We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vacances Menorca Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vacances Menorca Resort to your Saves list
Vacances Menorca Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Ciutadella
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diabolical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late of night at lovely hotel to be told your going down the road to blanc cottages . Then had to walk down a long road with cases . Nothing open only reception couldn't even get a bottle of water. Reception close early every night . You can use the other two hotels and pools . No music bars close at eleven . Smell at beach bad . We were dumped in the rundown side of hotel main hotel lovely . Have to get cabs into main town for something to do. We found a lovely bar across from main hotel . When we asked was told only bars in town. Everyone we met was not happy with we're we were placed food very bad .very disappointed with my travel agents .

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Been,

We hope that your return at home has been smooth.
First of all I would like to thank you for the time that you spend to give us about your experience with us, and we sincerely thank you for the comments, which help us to improve and enhance the excellence we seek in our Resort.

About your comments me i would like to say that this is a Resort, we have a main reception that's 24h open.
The Cottage reception is open during the day and if is closed you have various options:
Call from the apartment to the main reception or outside of the reception there is a phone and you can used.
Go to the main reception.

The Bar is open until 24h, but the AI service it's until 23h. And close before 24h if there are not customers that need this service.

The restaurant is buffet and allows us to offer variety as rice, pasta, meat, fish, meats, salads, fruit, sweets and ice cream.

We also have celiac customers and clients with strict diets, we appreciate having this information in advance.


Best regards,

Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    19
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

i will try to highlight few our experiences as follows ..

we came as a pair without children and we spent in Blanc Palace last week in August 2014 in room no. 1032 (if i remember well) with the balcony oriented to the pool, so we have the restaurant in front of the entrance.

accommodation
we choose this hotel because of they offer large apartments, large bathroom (here i have to highlight high pressure of watter in shower) and kitchen; room also had a balcony, where was shadow in the afternoon that was very pleasant. contact of airconditioning is on the door of balcony, so this door must be closed if u want use AC :o); the room was cleaned every day except Wednesday (sanitary day), kitchen was helpfull – i like Columbian cafe, so i did not any experiments and took my blend of cafe on the balcony morning after breakfast; any way – 4 stars were relevant maybe some years ago, but we bought the holidays for last minutes price, so i did not expect business level of 4 stars, but mainly acceptable environment, good equipment etc., generally, we did not spend much time inside the room, so i can say the quality of the accommodation was fine

services
the staff was very pleasant, i did not meet queues on pool bar longer than few min, personnel were smiling and even we spoke English only, i did not have any bad experience; it was visible that they work hard to clean up the tables from previous guests, they have a lot of patience with children and seniors too (they were most of time drunked – hell :o)) ), the staff cleaned the tables very often, so no mass or dirty things were here; the food had acceptable quality and variety; we had all inclusive and this kind of service we decided to use because of u don’t have to care – if u want, take it – so after few days the food starts to repeat, but it is normal. not so far from hotel are restaurants, where everybody can take quality food and part of the hotel is small food market, where we bought the water or tomato juice to store in freeze box in room. what i really appreciate is general approach of the staff, natural smile and respect if u behave as a normal guest. it was only shame that people in reception were usually able to call for taxi or manage only basic tasks, if we asked for recommendation of some good restaurant, they were not able to help; the wifi is a piece of hell – free wifi has very low signal in reception area only and payed wifi does not work properly every time, so better and easier is to buy roaming from your tel operator for very similar price and do not care about wifi :o); any way the atmosphere and the care about guests was in family style and very pleasant

activities / beach
animators are perfect, they made several actions for children every day, every evening they made a fun too – it was a bit noisy, but it is natural part of holidays; people, who prefer hotel without noise can try some smaller hotels elsewhere; young people like fun and children too – next time we will come with our children, it will be fantastic time for them; if u would like to rent a car, better reserve it – a lot of people have the same idea :o), we made a few trips to Ciutadella city – very nice historical place, but don’t visit it on Sunday afternoon, this is time, where everything is closed. even there can be very good public transport, we prefer to call for taxi, for bus to Ciutadella u pay some 3€, for taxi 5 – 10€ depend, where u drive; we made good and bad experience with the beach – smaller one some 200m far from hotel had something wrong in sand – it smells horribly, so we never returned back, but! some 10 min walk is another beach Sa Caleta playa and this was wanderfull – if prefer to rent sun bed, it costs 18€ per day, but if u came with your sun bad and your beach umbrella, player will help u to fix it in the sand – with smile, no problem, there are 4 small bars on the beach, Bahia restaurant as a part of the hotel and Sa Quadra (steak house) which we can highly recommend – we took there very nice dinner. some days we returned to Blanc Palace hotel to eat, some days we took a lunch or dinner on the beach; generally saying – u can choose from many activities, diving, stay on beach, visit interesting places around, its only up to u

