We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via Son Xoriguer s/n, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Ciutadella
england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“True Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We recently spent 8 nights at this small and very peaceful hotel. \some of the comments I read on other reviews were slightly over played. For example, I was concerned about taking our 5 year old son after reading that the hotel and its guests were not welcoming of young children. However, the hotel clearly welcomes young children with a children's menu and high chairs in the restaurant. Moreover, staff members look after young children very well indeed. I agree that the pool area is very quiet and peaceful during the day but other guests did not seem to mind a bit of noise and splashing in the pool. However, very noisy and unruly children would probably not be tolerated.
A couple of previous reviews made comments such as "more of a good quality 4 star hotel" and "I have been to better 5 star hotels" which could be taken out of context. Sure if you are comparing this with, say, the luxury 5 star hotels in Mauritius, then perhaps it should only be classed as a 4 star. However, this hotel is much better than the last 7 European 5 star hotels I have stayed in, a couple of which advertised the misleading Leading Hotels of the World logo. Yes I too have also stayed in better 5 star hotels, for example in Mauritius.
The staff are a real credit to the hotel and help create the truly relaxing ambience of the hotel. Generally the food is very good, although I would caveat this by saying not sure about the red meat served during some of the evening meals. They seem to cook fish and chicken very well and made lovely pizza and pasta dishes but some of the red meat dishes left a bit to be desired. Good wine menu - expect to pay about £25 for a bottle of good rioja costing about £12 in a UK retailers.
We booked our package with Sovereign and it is worth mentioning that they looked after us very well and we had 24 hour access to their very adept representative in Menorca - people are always quick to criticise poor service.
If you enjoy small relaxing hotels with good food and excellent service then look no further than this delightful hotel that is less than two and a half hours from the UK. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    67
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
252
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We were really looking forward to this holiday after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
The staff really were professional, yet friendly and could not do enough for us. The rooms were clean, spacious and again, the domestic staff were always courteous and friendly. Towels were always replaced for both the room and the pool, when required, both morning and afternoon.
The room we had was very clean and the bathroom well appointed. We had asked for a top floor room, which we were given. The decor was calm and inviting- the bed was so comfortable- usually a bugbear! There was a pillow menu. However, we were fine with the lovely pillows we had! All rooms face the pool and have a balcony.
Communal areas - even down to the stairways- were beautifully decorated with impressive artwork and ornaments.
The food was wonderful. As vegetarians, we were a bit concerned about going half board as we have had problems eating out in the past. We had no such problems- each night we had a choice and the menus were not repeated - this is honestly the best food we have experienced on holiday. Breakfast was a delight and standards were always maintained.
The location was the only slightly disappointing element - the local area was not to the standard of the hotel - with a lot of 'cheap and cheerful' bars and restaurants- with a few exceptions (Bar Don Carlos being one of these!) However, a frequent service bus runs between the hotel and Ciudadela as well as the (free) mini bus which La Quinta provides.Ciudadela is a lovely town- well worth a visit.
The best thing about this hotel? We felt perfectly relaxed from the moment we walked into the calm, clean and friendly atmosphere- it was just what we needed!
What did we like the least? The number of people who still insist on trying to reserve a sunbed for the day by sticking a towel on it! Why? There were always beds and umbrellas available at any time of the day...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at La Quinta for the middle two weeks of July 2010. We had previously stayed for two weeks in 2007, and enjoyed it so much we came back.

We booked through Thomson’s but they don’t have a Rep who visits the Hotel. Thomas Cook and Sovereign had Reps who were very visible, so next time…

We’d highly recommend this hotel, and had couldn’t really fault it.

It’s located in the Son Xoriguer part of Cala n Bosch. Cala n Bosch is divided into 3 areas: West part is known as Cap. D’Artrutx. This is mainly residential. Middle bit with the marina and night life is Cala n Bosch. The marina area is packed with bars and restaurants, and is a pleasant place in the mornings for a coffee or beer and to watch the boats coming and going, but in the evening is crowded and given over to loud music, drinking and fast food. I did see one of the bands give a good rendition of Roy Orbison and Fats Domino, and also above one of the bars some band was belting out passable rockabilly! Eastern area is Son Xoriguer and is a mixture of residential and Hotels.

I’ve loaded up a map of Cala n Bosch, La Quinta is circled in ballpoint. You can get a copy from the hotel reception. One way of getting familiar with the town is to take a trip on the road train that runs from the Marina.

There are some nice shops in the marina area, and also a good Pharmacy with a doctor’s surgery round the corner from it. See map.

The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. It is low- rise and I’ve loaded up some photos to show this. The bedrooms are on three sides of the pool, with bar reception and dining room on the fourth (front) side.

There were quite a few children staying when we were there and they were no problem, but it isn’t really geared up for kids. There’s no playground or kid’s pool. Across the road from the hotel and to the right is a children’s park (Parque Infantile :-) and I noticed that around 11am they set up games and things for children to play with, but it was so damn hot when we were there I couldn’t imagine they got many takers. The hotels indoor pool is great for doing lengths, and there is a gym, but I couldn’t make head or tail of the instruction which were in Spanish. There’s a Jacuzzi too.

