We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive view, but little more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Hervideros

Los Hervideros
Road LZ-703, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 68 attractions in Lanzarote
Type: Geologic Formations, Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Impressive view, but little more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We passed this viewpoint by accident on the way back from El Golfo. What amazed me was the size of the car park for, basically, just a view point; I can only imagine that coach tours stop off here as well. The view itself was pretty impressive of where the lava meets the sea, and the caves that were formed from the lava tubes, and also the view in either direction of the rugged coastline. Nothing else to do here so only stayed a few minutes. Once you've seen the [photos people have uploaded, you've pretty much seen it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    110
    44
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Breathtaking natural beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A truly breathtaking sight of where the land mass of Lanzarote was extended by the raw power of lava meeting the sheer force and colossal strength of the ocean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A car park next to some coves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped here on our way back after visiting El Golfo and was surprised to find just a car park with a pathway overlooking an inlet with some coves. Whilst the water looked very blue/green and was smashing against the rocks I'm not sure it counts as an attraction!
We stayed only 5 minutes took a few photographs and left

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful, a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm astonished to see so many people rate this as "Average". In my opinion it is a truly beautiful natural attraction (with man made pathways) and I do sometimes wonder what people want when they see natural seascapes.

I could have spent hours here looking at the sea through the holes in the rock, the waves splashing into the coves and the raking light that penetrates the many gaps.

If you're a photographer this is a must stop. The opportunity for stunning imagery is significant.

My caveat would be that you should go early morning or late afternoon/early evening. When the hoards in buses descend upon the very narrow pathways it can make for a frustrating experience (at the sheer lack of common sense and courtesy).

Some of the vantage points are accessed by very narrow steps. You're meant to let people go down and take in their 2-3 minutes of sight seeing, let them come back up and then go down in a small group of 4-5 yourself. But no, many just can't see the sense in this and skip queues and end up blocking the pathways. This is particularly annoying when you've got young children with you who you have to protect from getting pushed against the walls of rocks.

There is ample parking and I don't think you need to wait for high tide to get the most out of Los Hervideros. It is staggeringly colourful and powerful.

Be patient, take your turn and enjoy the beauty and wonder of such enormous sea-created coves and rock structures. Incidentally, you're about 5 minutes from El Golfo when you're here and in my view it is a much better sight than the lagoon, but you might want to arrange to do both at the same time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not much to see if weather is calm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pair of small sea caves has a pleasant setting with good coast views, but they only 'perform' when winds are strong, throwing crashing waves into them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Hervideros also viewed

Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 
La Asomada, Lanzarote
El Golfo, Lanzarote
 

Been to Los Hervideros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Hervideros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Hervideros to your Saves list