short summary
Menorca will offer u fantastic atmosphere coming from the very nice nature, piece of long time history and pleasant people there, this creates the combination of sunny days, a lot of fun and relax, Blanc Palace is not new resort and offer let say good service for good price, it is place, where u can return and u will have pleasant memories on holiday time :o)

regards from prague

Room Tip: better do not choose a room in Cottage if u have bigger children, who like the fun - there are separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Not sure where to start with this one.Firstly this review does not reflect on the hard working staff at this resort as they were all polite and did their best.We arrived on Monday 18th August at lunch time and given apartment 3130 on the ground floor(On the second day it became apparent that this apartment was next to the boiler room and the fumes at times were nauseating).First impressions were good as the room had been well cleaned and the air conditioning worked well.As we then headed for the restaurant i began to see that this was no way a 4 star resort! It resembled something from Butlins.The tables were covered with paper table cloths and the food for me in the main just did not look appetizing in the way it was displayed and replenished.(Staffing levels in this area and the pool bar were poor and had to wait for a table to be cleared and reset on a number of occasions)The choice wasn't too bad but i ended up having more salads than anything.The first evening after our meal i wondered where everyone had gone and it soon became apparent that all the entertainment at the cottage had been stopped(not even a disco for the kids!) and we had to go over to the main Blanc Palace if we wanted to be entertained and it was cringe worthy at the very best, I thought well at least i can have a good nights sleep which is what you expect on a family holiday.How wrong i was,the bed was a cheap quality wooden affair that creaked on every move and the mattress and pillow were poor and i know it was not just our bed as you could hear the joining apartments beds creak too
I have to say the atmosphere around the pool area was good and our party of 9 including 5 children had a great time mixing with other families children and everyone seemed to get on well although there seemed to be a common complaint with regards to the quality of the resort!
In my opinion there seemed to be a lack of attention to general maintenance such as many cracked patio slabs (some loose) around the pool, pathways and edges covered with weeds,Thatched parasols in poor condition,damaged and dangerous sunbeds not removed from use etc.
I believe Thomas Cook should review the grading of this resort and make some decisions on its future.It is a 2 star resort and at the very best a 3 Star.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Wilson Family,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time taken to send us your impressions about us, and thank your comments about our Resort, we also appreciate your words about our employees and departments and regret that we have not been able to meet all your needs, which is one of our primary goals.

Regarding your comment about waiting at the restaurant to make your meals, for hygiene reasons, for quality of service and above all respect for the client, before you can use the corresponding buffet table has to be clean for the next customer.

The buffet menu can be seen that there are a variety from which to choose: meat, fish, rice, pasta, sweets and fruits.

And last but not least, all mattresses are new.

I want to thank your comments which help us to improve ourselves and improve, we pursue the satisfaction of our customers.

Again regret that your stay was not expected.

Best Regards,
Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We explicitly went to this hotel on behalf of some friends who were very happy with the service, the food and all other amenities the hotel had to offer.
During our time there were only few teenagers, it was a mix out of families (kids 0 - 9) and senior citizens.
The seniors complained a lot about the families and viceversa :-)
Kids were too loud, therefore the seniors came very early and reserved the best places at the pool, despite that reservations were not allowed.... the same everywhere.
Back tot the hotel:
Very nice, very clean rooms, daily cleaning service, air cond, reps were really nice and very, very friendly.
Hotel management was very competent, especially Ms. Sheila Gordo, who helped everybody who had more......special problems.
staff at the reception has sometimes a little bit of a language problem, but usually they are getting the point :-)
Summary:
Perfect hotel, perfect food, great staff.
It wasn't our last trip there :-)
Cheers

Room Tip: take all inc with air cond
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Friend Family,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time taken to send us your impressions about our Resort.
It's nice to remember the little moments shared, especially with children who are great!
Many memories and I send a big hug!!!!!!!

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays and We hope to see you soon among us.

Best Regards,
Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After reading the reviews for this resort I was very anxious about our holiday for my family, including my 2 teenage girls and my 22 month old little girl. I really wish I hadn't read any of them and gone with an open mind, as they stopped me from looking forward to my long overdue holiday. We arrived at 12.30pm on the 11th August and our apartment wasn't ready for us which was a little annoying. We eventually got the key at 2.30, after having lunch, and it was worth the wait. The apartment was absolutely spotless, all ready with all our requirements. All the staff were lovely, very accommodating and helpful. The pools are beautiful, were extremely clean and well looked after. There was the usual annoying thing about getting sun loungers, but you get that anywhere! Meals were varied, with plenty of choice for everyone. The restaurant staff were exceptional, very friendly, hard working, and lovely to all guests, especially children. The Thomas Cook rep, Sian, was brilliant and sorted out a couple of problems we had ( our fault) so quickly and efficiently. The surrounding area is beautiful, and busier areas/towns are only a short bus ride away. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, especially those with familes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Crockford Family,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time taken to send us your impressions about our Resort.
We also appreciate your words about our employees and departments.

