We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go there again and again and again...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de la Gomera

Save Saved
You added Parador de la Gomera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de la Gomera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerro de la Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I'd go there again and again and again...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent location, in an old monastery. Serene atmosphere.

The warm wind is omnipresent and makes this place unique. Situated on top of a cliff 200m above sea level is a guarantee for en excellent view over the harbour, the city and the inland mountains.

Strolling through the gardens of the Parador is already worth the visit. The only drawback: breakfast, not much choice and not a good value for money, you can however order breakfast in your room at no extra cost.

The menu in the restaurant is OK but if you only like 2 things on the menu you'll only go there twice as the menu did not change during our stay. Excellent choice of local wines!

No one forbids you to buy local food and have a cheese, bread and red wine dinner outside your hotel room in the unique atmosphere that makes La Gomera so special.

We used the hotel as our base while discovering the island with a rented car.

Hotel staff is very discrete and very helpfull.

We'd go there again for sure.

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
164
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Don't let my title confuse you. This is a modern hotel with beautiful views of the bay. Rooms with all mod cons, mini bar fridge and safe. 10 minute walk to the town, take a taxi back (uphill). Probably best suited for persons with a car. However we didn't have one but we managed fine. This is our first visit to a Parador and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have visited the other 4 Paradores of the Canary Islands (Gran Canaria, El Hierro, La Palma and Tenerife). The one on La Gomera awoke the greatest emotions inside us.
The location of the hotel on top of a steep and rocky cliff (overlooking San Sebastian) is spectacular! From the moment you enter this 40 years old property you can feel that it is a very special place. The furniture is wonderful, architecture is wonderful, the gardens are wonderful!
Staff at reception is very efficient and friendly. Staff at the bar and in the restaurant as well.
It is such a nice experience to have a nice dinner in the patio - one can relax as much as hardly anywhere else on the archipelago. The gardens are huge, there are wonderful plants and flowers. There is a big pool with lovely views over the port. Deck chairs and umbrellas could be exchanged in the near future, they disappointed me a bit...
Our room had a magnificent sea view and we enjoyed 4 very quiet and relaxing days on this beautiful, rocky island. Furniture was old and traditional as one can expect it in a Parador. We loved it! The bathroom was ok but could be improved. Lack of kleenex, it is a detail but yes, I do expect it in a 4* hotel. Room service was efficient and very friendly, food is excellent and the way it is presented is 5 stars! We intended to stay here for 2 days. Then we extended to 3 and then to 4 - just because it is a lovely place to stay in harmony and peace! We would turn back at any time and it was one of our favourite hotels during our trip, visiting all the 7 Canary Islands and staying in 15 different hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydro1547
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an amazing hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the bay at San Sebastián. We stayed here for a week and couldn't find a fault with anything here. The swimming pool is great, rooms are spacious and food is excellent.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Parador La Gomera during our honey moon in August. The swimming pool, with view to the ocean was great, the room was beautiful, relaxing and very big, with a balcony (only in the 2nd floor). The breakfast cost 17E per person, so we bought groceries at the minimarket just across the hotel (opens at about 07.30, close sunday). There is also a local small bar just outside, where you can buy coffee (opens at about 09.00, close Sunday). The "city" is 10min. walk - the way down is nice, the way up a little exhausting but worth it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a balcony and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It's impossible to know where to start with saying about the wonderful things about this hotel; the rooms; the views of Tenerife, the amazing pool... The list goes on and on. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a special offer which didn't include breakfast so the value for money was excellent. I don't think we would have paid 17€pp for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I loved this hotel. It was really lovely and relaxing and the food was lovely. Lovely little gardens looking out to the sea. Bedroom was lovely and everything about the hotel was special. Took the ferry over from Tenerife to stay the night and was a lovely one night break. Will definitely come back and looking forward to it. Not a huge amount to do, but the one night break was perfect and something different.

Room Tip: room looking out to sea and gardens was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de la Gomera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Gomera

Address: Cerro de la Horca S/N | Cerro de la Horca S/N, 38800 San Sebastian de la Gomera, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > San Sebastian de la Gomera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in San Sebastian de la Gomera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de la Gomera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of this Parador expresses in its architectural forms the mysteries and enigmas in this Canary island and invites the guest to enjoy themselves in this paradisiacal setting and to contemplate, from its common rooms, unsurpasable views of the ocean and of the island of Tenerife in the background with the Teide peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Parador de la Gomera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Gomera Hotel
Parador De La Gomera San Sebastian De La Gomera, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de la Gomera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.