We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Park Fuerteventura

Oasis Park Fuerteventura
Carretera Gral de Jandia,s/n | La Lajita, Pajara, 35627 Fuerteventura, Spain
+34 928 16 11 02
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$34*
and up
Ranked #10 of 67 Attractions in Fuerteventura
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis Park is a vast open space of more than 800.000 m2 of nature, a real orchard that surprises its visitors with more than 6.800 species of different plants from all over the world, which will accompany you during this colourful and shady walk through the paths and recreation areas.Silent and motionless reptiles, impressive bird areas, the way of sleepy raccoons, ghostly lemurs, kangaroos, capybaras,mongooses
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our nine year old niece insisted on visiting the Oasis Park during our recent stay in Futureventra. We were staying in Correlejo and decided to catch the Oasis bus from our hotel. This was a 90 minute journey because the park is located in the south of the island.
During our trip on the bus we commented that we were expecting to see one man and his goat doing a couple of tricks, while we, his audience, swelted in 30 degree heat, before being packed on our way for the journey back to our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised by what we found when we arrived at the Oasis Park. Essentially this is a zoo in very large grounds. The lower section of the park which contains a number of monkey species as well as reptiles such as alligators. All of this can be found in a pleasant semi tropical gardens which keeps the temperature down. As you walk around the park and you move to different areas with different animals the gardens give way to more exposed environment, more in keeping with the African savanna.
We had a brief lunch at one of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. All of which was reasonably well priced, which is a far cry from anything in the UK.
There are a number of shows put on a various locations around the park. We missed most of these but we did manage to catch the sea lion show, which was very enjoyable. We had arrived early and there was an opportunity to be photographed with one of the sea lions dropping a big wet smacker on your cheek. The photos were available at the end of the day for €5, which again is more competitive than anything in the UK.
I will say that we felt that the chimpanzees could have had a better enclosure and the elephants could have done with some water in their enclosure. These were probably the low points for what we considered to be a very good zoo.
Overall, a fantastic day was had by both adults and our niece. It is well worth spending the time and money to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    268
    84
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here's a tip for starters - if you decide to visit this park - TAKE YOUR OWN LUNCH! The Restaurant clearly don't care or don't like tourists as the sevice was deplorable. Four of us ordered lunch, only two arrived. We asked where the other two was (a sandwich and a pizza!) and the sandwich was eventually delivered - warm, not hot. As for pizza, well the waitress "forgot" to order it (!) and the other waiter took pleasure in telling us we'd need to order again as they 'were busy'
Now to the "shows" - Parrotss and Cockatoos raising flags, "riding" bicycles and flying through hoops - pure exploitation! Move on to the Alligators show, where they tape up the mouths of young 'gators and then take them into the audience to frighten them. Oh I almost forgot - they did the same with the snakes.
It wasn't all doom and gloom though. We did enjoy being left to our own devices and going off to feed the giraffes and camels (with bags of fruit on sale at the shop). Talking of the shop, if a cuddly lion or dinosaur with big eyes is your thing, this is the very place to buy them. If however you're looking for a decent souvenir, try anywhere else on the island, but not here!
One last thing, the free bus from the park lists all the hotels in Correlejo its MEANT to drop people at - however, our driver decided he wanted home for his tea and therefore emptied his bus at another hotel! Oh Joy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great family day out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 children aged 11 & 6 came to the canaries for our first time in August.
We stayed in Jandia. We caught the free bus from outside the hotel which took us 50 minutes to Oasis Park.
What an amazing day!!!!!
You get to feed the animals so up close and personal. I've never stroked a giraffe, elephant or zebra before, we'll let's be fair with British zoos they're enclosed where we can't interact with them unless your behind a fence.
We also held a baby crocodile which again was a 'first'.....and this was whilst the big crocodiles were roaming freely behind you. (That was quite scary)
You can buy bags of fruit at the gates for €1 each to feed the animals but I would recommend taking fruit from your hotel because its free. :)

We also paid an extra €110 to swim with coco the sea lion, again another first for us all and an amazing experience it was. Definitely one we'll not be forgetting in a hurry. You also get a photo included with coco kissing you.

There's professional people who go around taking photos of you and I would recommend on taking any photo opportunity with the animals. They are €5 each. We had one done with a parrot and the baby crocodile, as well as the free ones with the sea lion.

We took a picnic from the hotel for our food for the day but there was a restaurant in the complex which smelt lovely if you don't mind paying out.

Definitely a great day out for all ages of the family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Please give the elephants more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked this excursion through thomson 24€ each that's entry and return coach transfer which took 1.5 hrs from corralejo on arrival you are offered a bag of food for 1€ which literally is just grass.
As you walk into the entrance a parrot is placed on your shoulder and a photo taken ( they don't give you time to take your own picture though) the animals are all in adequate enclosures although some could be a bit bigger, the sealion show is a must and before the show starts you can go into the enclosure and have a photo taken with a sealion kissing your cheek ( very cute ).
You can get very close to the animals and was shocked that it was just small chicken wire fence between yourself and the crocks so please don't let kids put there figures through.
The elephants could have more to do in there enclosure I wish I had saved more grass for them as they had hardly anything in their pen food wise other then straw in a sty style bin near the sleeping quaters there was hardly any water for them to play in which was quite sad, it was as though all the money was spent on the shows and show animals and the other animals were kind of forgotten about.
There is lots to do here and it is a good day out but just bear in mind it's not a marwell or London zoo environment but it is high priced while your there, the camel ride is 10€ each and to swim with the seal ions it's 35€ each for 10 mins 3 mins in the water and 7 mins spent sat on the edge, and the pictures they take throughout the day of you with the animals are 5€ each at the exit. It is worth the price and is a good full day out 9am till 7pm, I did enjoy the day just wish I had more food left for the elephants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good day out, but feel sorry for the elephants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Went here in May, first time in the Canaries for us. Thought this was a great venue for a family day out, and in the main it is. Make sure to buy the animal food at the gate, one or two bags each, as it is a treat to feed the giraffes, zebra and elephants, but I did feel a bit sorry for the elephants, their enclosure is not very interesting for such intelligent animals.

There are a few steep paths though, so take plenty to drink if it is warm, and be prepared to take your time with little ones.

Recommend it for a day out though, lots to see and do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Park Fuerteventura also viewed

 
Lajares, La Oliva
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Oasis Park Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Park Fuerteventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.