We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of el nilo

el nilo
calle pajar | san sebastian de la gomera, San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Lanzarote, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant today, after a tiring day of playing tourist we were rather hungry. After looking at several restaurants/cafes that didn't interest us, my husband said lets just eat here. We walked into a very small and dark restaurant with wood panelling on the walls :/ we ordered a mixed salad and Serrano ham & tomato bread for startes and pork chops and garlic chicken for mains. The starters were delicious especially the salad which had mango and bananas mixed in with it. By the time the mains came i was stuffed with the salad and bread, but the mains did not disappoint ( although neither of us finished them).
We only paid 30€ and if i was staying in San Sebastian i would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Something to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had been told this was a budget restaurant with a friendly host. With high hopes I spotted two fellow guests from the Parador and joined them at a table just as a drama was unfolding. A German had had the audacity to request a table for eight and our host was not happy as tables were flung together and chairs scraped in postion. After a 10 minute wait our order was taken a little techily and much of what we asked for was not available. No watercress soup or calamares so made do with the avocado cocktail (smothered in Marie Rose sauce and very soft soapy avocado) and some frozen prawns. The asparagus salad was tinned. My steak was well done (I wasn't asked how I wanted it) and very thin. But, despite the strange appearance of the Roquefort sauce, the meat was tasty and temder and the sauce delicious. The garlic king prawns were small, shelled, probably frozen, and swimming in a pond of garlic butter. While a whole unidentified fish was apparently OK but on the dry and overcooked side. We paid 22 Euros each which was about double that of other restaurants of a similar standard. I also felt I had to humour the host, which is surely not in the job description of a diner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“delicious food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Best steak of the fortnight in pepper sauce - wish I was there now. met great people and had a lovely night.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“fantastic fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

excellent fish and very good salad. First class wine. Great choice of fresh fish and all of it beautifully presented.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Good, local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Plenty of restaurants in San Sebastian providing local Gomeran dishes, but El Nilo is especially appealing for its ambiance, cleanliness and warm welcome. Fish and seafood particularly good, and priced keenly. A place to return to.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed el nilo also viewed

San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 

Been to el nilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage el nilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.