There seemed to be a lot of lounger reservation going on in the first few days, but a guest (English :-) complained and the staff came and removed all the towels, bags and books and piled them up at the pool bar. They did the same the next morning. This brought the reservation to a halt, and thereafter there was no problem getting a lounger.

Food at the hotel was pretty good but in the second week it seemed not quite as good at the first, so we wondered if there had been a change of shift for the chefs. Meals come in 4 courses: a soup course with choice of hot or cold soup, buffet course, main course and dessert. The cold soup comes in a conical glass similar to a cocktail glass. I heard one of the Germans describe the cold melon and sparkling wine (yes really!) soup as “plastic soup” but we thought it was OK. The meals are a bit “nouveau cuisine” portion sized, so the trick is to ‘bulk-up’ when helping yourself to the buffet.

Breakfast is fine, and comes with sparkling wine (Cava). Choice of hot and cold dishes.

The bar is OK, you have to ask for the cocktail menu. Strangely the concept of Bucks Fizz, Belini and Kir Royale was a complete unknown to the barman. The grey haired barman is an artist: ask for a Spanish Brandy without ice and watch how he pours it out. It was free Cava in the bar the night Spain won the World Cup :-)

A lot of the residents had a meal in the Bar at lunch time and the food looked pretty good, but I’m afraid that if we’d eaten to such a heroic level it would have completely felled us!

The nearest beach is about 200 metres away in Cala n Bosch (see photo) but we’d didn’t use it. It looked narrow, and with the high density of hotels around that beach it looked like it would get packed.

There’s another beach in Son Xoriguer about 400 metres away (see map). This is wider and in our opinion better. They have loungers and umbrellas (18 Euros) kayaks, windsurfer boards, banana boat and a blackboard by the windsurf rental giving sea temp (25C) wind and weather forecast and medusa report (there weren’t any).

Driving in Menorca is a dream compared to other Med countries. They aren’t up on your back bumper trying to overtake all the time, and the Taxi drivers aren’t out to kill you.

We hired a car from Europcar who have an outlet in Cala n Bosch. Having read in the UK press about how some hire car put a charge for repairs on your credit card after you’ve gone home, I asked what the excess was: an eye-watering 600 Euros, so I asked how much it would cost for no excess: 6.46 Euros for a weeks hire. Seemed like a no-brainer to me!

First thing to remember about driving in Menorca is there are very few petrol stations, we counted 14 for the whole island. Make sure you get a map with them marked. There is one at the Marina in Cala n Bosch on the quayside, but it is unattended and you have to put your card in, and you’d have to run over a few holiday makers to get to it. We didn’t use it.

We drove to Cuitadella – lovely place. (The hotel does a free shuttle service too). As regards car parks: It’s a straight drive to Cuitadella across all the roundabouts. The final straight-across road looks like an alley (Cami des Degollador) when you get to the end there’s a dual carriageway in the town, turn right (Avinguda del Capita Negrete), take first right after the road bears left (Carrer del Sud) and first right again (Carrer del Josepa Rossinyol) and there’s two free car parks, there’s also free parking in the side streets there.

We also drove to Mahon (about 1 hours drive) this is straight down the Me-1 (all roads in Menorca are labelled ‘Me’ – we couldn’t find an Me 109 tho’ :-). Me-1 can be picked up from the bypass round Cuitadella (the ‘Ronda’). Parking: The road into Mahon forks to the right eventually when in Mahon, follow this and park in the signposted underground car park under Placa de Espana. (We thought it’d be cool there – it wasn’t!). This cost about 7 euros for 6 hours, but if you park on the blue meter sites in the roads you are limited to 2 hours. Mahon is worth a visit but we preferred Cuitadella.

When coming back, just as you get to Ferrieries, on the right, is a big Jaime Mascaro factory shop. This is worth visit. Apart from shoes and leather ware it has an air conditioned café which is clean and pleasant.

Another place worth visiting is Fornells, we went a couple of times, no beach, but nice harbour and shops, restaurants and bars and harbour walk.

We liked the beach at San Tomas. There’s a big free car park down the bottom of the hill on the right, by the roundabout, on the way in. It looks like it belongs to the beach bar, but it’s open to everyone. Two sun loungers and an umbrella are 17 Euros here.

There three small popular coves to the east of cala n Bosch. These are Cala Turqueta, Cala Macarella, and Son Saura. To get to them you have to drive to the ‘Ronda’ at Cuitadella, and follow the signs off one of the roundabouts to the ’platjas’. There are illuminated signs on the Ronda to tell you if the car parks at these three beaches are full or not. These beaches do not have any sun loungers, and all involve driving over dirt tracks for the last bit. We only went to Cala Turqueta. See photo. The car park here is about 5 minutes walk from the beach. There’s no facilities at the beach, but there is a café and toilets in the car park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Clean hotel, maid service to rooms twice daily, good food, and lots of choice for both breakfast and dinner, in quite a touristy area by Cala n'Bosch harbour and beach. Staff very friendly and helpful, 2 nice swimming pools, (one inside). Would recommend a car to explore the island - but mostly stick to the main roads as the side roads are very narrow and easy to get lost

