We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of el nilo

el nilo
calle pajar | san sebastian de la gomera, San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
922870305
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant today, after a tiring day of playing tourist we were rather hungry. After looking at several restaurants/cafes that didn't interest us, my husband said lets just eat here. We walked into a very small and dark restaurant with wood panelling on the walls :/ we ordered a mixed salad and Serrano ham & tomato bread for startes and pork chops and garlic chicken for mains. The starters were delicious especially the salad which had mango and bananas mixed in with it. By the time the mains came i was stuffed with the salad and bread, but the mains did not disappoint ( although neither of us finished them).
We only paid 30€ and if i was staying in San Sebastian i would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danyellemcmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I had been told this was a budget restaurant with a friendly host. With high hopes I spotted two fellow guests from the Parador and joined them at a table just as a drama was unfolding. A German had had the audacity to request a table for eight and our host was not happy as tables were flung together and chairs scraped in postion. After a 10 minute wait our order was taken a little techily and much of what we asked for was not available. No watercress soup or calamares so made do with the avocado cocktail (smothered in Marie Rose sauce and very soft soapy avocado) and some frozen prawns. The asparagus salad was tinned. My steak was well done (I wasn't asked how I wanted it) and very thin. But, despite the strange appearance of the Roquefort sauce, the meat was tasty and temder and the sauce delicious. The garlic king prawns were small, shelled, probably frozen, and swimming in a pond of garlic butter. While a whole unidentified fish was apparently OK but on the dry and overcooked side. We paid 22 Euros each which was about double that of other restaurants of a similar standard. I also felt I had to humour the host, which is surely not in the job description of a diner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nordicqueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“delicious food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Best steak of the fortnight in pepper sauce - wish I was there now. met great people and had a lovely night.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UponATime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fantastic fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

excellent fish and very good salad. First class wine. Great choice of fresh fish and all of it beautifully presented.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orielh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good, local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Plenty of restaurants in San Sebastian providing local Gomeran dishes, but El Nilo is especially appealing for its ambiance, cleanliness and warm welcome. Fish and seafood particularly good, and priced keenly. A place to return to.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed el nilo also viewed

San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera
 

Been to el nilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing