We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Guildford,UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely hotel room, plenty of space with separate sitting area. Nice pillows, though the bed was much too firm for us. TVs in both bedroom and sitting area, and a balcony (no furniture) going round the two rooms. Couldn't get the air-con to work, perhaps it is switched off in winter, so we did have to sleep with the sliding door open to the balcony.The hotel is a round tower block, and easy to see as you approach along the Avenida Maritima (get off at the Santa Catalina exit or you shoot straight past). To get in the hotel there are a lot of steps to the entrance, but there is a service lift just to the right of the steps and if you buzz they will bring the lift down for you. No parking at the hotel. We parked in the Parking Elder, which is very close to the hotel but cost us €26 for one day. Not easy to get to after pulling up outside the hotel because of the one-way systems, so easier to go straight in there as you come off the motorway. Hotel has free wi-fi in the lobby, which worked very well. A pity they do not extend this free facility to the hotel rooms.Good breakfast buffet. About 5 minutes walk to Las Canteras beach - a number of restaurants there - and about 15 minutes walk to El Corte Ingles on the main shopping street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    182
    90
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
184
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a wonderful place. Great location, great rooms. The service was really good, friendly staff and really helpful and the rooms were brilliantly clean. We had a great view from one of the top rooms looking out to the sea. Highly recommended. I would stay there again in a flash!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was looking forward to 5 nights in the AC Marriot in Las Palmas. My girlfriend was there on business and persuaded me to join her although I would arrive before her and depart after her. She previously contacted the hotel by email to make the necessary arrangements for me. They were slow and intermittent in replying with little or no clarification. In the end she telephoned 3 times. She was very clear that a double bed would be preferred and was told that it would be granted.
On my arrival via the Courtesy Shuttle bus, I checked in. On opening the door to the room I realised it was 2 beds pushed together. I went back down to reception and told them that they had better change the room or they would have Mrs. P to deal with (Mrs. P is German and no nonsense). They obliged. The room was ok, a tad on the small side. Minimum toiletries supplied, hair and body shampoo, body creme…no conditioner but a shoe cleaning sponge – perhaps this served 2 purposes; nourishes and shines shoes and hair alike. I did have to question my self if it really was a Marriot???? For some reason, house keeping decided not to replenish my now dwindling supply of the above. I pointed this out to reception, of which that evening, 2 of everything was on the floor outside the room?
The noise from traffic and buses woke me at 6am….the balcony door was not closed properly….I latterly discovered the lock was broken, thus not closing properly. I bent it back in to shape although I lost a finger nail.
Breakfast was on the top floor (p.22) – it had great panoramic views. The choice of “COLD FOOD” was minimal and no hot food to be seen.
The swimming pool on the roof was tiny – about a dozen beds around it, many of them broken. These beds seemed mainly taken up by cabin crew from various airlines that were staying there. No pool side service.
Wi-Fi, somewhat intermittent, couldn't get in the room but sparsely in reception. Occasionally it happened as long as the various cabin crews hadn't over run it.
In essence, I am very disappointed with all aspects of this hotel and has put me off ever staying at another Marriot again. I travel a lot and generally tend to use boutique hotels – I find them much more personable and pay more attention to detail. Lesson learned, stay away from the corporates, there always seems to be a degree of arrogance. Also, this was not a cheap hotel.
One final thing, if you don’t like queuing, don’t stay here. There are 3 lifts servicing 22 floors, when its busy you could wait for ages…..all in all…a complete waste of 5 nights (apart from Mrs.P)….

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet this hotel is not for you; I was going to say book rooms high up and tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip for two nights, it's a good location fairly central and close to the beach. Rooms are fairly standard, bizarre sliding bathroom door.

Used the restaurant on the first night and the food was very poor. Nobody else in the restaurant- two fixed menus but poor quality. The first was seriously undercooked for a friend too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Good location, small rooms, restaurant was poor quality - heated up and not fresh. Breakfast was few options and boring and all cold. Wifi only free in reception and restaurant. Steps at front very steep!! Parking discount was good- half price at Elder parking

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here between Christmas 2012 through Three Kings January 2013.. Read the other recent reviews. I totally agree with ones from reviewers staying at same time. Excellent location and very nice cleaning staff; however, it was only a room - not a Marriott or even an AC. I felt the hotel was understaffed at peak holiday period and totally lacking in simple amenities (ie. coffee in lobby, bar tender at night, sufficient deck chairs at pool.)

Roof top restaurant had beautiful views but guests brought their laptops to dinner to use the free wi-if. Totally no atmosphere. Strangers wandered in to pick up the free lobby wi-fi (guests had to pay 6 euros an hour if they used it in their room.)

The PLUS - great location so if you do stay -- Go out the front door, down steps on left, walk 4 blocks to beach, turn right and walk until you are at La Oliva restaurante or La Marinera. If you turn left, you will have lots of options and fun dining options.

I had an excellent room rate, and my card was charged without my permission when I arrived. That was ok - but I had planned to use my new Marriott card for points. Oh well - Salvador on night duty is fantastic and I loved the room maid - charming and efficient.

Room Tip: Room on 15 overlooking the harbor - wonderful. We saw the fireworks for the Three Kings celebration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean and modern.
But the hotel seems to lack what it had... a sky bar, a better use of the view and a small renovation of the rooms balcony.

Still, if you get an ok price it is dead central, and easy to come and go as you wish.

PS! Three elevators and 30 floors... do try to avoid using them at check out hours... it might take a few minutes if you live high up :-)

Room Tip: High up gives you a good view, but be ware as it costs extra for a sea view, which considering that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott

Address: C/ Eduardo Benot 3, 35007 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Gran Canaria Hotel
AC Hotel Gran Canaria By Marriott Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Gran Canaria by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.