We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, urban, good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alcalde J Ramirez Bethencourt 8, 35003 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Syssleback, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Modern, urban, good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel aims at the young (at heart) modern traveller. Nice design, Jensen style phone in the room till exemple, free fast wifi in the lobby/bar, own airport shuttle service, great roof top terrace with pool. Rooms are nice, beds really good, bathroom spacious. In room wifi at a charge available. Multilingual staff really taking care of everything, helpfull and nice. Breakfast good. Good location close to Telmo bus station and the beautiful must see Vegueta area. The harbour is a short bus ride or half hour walk away
Personally we only thought the brown color a little dark.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    33
    11
    1
See reviews for
11
39
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kololi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very food for short stays. Hotel is really clean, big rooms, and reception always helpful even arranged a fixer for my shoe which lost the sole. I was really happy. Stayed 4 nights. The only down thing will be the location. A bit if a walk to the main old town which has most of the shopping.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel itself is nice. Rooms are Comfortable.
Front desk staff are not very friendly and make you feel like you are interrupting whatever else it is they are supposed to be doing.
Breakfast is crap. Location is crap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night on way home after docking in Las Palmas. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient.
Room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was standard fare. All in all good hotel but I wouldn't fancy it for long term stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently spent a week at the AC Iberia Las Palmas while attending a conference. The hotel, which became part of the Marriott chain a year ago, is courting an aggresively postmodern, urban vibe. This may not be to all guests' liking; however, I found the hotel quite comfortable (not counting a few glitches) and the service very accommodating. Tthe lobby is large and well decorated. It includes a bar and an area with tables and armchairs for free WiFi access, which was well used by those seeking to avoid the annoying 13 euro/day charge for WiFi access in the rooms. The front desk staff was unfailingly cheerful and helpful, although I can't vouch for their knowledge of English (I am bilingual and spoke only Spanish). They did their best to accommodate special requests, going so far as to open the rooftop pool area at midnight one evening for a few of us so we could watch the beachfront Noche de San Juan fireworks display.

My room was a decent size by European standards with a very comfortable king bed, reasonable closet space, in-room safe, minibar, desk and swivel armchair. Adjoining the desk was a long bench, part of which was padded with a tufted cushion. For seating? For luggage storage? I couldn't figure it out. Sometimes postmodern design is obscure. Room lighting was low, although bright mini-reading lamps on flexible necks attached to the headboard of the bed certainly were welcome. (Another postmodern design oddity: lighting *beneath* the desk and bench). Blackout curtains at the window were very effective. Air conditioning is controlled by a wall thermostat and can be set to your preference. My room, with a window across one entire wall, faced the ocean and I never tired of watching the constant parade of ferries, tankers, and freighters steaming in and out of Las Palmas harbor, which is a very active international port, as well as the joggers and bikers zipping by on the sidewalk along the seawall. Best of all, the window opened; every evening I could enjoy ventilation courtesy of cool ocean breezes. (Note, though, that this side of the hotel overlooks a multi-lane avenue which carries considerable traffic. You may prefer to keep the window closed for purposes of soundproofing). As is the case in many European hotels, there was no alarm clock or in-room coffee maker.

The bathroom was also decently sized: sink, glass-walled shower (no tub), toilet, and small cart to hold extra towels and amenities (comb, pocket pack of tissues, shoeshine cloth, shower cap). Bath gel and shampoo are provided, along with a hairdryer and magnifying mirror. Lighting was fine and the bath towels were suprisingly large. In another nod to postmodern design, the soap was shaped like a dimpled golf ball, which was just silly. Two negatives to note: there was no soapdish or tray in the shower so I had to place my bath and hair products on the floor; and on two evenings I experienced offgassing from the shower drain--not exactly a sewage smell but unwelcome nonetheless.

Some reviewers have complained about noise from the elevators. My room was located two doors away and across the hall and I was not at all disturbed.

The large breakfast room is efficient and modern-looking. Breakfast choices are quite plentiful and generally very satisfactory: cold cuts, a variety of local cheeses, fruit (grapes, melon, watermelon, papaya), yogurt, breads and pastries, cold cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, assorted fruit juices. The only dud was the tortilla, oddly enough. The restaurant-sized Nespresso machine and coffee pods produced surprisingly good quality coffee; tea and hot chocolate mix are also available.

Regarding location, the hotel is about 4 blocks from San Telmo park, which leads into the Vegueta (historic section of the city). Buses to the Canteras beach and shopping district run right past the hotel (a 15-20 min. ride, depending on traffic). The municipal bus station is located across the street from San Telmo park and from there you can catch buses to just about anywhere else on the island of Gran Canaria. Tourists only interested in the beach may consider this hotel to be out of the way but business travelers and those wishing to see some of the attractions of the old town (Casa Colón, Casa Museo Pérez Galdós, the Cathedral, etc.) should find it more to their liking. The entrance to the hotel, flanked by a cab stand and small parking lot, looked inauspicious but I soon realized that the hotel shouldn't be judged by this. The neighborhood is quite safe. All in all, this hotel grew on me during my stay and offered a good price-to-value ratio (as well as Marriott reward points). I would return again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor facing the water offer a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The only thing good about this hotel was their gym on the 11th floor. My room was fully refurbished but the airconditioning was noisy. Food offered at their breakfast buffet is really low quality, and so is their room service (simply terrible). As for location, is not that great, this hotel is far from the city center where you should go if you want a decent meal. Whether you're on vacation or a business trip, I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having heard so much about AC Hotels (the brand that Marriott will import to US) I was really looking forward to my stay in Iberia.
Well, not really impressed! The hotel design is like a big box and the dominating everywhere grey colours do not really work on my psyche. My room on the 10th floor was fine, quite modern and not worn out as was the case with other reviewers. I would expect at least a complimentary bottle of water (plastic not anything fancy) and perhaps a kettle with coffee in the room as competitive brands offer or may be not in Spain?
For some reason and although it was made clear that I would have to pay for WiFi access in the room, my devices had access to free WiFi connections throughout the stay - that was a real bonus!
Service was OK but not with the sense of hospitality that you get in a Marriott hotel (at every brand). It appears that the cultural integration with the company will take some more time.
Reception was helpful and staff speaks English something that should not always be taken for granted. All the F&B staff I encountered did not speak English.
The breakfast buffet was quite rich and I will disagree with negative comments made in other posts about its quality. The fact that coffee is Nespresso pods did not bother me at all. On the contrary I preferred a good Nespresso from half brewed overboiled coffee served in some hotels.
But, coming back to service, yes, it is complacent. I waited for 45 minutes to be served a hamburger in the lounge and the housekeeper forgot to take 2 shirts that I had placed in the laundry bag on my bed (way before 10 am). When I called the receptionist, she questioned whether I had left it BEFORE 10 am and only when she realised that I was with a group that left the hotel at 9.00 was convinced that I was telling the truth. The housekeeper was genuinely apologetic but it was too late to do anything so I had to wash the shirts myself for the next day (saved 16 euros!).
All in all, this is not a bad hotel, it may be that I had higher expectations (which I probably should not) and a couple of unfortunate situations, as mistakes happen everywhere!

Room Tip: Avoid the 10th floor as there are evenings when the hotel organises events in the pool that can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas

Address: Avenida Alcalde J Ramirez Bethencourt 8, 35003 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Iberia Hotel Las Palmas De Gran Canaria
Tryp Hotel Iberia
Sol Melia Iberia
AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Iberia Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.