We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the AC for four nights. I didn't have any trouble at check-in. I was the only person at check-in, and within minutes I had two keys and was heading to my room. I had asked for a room on a higher floor when booking the reservation (after reading the other trip advisor reviews), and it was a very good suggestion. I had booked a junior suite, and the room was very nice and modern. Plenty of closet space for hanging items as well as lots of shelves for clothing. We had a living room with a chair, couch, and desk in addition to a flat screen TV and a complimentary mini bar. Our balcony overlooked Santa Catalina park. The bedroom also had a flat screen TV as well as a balcony which overlooked the port. The bathroom was marble and large with two sinks and all the necessities. The room itself had hardwood floors, and had a modern feel to it.

Breakfast was good. They had scrambled eggs, pastries, muffins, yogurts, fresh fruits, coffee and tea. It was typical breakfast food which you find in Europe. The maid came by every day to clean the room, and it always looked great.

The pool is on the 25th floor, and a bit hard to find. The elevator ends at the 23rd floor, and you have to walk up two flights of stairs. I didn't ask for a towel for the pool; I just brought one from my room and then asked the maid for an extra one which wasn't a problem. I didn't stay at the pool for very long because there were only perhaps ten chairs and they were all taken. Instead, we went to Cantaras beach, which is quick walk. The beach is beautiful and there are lots of nice beachfront restaurants to choose from to eat around there.

We happened to be staying at the hotel during Carnival, and since all the festivities were right across the street, we had a great view of the parade and fireworks from our room, which was fun.

Overall, I think the hotel was a great find! It's close to the beach, the views are spectacular, and we had an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room higher so you don't hear street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    188
    94
    14
    12
See reviews for
36
189
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ratingen, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Can't fault this hotel at all. We started out in a room on the 16th floor, with a wonderful view over the park & the harbour. Unfortunately, however, the extremely loud music from the carnival event down in the park kept us awake until the early hours. Next day, reception staff were able to give us a new room on the 4th floor, with a substantial building between us & the noise of the next evening's "celebrations" and we were able to enjoy peaceful nights for the rest of our stay. The breakfast buffet was sometimes a little bit disorganised (e.g. scrambled egg refill arrived just as the sausages ran out), but the food was plentiful, tasty and fresh. The location is excellent for public transport & for walking to the Playa Las Canteras. Plenty of shopping & restaurants nearby. We would certainly come again.

Room Tip: High floors give great views. Watch out for noise during carnival week, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in AC with my boyfriend few moths ago. Room was great, very copmfy bed, room quite big with sea view. All staff really nice. Great location, beach and shopping centre at the corner. Would recomend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in AC Hotel for seven days, the staff were very pleasant, and helpfull from the moment we set foot in the Hotel Lobby, we were allocated a room on the 18th floor,with a fantastic view of the Port to one side,the city in the middle, and the sea view to the right side.
The beds were very comfy, and we had some very good nights sleep, very nice clean rooms,
and when the cleaners came in they made sure everything was nice and clean and tidy, made beds up etc, lovely white cotton bed sheets, changed regulary.
Breakfast was adequate, plenty to choose from, and fill up on. good idea to provide a clean towell for pool everyday, or when needed, for just 10 euros, which is refunded on departure.
free courtesey bus was a bonus, early morning call,and breakfast for early departures was very handy. really enjoyed our stay, would go back again, only thing we missed was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. All in all a very good central Hotel for everything in Las Palmas.
Dont let the outside put you off booking, when you look at it on the pictures, as everything is very nice inside.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter,and nice views, but if you do not like heights perhaps a lower room would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here over christmas. As it happens a lot in Spain, the hotel was very understaffed. Long lines and wait to check in. My check in time took me over 45 minutes which is not good. Rooms and toiletries were very good.
The pool was the big dissapointment. There were no towels and when I called the front desk to bring some up they said that guests have to come down to the lobby to get them (I was in my speedos) and that I had to deposit 10 euros per towel. I told them to charge them to my room but to my surprise they said "only cash". I would have loved to order a drink by the pool but I never saw a single staff. There were very few chairs by the pool and the worse part: the pool is not heated and it is ICE cold! It was sad to see the people at the Hotel Isabel nearby swim at their rooftop pool and nobody swimming in ours. Of course the children were dissapointed. Towels are not replentished at the gym and the saunas were not working.
The location and the breakfast are amazing! Huge potential for this hotel but not there yet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in AC few moths ago with my boyfriend. The hotel itself is just perfect. Rooms are quite big and very clean, and the most important is that the beds are really comfy. Great location, port, beach and a shoppping centre just at the corner. Oh and of course the smming pool on the roof, exellent. Recepcionist was very nice for us and very helpfull. I would recomend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is obviously a hotel meant for business people, which is why it probably didn't work for us on holiday. Some things were very good, and some things were surprisingly poor.

Some of the staff were excellent, including one concierge, one waitress, one waiter and the lovely Housekeeper. Some staff were very poor, including most of the concierges. It was very noisy from traffic and young business people letting off steam. The food at breakfast was good but the coffee and tea facilities dire. Dinner was very good. The downstairs bar was so unobtrusive that you could see people searching for it until they gave up and asked. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work. The staff were puzzled when asked for information about local buses etc; and we didn't find out until the last day that there are some folders with tourist brochures in. The view was great and the rooms clean and comfy (if sparse). Irritating not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Room Tip: If you ask for a north-facing room fairly high up you will be able to see both the harbour and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott

Address: C/ Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Gran Canaria Hotel
AC Hotel Gran Canaria By Marriott Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.