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays and We hope to see you soon among us.

Best Regards,
Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

For those who are going to blanc palace in the near future ignore these negative reviews.. 18 of of us have just spent 11 nights here.. we are leaving tomorrow...and we have had a fantastic holiday... yes, there are a few negatives but dont all hotels!! The positives outway the negatives!! The rooms are lovely, the 2 pools are ideal, the thomas cook entertainment team are brilliant, the food was suprisingly lovely (different meats, pastas, salads, veg etc etc.. the puddings are AMAZING :-):-). The service in the restaurant is outstanding.. the waiters and chefs work soooo hard and look after you daily!! It infuriates me reading some of these reviews..
The one thing that could be a problem for people is how secluded it is. BUT there are frequent buses and taxis are cheap enough.
We wanted a fun filled, relaxing holiday and we got that and more... we are all very sad to be leaving :-(:-(

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time taken to send us your impressions about our Resort.
We also appreciate your words about our employees and departments.

I want to thank your comments which help us to improve ourselves and improve, we pursue the satisfaction of our customers and thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

We hope to see you soon among us.

Best Regards,
Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday here. We had a fantastic time and would definitely consider returning in the future. We stayed in Blanc Palace One. The hotel was quiet, but there was still plenty going on. The apartment was very basic, but acceptable and clean, with a small balcony. We were all inclusive, and the food in the restaurant was very nice. It was buffet-style, with lots of choice at all meal times. There is a large swimming pool and a baby pool with lots of sun loungers. We liked that you are able to use the pools and facilities at the other two hotels within the resort, too.

During the day, there were activities going on for children and adults to participate in if they wish, such as aqua gym, water polo, table tennis, football etc. In the evening, the entertainment took place on the outdoor stage, and was of a good standard with a variety of shows, such as flamenco dancing, a circus, rep shows etc. There was also a mini-disco for the children. The staff at the hotel work extremely hard and are very friendly, particularly the Thomas Cook Entertainment Team, who always found time to speak to guests.

The area around the hotel is quite residential, but there are places to go a short bus ride away. We went to the town of Ciutadella, which had a market one day and a nice harbour with restaurants. We also went to Cala'n Bosch one day, which has a beautiful beach and also a harbour. We went on a boat trip from here too, but the sea was very rough on this particular day! Overall, we would recommend this hotel and had a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time taken to send us your impressions about our Resort.
We also appreciate your words about our employees and departments.
I want to thank your comments which help us to improve ourselves and improve, we pursue the satisfaction of our customers, and Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

We hope to see you soon among us.

Best Regards,
Sheila Gordo Guiaro
Communication and Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacances Menorca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacances Menorca Resort

Address: C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacances Menorca Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vacances Menorca Resort comprises of 3 holiday complexes - "HA Blanc Palace", "AT Sa Caleta Playa" & "AT Son Blanc Cottage", each one with a 4*/4 Key rating. The Blanc Palace Resort is situated in a quiet residential area of Menorca just 1km and easy walking distance from the centre of the historical capital of the island, Ciutadella. There is also a regular bus service from the resort into the town. The beach of Sa Caleta is just a few metres away where visitors can enjoy the crystal blue waters of the small, quiet bay and a further 500m away is the neighbouring beach of Santandria. All of the apartments in the resort are air conditioned and consist of 1 twin bedroom, full bathroom with hair dryer, lounge/dining area with sofa bed, telephone, flat screen TV with some satellite channels, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Safety deposit boxes are available to hire. Two bedroom apartments and adapted rooms for wheelchair customers or customers with reduced mobility are also available on request. The resort has a 24 hour reception service, buffet style restaurant, bar & swimming pools with separate children's pool, sun terrace, sunbeds & umbrellas and an extensive entertainments programme both throughout the day and each evening. A mini market is also onsite for all guests use. The location of the resort and the facilities its offers provides the opportunity to enjoy a wide range of sporting activities during your visit including cycling, trekking/rambling/walking tours, diving, paddle tennis, horse riding, sailing, kayak, etc, etc - the possibilities are endless. The resort also has its own "Wellness" centre where guests anenjoy Jacuzzi, sauna, gym and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vacances Menorca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacances Menorca Resort Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacances Menorca Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.