We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant but dated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reina Isabel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Reina Isabel Hotel to your Saves list
Reina Isabel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Alfredo L. Jones, 40, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant but dated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Hotel very clean but rather dated. Pool and free spa beautiful and well maintained. Good choice for breakfast. Fabulous a la carte restaurant.

Room Tip: Sea view room is best choice, town view is miserable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    208
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
77
256
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Rooms were very comfortable with plenty of storage and comfortable beds. The standard of cleanliness in the hotel and the rooms was excellent. The buffet meals were excellent with plenty of choice and the restaurant staff were mostly very good and very attentive. The reception area was very comfortable, clean and wellcoming with outstanding floral arrangements. The reception staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful. The only real negative about this hotel was that we did not have a very good view from our balcony and there we could hear some night and early morning street noise when we were in our room although this was not a huge problem as generally we slept very well. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Possibly upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reina Isabel was recommended to me by a frequent traveller being there a week prior to my visit. Agreement was made, but the room a had was simply terrible. In the middle of the night they startet cleaning the pool area at the top of the hotel, and than the sleep was
finished. I claimed the next morning, but the second night same cleaning. Than the Third
night I had a New room. I was not to happy with the service. For the rest I have to say that the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a lovely hotel, I had wondered about it being old and tired, but it was old fashioned in offering good service, excellent room and friendly helpful staff. Quite difficult to find these days.

Our room was spotless and kept that way. We had booked a sea view and it was a lovely view, (see photo), true we had little sun on the balcony but the view from the front of the hotel, which got sunny balconies, was onto a noisy street. Though these front rooms seemed to look as though they were triple glazed and that would have reduced noise to a minimum at night. But I would suggest that the extra money for the sea view was well worth it and there are free sun beds on the beach just across the road from the hotel, if sun is what you want. There are also sun beds around the swimming pool, which is on the top floor and offers stunning views, also a sun terrace on our floor level, which was useful.

The free spa in the hotel was lovely, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, massage and dead sea pool and all included. I had a fantastic massage at a small extra cost. What a place to swim on the roof top of the hotel and the pool heated enough to swim even on cooler days.

The food was excellent. Breakfast had anything you could want, including sparkling wine and vodka! Some foods are buffet style serve yourself but eggs were cooked fresh and I used to go to the grill and have some gammon ham cooked for me with some cheritzo sausage and grilled tomato. There was cheese, bacon, several sorts of sausage and much more. My only criticism was that there was only one toaster and putting the bread through once only warmed it and at busy periods it was difficult to hog the toaster for a second go!

The main restaurant for evening meals for those on half board in the hotel was open to non-residents and to those on B&B board it cost 21 eoros. Food was being cooked on the grill which did the gammon at breakfast and that had freshly cooked fish, chicken and beef. One evening as well as this was a massive delightfully cooked leg of pork, carved at the serving table. Starters and other main dishes together with many salads also available and all of it eat as much as you like. When we went into the restaurant, you are shown to a table, where a clean cloth had been placed if the table had been used before. I expected the wine in this 5 star hotel to cost an arm and a leg, imagine my surprise when a bottle was less than in some of the local restaurants.

Staff were always helpful and considerate, one lady collapsed in the restaurant and the staff were lovely and supportive and even stayed with her while the paramedics checked her out. There was always someone on reception and they were always helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. I was also very surprised that we could exchange money at reception for considerably better rates that we could get at home.

There was always large beautiful flower displays in the reception area, one I have included in my photos, but other reviewers have included others.

This was a lovely hotel in every sense and the decor was in keeping with the notion of giving good old fashioned real service with real concern that people should enjoy their time spent in this hotel.

My next visit to the island will certainly be spent in the Reina Isabel Hotel

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A group of family stayed for a weekend wedding. Rooms very nice and extremely clean. Breakfast was excellent with a massive selection. All staff were well trained and helpful. We will return. Fantastic location

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOREDE France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited this hotel many times and love its position so close to the beautiful beach. In the past I have given it the full five stars, but I have to say it is looking a bit tired and the bedrooms are in need of refurbishment - not exactly shabby but let's say faded. We were pleased to see that very stylish balcony glazing was being installed so money is being spent and hopefully the improvements will be ongoing. The staff are outstandingly helpful and I would especially mention Lydia and Rosi on reception who worked very hard to find us a room which suited our needs. I must just add that the floral displays are quite magnificent - I always take a photo of them!

Room Tip: Sea view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in Reina Isabel for a week, on short notice, to join some German friends who were also staying there. From the initial telephone communication with Yulia on booking, to saying goodbye when leaving I have never yet in my travels met such friendly, polite, helpful staff. The hotel is situtated right on the beachfront and one can enjoy the best of both worlds, beach and city. Room was spacious (sadly without a view) but then I did book very late. Bathroom had everything you needed including a seperate toilet.
Breakfast was a buffet which included everything you could ask for but it was the exact same every morning. It may help to try to rotate dishes and add a different element every day rather than serving the same daily. If you stay in the hotel for a week or more it gets boring.
The verandas bar was excellent. Again the staff were fantastic.Andre was a great asset to the bar. Drinks were great food I would give a 4 out 0f 5. I reall would like to return to Reina Isabel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reina Isabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reina Isabel Hotel

Address: c/ Alfredo L. Jones, 40, 35008 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reina Isabel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Hotel Reina Isabel has a privileged location in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Located on the seafront of Las Canteras beach, considered the jewel of the city, it is one of the capital's most desirable hotels to enjoy a beach vacation. On the other side and because of its emplacement in the central shopping and business area of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, the Hotel Reina Isabel is the perfect place to stay for business and for events of all kinds. Welcome to the Hotel Reina Isabel. The best facilities and most experienced professionals Haute cuisine in a friendly atmosphere with breathtaking views Discover the spectacular beach of Las Canteras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Reina Isabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Isabel Hotel Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reina Isabel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.