We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you go - you never know you might enjoy yourself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Music Hall Tavern

Music Hall Tavern
CC La Penita, Locale 19-21 | Avenida del Las Playas, 35510 Lanzarote, Spain
928 514 701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 133 Activities in Lanzarote
Type: Comedy Clubs, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Music Hall Tavern - MHT shows are now on 4 of the Canary Islands. Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. The funniest night of your holiday can be found at one of our shows. If you have had the pleasure of experiencing one of our shows then please leave a review on here to show everyone how much a night at the MHT can enhance and make their holiday more memorable and entertaining.
Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Make sure you go - you never know you might enjoy yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went to the Tenerife show last Sunday (18th August) and it was brilliant. A bit of queue getting in, but once in a great night. A really good photograph (reasonably priced), a really good meal (soup, chicken and ice cream). A good tip is buy a pint as you go in, then you can have more than enough free lager with the meal before you have to start buying it when the show starts, free wine also with the meal and then you buy that as well, expertly served by waiters and holiday company reps. The programme for 10 euros is well worth it and to answer a previous reviewer, 3 euros goes to Macmillan. As for the show, it was outstanding, a little bit of miming, which we were made aware of on our coach journey, but the majority sung live. The jokes are old, but you have to take in the context of the evening and enjoy it for what it is, good old fashion 'music hall'. Cannot wait for the tour of Britain this autumn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    49
    18
    11
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Waste of money, food was dreadful, we were crammed together at tables. The staff wanted to get as much money as possible from silly raffles, unprofessional photos, useless programmes and souvenir tack. The show was great but got fed up waiting between sketches. Wouldn't advise anyone to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a horrible experience this was, we had a great holiday with the exception of this. Arriving at 7:00pm for a 3 course dinner and paying 10 euros for a programme on entry, 1st course Tomato soup served by a so called waitress who had her thumb on the top of each bowl as she passed them down the table (hygienic, I think not), main meal - 1/2 chicken with 5 Canarian potatoes (that's new potatoes to you and me) side salad and a teaspoon of mayo to share between 4 people, desert - 3 profiteroles that probably came from Lanzarote's version of Farmfoods. There is no choice of food, you either like it or you lump it.
The show which was supposed to be for family entertainment started at 9:00pm and consisted of 4 drags queen miming throughout the show making gestures that Les Dawson did during the 70's and so called jokes were as old as the hills and filled with innuendoes, definitely not for little ones.
How can so many people be so gullible to enjoy watching people mime to music and call it entertaining?
The interval during the show gave them the opportunity to sell raffle tickets at 3 strips for 10 euros with the top prize being a bottle of spirits which you can buy for less at the shops.
If anyone has difficulty walking be warned you need to walk up flight of stairs to the theatre.
A final warning - the show is coming to the UK - DONT GO!
Oh I almost forgot to add, I smiled once, that was when I was leaving and did not have to endure any more pathetic attempts at comedy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant show-Terrible Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I completly agree with one of the statements above. The whole night is staged to extract as much money as possibe from the guests. It was over 2 hrs before the show started & the food was terrible.
The show is fantastic & the girls are brilliant but we were left with a sour feeling due to the obvious greedy nature of the night.
Such a pity cos I really enjoyed the show. Would not reccommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was the worst and most expensive night of our holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were told it was a Comedy Night, The joke was on us!
The whole evening was staged to extract as much money as possible from the audience.
We were sold a program for Ten Euros saying the money was going to MacMillan Cancer support I would like to know how much is going to the charity?
We were looking forward for stand up comedy, but just watched 4 drag queens mime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Music Hall Tavern also viewed

 
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to Music Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music Hall Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.