We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative dishes with local ingredients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Salamandra

La Salamandra
Calle Republica de Chile 5, San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Creative dishes with local ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I usually don't like to repeat dining experiences, but during a 1 week stay we ate here twice, even choosing some of the same dishes. The interior is small, yet welcoming and charming. Do not let the basic street facade deceive you, the food is of a very good standard.
Service was very attentive and we were helped to choose some very interesting dishes. During the meal the waiter (presumed owner/manager) indulged my fascination in Spanish wine, even talking me out of expensive bottles in favour of his own enthusiastic choices...which were delicious!
Try the fish/honey combo if you're lucky enough for it to be on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    57
    29
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

5 trips to La Gomera Marlin Fishing with Capt Jason Pipe - tried all the other places on previous trips. 6 nights this time and ate at Salamadra every night - top notch food and wine - try the slow cooked pork knuckle and ask for crispy skin - Highly recommended - Apple sauce available at the small supermarket next door

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good food, ambience, and comfortable seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had intended to go to the cave restaurant but it was closed for the low season (May) so we found this little place just around the corner from our hotel (Torre del Conde) and ate here twice in same day (lunch and dinner). It looks more inviting than on the photo since he has added a protective canopy and some tables on the street. The other reviews are pretty spot-on, but I would just add that I did not much enjoy the risotto and pasta - they are much too creamy. The warm salad (mushrooms and cherry tomatoes) was good as was the grilled chicken brochette - tender and juicy. He also has a good selection of wines and plays nice Buddha Bar CD's. I should also mention that the seating - old wooden "Captains Chairs" - are far more comfortable than the usual very square flat back and bottom wooden chairs in most Canarian restaurants of this standard. Much less busy in the evening and quite romantic with candles on tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Come early or book in advance because there are only about 1/2 dozen tables which contributes to the attractive atmosphere of this quite unique little restaurant. We ordered a selection of starters to share. Good variety available and each one individually prepared in the little kitchen adjoining the restaurant. We had reveultos which is a scrambled egg dish with mushrooms & prawns, warm salad (lettuce, seta mushrooms, tomatoes, vegetables & a dressing to die for) and berenjenas which is eggplant in delicious sauce. If the taste and quality of our small selection was representative then I want to try everything!! They also had a good selection of main courses which I hope we'll get to another time. The waiter from Cuba recommended a rioja called Hito which was excellent and I think cost about €15.
Fresh baked bread & butter complimented this excellent meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service, great food, cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

With local ingredients, a flavour of Spanish quisine and some international influences this restaurant offers something special for a decent price. Service is very friendly and well organised, and the small scale of the restaurant works out very well. To be recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salamandra also viewed

San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 

Been to La Salamandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salamandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.