We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection pure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa De Vegueta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa De Vegueta to your Saves list
La Casa De Vegueta
Pedro Diaz 5, 35001 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
munich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfection pure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent a superb 7 nights at this sublime and cosy retreat located well in the old town district of Vegueta.
Everything excelled our expectations and added to a perfect week.
Ana is fantastic and is the most helpful and an extremely knowledgeable lady who was so kind when we needed help with a last minute panic .
I can also agree with all the other 5 star reviews.
We will be back !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newbury,england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a fabulous place set right in the old part of Las Palmas and Ana is simply the best host.

On our arrival she welcomed us and showed us through the beautifully decorated and elegant house to our spotless room and spacious bathroom. Her recommendation for a casual dinner and drink was perfect and after a fulsome tasty breakfast the following morning spent about an hour suggesting things to do and gave us her own printed guided tour of the Vegueta area along with other great recommendations for Las Palmas.

We were invited to sit in any part of the house and to help ourselves to tea coffee wine(if you could find it:-)!).

Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for Ana and when you throw in the fantastic property this is a must stay place.

Room Tip: Not really a room tip as there are only 3 - but check with her before booking car rental as the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Definitely a great place to stay in Las Palmas. It's a beautiful ancient house, decorated with taste. The host is a really nice person with great advices about where to go and what to do in Las Palmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I enjoyed 7 days of stay at La Casa de Vegueta. It is a small, quiet and cosy place, with an elegant canarian feeling and, at the same time, a very familiar mood. Ana, the owner, welcomed me with a perfect attitude: very helpful, friendly and respectful. I enjoyed the breakfast in the company of the other guest and I had the chance to meet interesting people, among whom Ana's friend Luz, who helped making my stay memorable. The location is ideal for visiting the city. No problem with the parking. Should I go back to Las Palmas, La Casa de Vegueta will be my place again.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms located around a courtyard, I had the left side one which was very good (clean, wide, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Please read the previous reviews which completely sum up our own feelings. We stayed here for three nights in February and can thoroughly recommend it for the 'discerning' traveller.

Casa de Vegueta is Ana's home and indeed, when you stay in her B+B, she makes you feel that you are old family friends and nothing is too much trouble. Casa de Vegueta retains its original charm and character but provides very comfortable accommodation in its three rooms. My partner and I have stayed in Las Palmas before but previously we've stayed in a modern, rather anonymous hotel near Las Canteras beach. This time we decided to stay in the old town as we wanted to spend more time exploring the attractive area around the Cathedral and the old, narrow streets around it with its tapas bars and little restaurants which are also popular with the locals - not just tourists. It's very hard to find accommodation in this area so we were very happy to find Casa de Vegueta on the Trip Advisor website and booked a room months in advance. We couldn't have made a better choice. It's the ideal place for anyone who doesn't want to stay in a characterless hotel but appreciates the finer things of life. Ana really looks after her guests and provides a lovely breakfast and plenty of advice on places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and sharing our travel experiences over breakfast. There's also a lounge where you can relax and free Wifi is available throughout the house. The only minus point (although it didn't concern us too much) was that the mobile phone reception in the house was very weak.

The house is quite close to bus routes where you can reach the rest of the city and to the San Telmo bus terminus for long distance buses. We also took advantage of the very reasonably priced transfer to the airport provided by Ana's friendly taxi driver.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our first visit to Gran Canaria & to stay in the city of Las Palmas is an experience especially if you have hired a car for a few days. The Casa is delightful in every way, the rooms are all that you would wish for & breakfast is beautifully prepared.

Room Tip: Bring a basin plug with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The reviews seemed almost too good to be true. But everything written about this wonderful guest house is true. In all our 50 years of travelling, we can’t remember ever being made so welcome. Ana is the perfect host. Her advice about the island and help with transport and finding good places to eat was invaluable. One of the previous reviews said that “nothing was too much trouble” We couldn’t agree more, as we had experience of this time and time again.

The rooms, off a courtyard at the back of the house, are peaceful and spacious with very comfortable beds. The breakfasts are imaginitively and lovingly prepared and there is a comfortable lounge where one can sit with a coffee at any time.

Ana’s young son, Javier, and both her parents were also around to make us feel at home, when Ana was out of the house. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely family.
In addition, Salomé, who serves breakfast and looks after the rooms is also a very friendly and attentive person.

The whole place, its atmosphere, furniture and art works, reflect the artistic care invested in it.

We spent a week in La Casa de Vegueta and look forward to staying there again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as they are at the back of the house, well away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa De Vegueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Vegueta

Address: Pedro Diaz 5, 35001 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique and comfortable place in the old town of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria where history, art, music and good food accompany our guests who have come from different corners of the world to discover our city and our island.La Casa de Vegueta B&B is ideal for travellers looking for comfort and tranquillity. Built in 1913, its interior offers peace, calm and a taste for the simple pleasures wich enchance life. The sound of the fountain, the colour, the life of the plants or the enjoyment in the natural textures of the fabrics and the furniture make this charming B&B an enchanting place to stay in Las Palmas.The rooms are distributed around the courtyard of the house. Much of the furnishings are original designs of the renowned architect Miguel Martín Fernández de la Torre or were part of their family household goods. Are Fully-equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Private bathrooms, cotton linens and original furnishings that make each one, a pleasant and unique space.History, cuisine and culture just a few steps away. Its privileged location, near the Plaza de Santo Domingo, wich is in the historical part of the city centre of Las Palmas, steps away from outdoor cafés, restaurants, museums, galleries, shops and theatres, making it possible to walk around Vegueta and Triana while discovering picturesque corners and emblematic buildings that are part of the natural and cultural heritage of this Atlantic city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa De Vegueta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Vegueta Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa De Vegueta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.