We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Nestor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Museo Nestor
Pueblo Canario - Parque Doramas, 35005 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
928 245135
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction Details
Leeds
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We really enjoyed visiting the museum. The art collection was interesting . The museum is small but quite homely. It felt like a taste of Spain. Only 50 cents entrance fee. Well worth a visit. Then onto the bar in the courtyard for a drink.near the hotel Santa Catalina with its stylish art decor entrance hall and beautiful gardens. Near the yachting marina and the tranquil Parc Dolamus with its fountains, cacti andd koi carp

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An interesting visit for the furnishings and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I departed on a cruse from the hotel across the street from this museum. After we saw everything else on the island we happen to catch this open. It's the home of a not-so-famous painter (every person in the paintings look like him, men and women alike) but the furnishings and restored home is worth the admission. I found it quiet and stress free, worth the very low fee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“was expecting something else...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was a little disappointed. I was expecting something else, something worth seeing... we read it had some articles about the history of the region.... not impressive, though...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Superb small Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Nestor Museum is situated in the Pueblo Canario next to the superb Santa Catalina Hotel. Try visiting on a Sunday morning to take in the Folk Dancing display as well as a tour of the Nestor Museum. Entrance is a nominal €0.50 but the Museum features the works of top Canarian artist Nestor de la Torre. The museum is cool and not too much hard work. One hour should be more than sufficient for a detailed inspection of the works on display. Afterwards a quick stroll for a coffee on the Terrace/ Bar Carabella at Hotel Santa Catalina should round off a pleasant morning.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Hierro, Spain
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to my hopes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We visited this museum as we had been told it contained articles about the history of the port of Las Palmas. We all paid our 50 centimes entrance fee and went in. There was a large group of rather loud students there. All we found were so called paintings many of which were bordering on the pornographic. No history apart from a few paintings of the plaza outside the museum from the early 20th century. There were about 3 models of old sailing ships but these were displayed high on the walls.
The taking of photographs is banned in the building!
I do like art but this did not impress me at all

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nestor also viewed

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Museo Nestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Nestor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museo Nestor to your Saves list