We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de la Gomera

Save Saved
You added Parador de la Gomera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de la Gomera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerro de la Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited La Gomera with my husband for a quick winter break and stayed here as we had previous very positive experiences of Spanish paradors. This is a beautiful building with lots of lovely places to sit and relax. The gardens are beautiful. The pool is lovely although as it is unheated I found it a bit too cool for comfort. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely seating area with comfortable chairs, a bathroom and a bedroom with a large comfortable bed. On the ground floor at the end of the building it was very quiet and peaceful. Slight quibbles- I don't like built in hairdryers-they are not brilliant for styling hair and they also get very hot in your hand after short period of use, it would have been better to stop the walkway just before our room- there was no where else to go and occasionally people would congregate outside our room, no tea/coffee facilities and can I have a nail file added to the selection of toiletries? These are minor quibbles. Food was excellent and portion size rather large. Staff generally very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous views over the bay and towards Tenerife. A shuttle into the town might be a good idea as the walk uphill is significant. I had a lovely time and really enjoyed my stay. There is no fitness centre or spa so these can't be graded

Room Tip: Our room (127) was excellent and I would choose it again. As for overhead noise, I heard very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    87
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
164
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently visited La Gomera for a few days and stayed in the Parador. As a general fan of the Parador concept this did not disappoint. A very well and sympathetically restored and extended building set in great grounds with lovely views of San Sebastian and over the sea to Tenerife.

We had a "junior suite" and it was immaculately clean and in good order. There were a couple of small maintenance issues - the patio doors are a pain to open and close, the "spa bath" did not work (but was not advertised so one can't really complain) and the hair dryer initially did not work although that was quickly remedied with a loan until the built in unit was fixed. There were also no tea/coffee making facilities in the room nor was there an iron - this is common in Spain although some more modern hotels are starting to provide them but I mention it in the hope that it might register with Paradores to bring them in.

The gardens and public areas are beautiful and the pool is set in a great position with good views. It appears to be unheated and although Canarian winters are mild (it was 23 C when we were there) it does make for a rather bracing swimming experience as the sun does not really warm the pool to comfortable levels.

The food is excellent and portion sizes enormous. There is a lot of choice on the menu most of which gives a good selection of Spanish and Canarian dishes. The wine list is not long but well chosen again giving a good selection of Spanish regional wines and a few from further afield. Given the quality and quantity of the offerings I think the €33 menu (included if you stay half board) is very good value. Breakfasts are buffet style with a large selection and are basically identical to the offerings in every other Parador - which is not a bad thing.

All in all a nice place to stay and up to the general Parador standard.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell all rooms have a balcony or small patio and good views. Our suite was at the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here on a short trip from Tenerife. Would really have appreciated some driving directions on the website as, unusually for Spain, didn't see any Parador signs in the town itself. After around 30 minutes driving in circles we ended up a couple of kilometres out of San Sebastian before we saw a sign and headed back on a ridge which took us straight to the hotel. There is a way up from the town but I have no idea how you do it.

The Parador's setting is fabulous, absolutely stunning. We were on the ground floor, a twenty yard walk took us to the top of the cliff where the views over the harbour and towards Tenerife were incredible. Could have spent hours just sitting there with a glass of wine. The actual grounds were attractive and the hotel swimming-pool was beautifully located.

The room itself was ok. Would have preferred a double-bed and external doors that were easier to open but these are minor quibbles.

We had a good price for the room but it did not include breakfast. The cost of breakfast was extortionate so we didn't partake but went to a perfectly reasonable bar by the hotel entrance, coffee there was excellent. Still don't understand why they couldn't have put the hotel price up by say 15 euros for the room, we'd still have booked, had breakfast in the hotel, they'd have made more profit, and we would have enjoyed the hotel even more. Likewise we didn't eat in the restaurant because of the prices. Not really a problem as only a 15 min walk down the hill to the town, and easier to walk back than you might imagine.

However, despite some misgivings would come back in a shot for the setting. Must be one of the best locations for a hotel in the Canaries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

nicely restored with plenty of charm and character, this historic building is full of interesting stories. There is history in all its corridors, nicely blended with new.
Nice peaceful gardens and pool area...Excellent food and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fantastic position overlooking harbour, the hotel was spotless, you must treat yourself to a meal in Resturaunt excellent cuisine.
Explore the hotel and grounds you keep finding another room with a view or corner of the grounds to sit and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first visit to the canaries and also to a Parador, we weren't disappointed on either count. Getting there is easy with flights to Tenerife South, and then the boat from los cristianos to san sebastian and a 5Eur taxi up to the parador. We got a good deal using the '5 night card' offer on the website which gave us room only for just over 500Eur, then paid for the subsequent 2 nights, overall saving us about 500Eur on the 'list price'.

Rooms are spacious, we didn't have a balcony which was disappointing so if it bothers you make sure you ask for one. Also most rooms are twin rather than double. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms big.

We ate at the Parador for three nights and ate out the rest of the time, food in the parador is good and we had excellent service. Wine list also good. Compared to local prices food is expensive but arguably worth it for the location.

The pool is very good, nice pool bar which does lunches and breakfast from 1030 (if you aren't paying the 17Eur for the hotel breakfast!). The only criticism would be that the barman goes awol at times which is annoying! Sometimes I think the whole place was just slightly understaffed but it kind of reflects the whole relaxed ambience of the place.

We hired a car for a day which was fun (arranged by the hotel for us easily), driving here isn't for the faint hearted, the roads are steep and winding and it's quite a tiring drive around the island although pretty. The town of San Sebastian is a short downhill walk down from the parador and has some lovely restaurants that are definitely worth trying for both lunch and dinner.

Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked for 2 nights and flew in from TFN. Sea view requested, opened window shutters - no Sea View - despite the "Bell Boy's assurances. No alternative room, available. Dinner from 20.00 (well when in Rome). 40 minutes to take an order - despite ordering drinks none for a further 20 min. Food OK to average but quality did not match the price. Not an experience I'll be repeating despite the "nice" gardens

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de la Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Gomera

Address: Cerro de la Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > San Sebastian de la Gomera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in San Sebastian de la Gomera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de la Gomera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of this Parador expresses in its architectural forms the mysteries and enigmas in this Canary island and invites the guest to enjoy themselves in this paradisiacal setting and to contemplate, from its common rooms, unsurpasable views of the ocean and of the island of Tenerife in the background with the Teide peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Parador de la Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Gomera Hotel
Parador De La Gomera San Sebastian De La Gomera, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de la Gomera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.