We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Mar 21
El Mar 21
El Mar 21
The Terrace
Kitchen/Dining
Living Area
Living Area & TV
Lanzarote
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwin1
Cheshire, U.K.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed recently at this property. Was a bit worried about negotiating stairs after a few snifters but no problems. Greeted by a duck with her young outside the apartment, very cute and most unexpected. Slept really well from the first night, came home happy and relaxed. Had lovely steaks at Capri Pizza. Hope to return. The sight of a massive ray of some sort coming under the board walk, where we stood as we fed the fishes in the harbour, before we got the taxi to the airport was the icing on the cake!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location/view
Liked least: Could do with some better glassware for drinks
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Janet L
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic view !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from one week stay at the EL Marr apartment, must say it was fantastic !
The view of the harbour is great, watching the fishing men at work, the photographs do the apartment justice and are a true image.
We received excellent communications with Helen the owner prior to arriving with clear instructions.
"Thanks Helen, your apartment was brilliant and a great chill out for my husband and I"

Regards
Janet

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and habour view
Liked least: nothing to say
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lucyandni...
Settle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ideally placed for old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

fantastic apartment and ideally situated for the old town. It was lovely and clean and once we had managed the staircase it was fantastic. I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the harbour area. Really comfortable beds, lots of storage, very near supermarket.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no washer
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kevin C
Sligo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great little apartment in a terrific location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

I stayed in this apartment for six days with my wife and two teenage boys. The boys slept in the downstairs bedroom and my wife and I slept on the sofabed upstairs. The apartment has a neat kitchen with two ring ceramic hob and oven, sink, and fridge. There is a bathroom and a separate w.c. There is a wide-screen TV and a dvd player. The locality is nice and quiet but there are shops and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. My favourite thing about it was the balcony that overlooks the little fishing harbour. There was always something interesting to watch and there is a brilliant view out to sea looking towards the island of Fuerteventura. We went paragliding, diving and also took a ferry over to Fuerteventura. Next time we're going to go to see the volcano. I thought it was a lovely place and I would book the same apartment again if it was available.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Liked least: No dishwasher.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SennenCov...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“El Mar, 21 delivered on location, ambiance and amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The property description on the HolidayLettings website accurately describes El Mar, 21

El Mar, 21 is an easy and quick taxi ride direct from the airport (at a cost less than 20Euros in 2011) so you can be sitting on the balcony within 45 minutes of touchdown. It is situated in the quieter west end of Puerto del Carmen in the ‘Old Town’ with plenty of shops offering enough choice to self-cater and also lots of restaurants within walking range if you want to eat-out.

El Mar, 21 is adequately equipped for couples to self-cater and dine al-fresco under the stars on the balcony, overlooking the harbour, watching the fishing boats come and go, landing their daily catch.

2 or 3 buses an hour leave from the nearby Biosfera shopping centre to Arrecife or Costa Teguise. These cost a few euros. There’s also a water-taxi in the harbour which goes to the snazzy Puerto Calero marina.

We visited in September and the temperature was a glorious 27C every day and cool enough to sleep at night. El Mar, 21 has no air-con but there was a portable fan which was sufficient.

Don’t know what El Mar, 21 would be like in the winter because there is no heating so it may get chilly in-doors. Visitors may want to check with the owners about this if they are temperature sensitive and intending to stay in the cooler months of January and February.

We agree with the listing description – El Mar, 21 is not suitable for anyone who cannot easily negotiate stairs (there is a vertical spiral staircase to the lower floor) and it would also not be suitable for young children. But in our opinion, it’s a very nice ‘couples’ apartment.

Given the chance, we would visit El Mar, 21 again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, ambiance, amenities and weather all combined
Liked least: Split level so spiral stairs will be unsuitable for some.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2011
Thanks for your favourable review of our waterfront hideaway, I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jaxmac41
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic little haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This harbour apartment is everything it says and more. The location is perfect, close to all amenities yet sitting by the rocks you feel a million miles away. Very relaxing retreat for couples looking for a value for money holiday away from the package deal. It is well equipped and if you have any problems they will be quickly dealt with by a very nice local lady who looks after these apartments. I booked last minute and it couldnt have been easier, Helen the owner responded to my emails very quickly making this possible. I wish i could keep this to myself as I don't want to spoil my chance of availability when i next return, which i will and look forward to having my morning coffee and evening beer on the rocks watching the envious passers by take photos of these fabulous apartments.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: views and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2011
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay in El Mar 21, we love it too. Thank you for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$73
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Helen B
353 87 9967668
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 25 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 29 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing