed one night and I enjoyed a swim in the sea which is only 50m away from the front door. I walked into the town centre which is only a few minutes from the hotel. There are good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea because the view in the other directions is not at all interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I stayed at the Diamar Hotel and was very impressed.Spotless room with sea view balcony.One very important point,all rooms do not have seaview or balcony,even though i asked for a seaview balcony(in english and spanish)when my booking came back no seaview or balcony was mentioned anywhere so I got back to them and paid a supplement of Euro5 per night which i paid.Arricife is a busy City and I found a good Tapas bar behind the hotel,good free food with your drink.The breakfast and restraunt is excellent,Continental or full Irish and plenty juices and drinks.Reception staff are very helpful and friendly as are the rooms staff.All in all I would recemmond the Diamar.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a bust street so quiter rooms are a must on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaviscone
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Diamar Hotel in Arrecife. We own a villa in Playa Blanca but were yearning a couple of days in a city hotel. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked the Diamar and absolutely agree with previous reviews. The Diamar is well run, spotless with very friendly staff. Our room had a sea view and certainly deserving its 3 star status. We paid 57E per night (per room) including breakfast. The Evening meal was priced at 9E and certainly sounded good value. The receptionist advised us to have a walk around the buffet before deciding whether to dine. As it was we had decided to try the top three local restaurants in Arrecife (as per the Trip Advisor Reviews) Again first class recommendations. We shall repeat the experience when we visit Lanzarote in the early New Year knowing we can expect a warm reception with exceptional service.

Room Tip: Request a sea view - certainly worth the extra euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We had anice 7day stay in this Hotel in Lanzarote and had a really good experience.

We paid the little extra for a sea view room and it really was worth it, balcony with space to sit and llok out over the beach which is so close. Air conditioning in the room was good, and the room was a decent size too. The wifi was fine throughout most of the hotel, but unusable in out room (though we were on the top floor).

Staff were for the most part really friendly and helpful. My wife is gluten-intolerant, I emailed about this in advance and they were really good about it - each morning for breakfast they gave her a plate of gluten free bread, biscuits, and bowl of cornflakes for her to have along side all the other stuff from the breakfast buffet.

The breakfasts were good, and a decent selection, but the coffee wasn't amazing (they had 1 self service machine that usually had a cue of at least one or tow people).

The beach is right outside the hotel, isn't such a popular beach as is a bit under the water is a bit rocky in places, but because of this the water if far less choppy, and we preferred it to the busier, more touristy beaches in the area.

They don't have any parking at the hotel, but all over Arrecife the on street parking is free - can be difficult to find a space, but as long as you don;t mind occasionally parking a minute or 2 walk away then you'll be fine.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamar

Address: Avda. Fred Olsen 8, 35500 Arrecife, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Arrecife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Arrecife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diamar 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diamar Arrecife, Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.