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just got back from here and it was everything I expected from the great reviews on here. I would honestly say I have been to better 5 star hotels but it was nice. Rooms spotless with twice daily maid service and towels changed twice a day if required. We had lunch twice here and it was lovely. The breakfasts are buffet style with usual fresh fruit, juices, cold meats, pastries, hot buffet which is not the usual "full English" style but Spanish bacon etc...
The beach is very clean and a 5-10 minute walk. Marina caters for families with lots of competition from the restaurants to get you in. I went to The Aquarium one night and had a lovely meal. We also went on the glass bottomed boat trip to Gran Caldana and that was a change for a day. Hotel offers a free shuttle service to the old capital Ciutadella. This was a lovely place with nice quaint streets to walk round and restaurants on their marina.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010 via mobile

Very relaxing atmosphere, beautiful pool and garden, different from all the others hotels in the area.Great overall service, breakfast, big lovely rooms. A real good suprise!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This particular holiday was booked very last minute and our aim was just to have a total relaxing week. We had not been to Menorca before and when looking for hotels, we were not neccessarily looking for a 5 star hotel but what attracted us to this one was the fact that previous reviewers had stated not a place for children. This suited us as we do not have kids and thought this would be ideal. We booked this hotel via Travelrepublic three days before and got a better deal booking half board than bed and breakfast rate only. We normally only look for B & B basis so took the view that if we didn't have the dinner we had not lost anything. Our flight from the UK was delayed so I phoned the hotel to let them know we would be arriving late, I was advised no problem and that they would have a meal of salad etc for us! On arrival I cannot fault the reception staff, very friendly and showed us to our room. We were on the ground floor and this was perfectly fine. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and nice bathroom, bath robes, slippers etc. The night manager brought to our room a tray with two plates of beautiful salads with meats etc and a dessert.
The pool is lovely and plenty of sunloungers and brollies available. We did find that although not at 6am in the morning, people did put towels out on the sunloungers prior to breakfast. Breakfasts were excellent, there was plenty of choice, both hot and cold and plenty of it. The kitchen staff kept coming out to ensure that there was adequate sufficiency and in particular the restaurant staff were excellent, very friendly and we had the same team all week.
On saturdays the hotel has a gala dinner and as this was our first night, we thought we would try this, we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, plenty of choice, the service was very good. Generally it was a choice of soup to start (one hot and one chilled), then you could help yourself to a plate from the extensive salads and the main course was served to you. There was a choice of desserts and lovely fresh fruit. As the food was such a good standard we decided to eat in the hotel for the rest of the week, although there is a risk that sometimes this could become a bit monotonous, we did not feel this at all as they changed menu every night. Again a previous reviewer had mentioned an issue with flies, we did not see any!
The hotel has a spa and small gym. My husband used the gym but felt although it was adequate it is quite small and would not be suitable for more than two to three people at one time.
The hotel does not have childrens entertainment and therefore in our opinon it is probably best suited to couples who are looking for a good relaxing break away from noise etc.
We were very lucky to be there when Spain won the world cup and the atmosphere was great. There were a mixture of Spanish and English guests during our stay and on this particular evening the hotel had the TV on in the lounge where we all watched the game. At the final whistle sparkling wine was given out to all the guests to celebrate and this included the staff as well.
In our opinion the hotel although rated as a 5 star, is probably more an excellent 4 star. (ie no porter for the bags which is something you would expect although again this did not bother us) We were very happy with the standard.
The harbour at Cala'n Bosc is about a five minute walk, all flat and this is quite pretty. It has the usual restaurants and shops. There are two boats (Don Pancho and Don Amigo) which advertise a trip along the coast, either morning or afternoon for 31/2 hours. The Don Pancho is slightly smaller and therefore we did this one. We were not disappointed, the trip takes you along the coast and stops at one of the nice white sand beaches,which is generally only accessible either by boat or a hike! There are also nudists on this beach. We did not go to the beach in this resort but I believe it is quite small.
We had a car for the 6 days we were there, would recommend having a a car to visit the rest of the island. Some roads are quite narrow. We visited a number of other places during the week and generally all the resorts were clean and not too big. Would imagine during the summer season that most places would be very busy. Overall we enjoyed Menorca, our aim was to have a totally relaxing break which it was and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Gran Via Son Xoriguer s/n, 07769 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ciutadella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
#2 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only hotel. This option is perfect for couples, friends, singles or families with children over the age of 16 to enjoy their holidays. In Minorca, only 9km from the old capital of the island, the monumental Ciutadella, our hotel is located between the beaches of Son Xoriguer (600m) and Cala’n Bosch (300m).The colonial architecture and a well-cared decoration based on traditional materials like wood, terracotta, forged iron, aged marble etc. makes of this place the most exclusive 5-star hotel in the isle of Minorca.Five star hotel of the Island, thought for those who look for peaceful vacations and easy access to the superb beaches of the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort Hotel And Spa
La Quinta Hotel Ciudadella
La Quinta Ciudadela
Ciudadela La Quinta
La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.