We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacances Menorca Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vacances Menorca Resort to your Saves list
Vacances Menorca Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Ciutadella
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday at blanc palace 15/7-29/7. I was apprehensive before we left as some of the reviews were pretty awful. We requested blanc cottages as thats where the english stay and the reviews were good. on arrival at the main hotel we were told we were staying in the older main hotel, we didnt make a fuss thought we would go and look around before trying to change hotels. I can honestly say the blanc cottages would of been awful for us it was full of small children with a fairly small pool and sun lounge area. We have 2 teenagers so the main hotel seemed a much better enviroment. We were very fortunate that there were lots of teenagers whilst we were there, they all got together through the poolside entertainment during the day . Alberto and Iris were fantastic with the kids and adults. My son and husband especially enjoyed the competitive daily water polo game and Albertos aqua-areobics. The room was cleaned daily and was very acceptable by us. Plus it had air conditioning which blanc cottages did not. The choice and quality in the restaurant was very good , we were fully inclusive . The only down sides to blanc palace was that there was always a long queue in the mornings at poolside for drinks, also in the upstairs bar in the evenings, if they had more staff on it would of improved things greatly. Also the evening entertainment was upstairs indoors, when they did have a outside stage which woukld of been a lot nicer . Evening entertainment was of an average quality with room for improvement. Overall we had a great time. Sa caletta is a very quiet resort with only a few beach bars and a restaurant up the road. There are 2 restaurants a 5 min walk away . If you can go to posta del sol restaurant in calan forcat its got the most amazing view over the sea with amazing sunsets, food is lovely as well.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel either overlook pool or lawn some have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good morning,

I hope the Return to your home has been smooth.
Just a few lines to thank you once again for choosing us for your holiday in Menorca.

I want to thank you sincerely for your comments, which help us to improve ourselves and improve we pursue excellence in our stores.

We hope to see you soon again!

Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    19
    4
    13
See reviews for
29
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 nights from 14th July with a group of 20 including 10 kids. First impression was not good upon arrival, was told my studio was above supermarket up two flights of stairs and no one to offer assistance with my cases! First hotel Ive stayed at where there is no one to assist! Definitely no good if you have any mobility issues! The room was clean, beds uncomfortable and pillows horrendous. It was very noisy next to a road and hearing people screeching down the road at all hrs, not to mention the recycling truck that arrives at 1230am to wake you up! The most disappointing thing was severe lack of sunbeds and parasols, some families having to sit on the grass area, small pool bar, one person serves from 11am - 6pm and you have to que to get a drink sometimes for 20 mins plus, the water from pool bar is salty, the cordial disgusting and i had to resort to buying bottled water and snacks from supermarket everyday to avoid the fiasco at the pool bar. The food is limited and pretty tasteless, they regularly run out of meat/plates etc and your standing around waiting. Wine is served from jugs and is not pleasant, the bread rolls are not covered and covered in flys! The entertainment is geared towards kids and there was plenty for them to do, games room, kids club, football etc, the nightly entertainment was cringey and embarrassing and one night resorted to making paper planes to see which flew the furthest! There was a particular rep who took pleasure in trying to throw anyone in the pool and even poured half of my water on me for no reason, i took an instant dislike to this person. The only positive thing i can say is that the hotel is severely understaffed but the staff are very polite and helpful. Ive travelled all over the world in all inclusives and this is by far the worst experience. Definetly not four star and i would not recommend. I would go to one of the more popular resorts and pay that bit extra.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your opinion and and write their experience with us.

About that, we put more sunbeds and parasols on the terrace from the snack bar.
In the restaurant we put two anti-insect lantern more, since we are on an island and insects are part of the biosphere reserve.

The restaurant has variety to choose from, hot: pasta, rice, meat and fish to choose, cold: combined salads and there is also the option of taking a salad to taste.
Are sweet dessert and also have ice cream.

Besides this variety, at night we do a cooking show and depending on the day it is meat or fish.
It may not be all of your taste, but there is variety.

I want to thank you sincerely for your comments, which help us to improve ourselves and improve we pursue excellence in our stores.

Kind regards,
Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We returned yesterday after an 11 night stay in a Blanc Palace Cottages (myself, husband and 3 children aged 7,6 & 4).
We were very impressed with our room (3125) 2 bedroomed which looked recently refurbished with good self catering facilities altho we were all inclusive. It was a duplex apartment facing the road (quieter than those looking onto pool which did get very noisy and crowded) with 2 balconies altho only had 2 plastic chairs when apartment could sleep 6?
Food was excellent. Plenty choice including kids buffet (nuggets, fish fingers, chips etc) main buffet always had pasta, lasagne, potatoes, veg, fish and meat and there was always a roast being carved by the chef. Puddings were typical Spanish offerings along with 4 flavours of ice cream. Staff were all very helpful and cheery.
Blanc cottage has a large pool and a kids pool with slides. First week the large pool area was quiet and relaxing however the 2nd week lots more people arrived and it was bedlam!!! Kids jumping into pool unsupervised (which was 2.1m deep!) and sun beds everywhere!! We ended up using the blanc palace 1 pool across the road which was much bigger and quieter with more sun parasols. There was also a serious lack of parasols at blanc cottages with little shaded areas. This is an area the hotel should look to improve especially with the number of children visiting. People also reserved sun beds at night for following day which was frustrating however half way through holiday this stopped and they were all pulled off and put into piles which freed up more beds.
The local beach was nice and there was a bus-stop outside hotel which we used to go to cala n bosch.
Kids club reps were great - 2 of our children went to kids club sessions during the day and a couple of the night time parties which they really enjoyed. Night time entertainment was cringful!! (Consisted of amateur shows and embarrassing games!!) Thankfully our kids were happy to just to go to the play park (which is excellent) then we headed back to room with a drink to have on the balcony. The entertainment room got very crowded with children running wild and there were huge queues for the bar.
We had a great holiday and would recommend this hotel for families But it did get very busy, crowded and very noisy however the hotel can't be blamed for the behaviour of some of its guests. Main areas for improvement would be parasols, pool side crowdedness and evening entertainment but you will not be disappointed with the food!

Room Tip: Away from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good morning,

I hope the Return to your home has been smooth.
Thank you again for choosing us again for your holiday in Menorca, and Thank you for your comments.

I hope to see you soon again in Menorca!

Kind regards,
Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would like to thank all for making our stay fantastic, Stayed from 4th July 2014 for 10 days and did not want to leave. Stayed with my daughter and two grandsons 17 and 3 both enjoyed all the facilities on the various sites, Beds comfy, Food great selection and enjoyable, all staff friendly, Kids club was terrific for the little one. So good we only left the site for a visit to Citadela. Beach my sort of beach easy going lovely sea. would definitely return. One small critism kettle leads need to be a little longer had to balance ours on dish as socket high.

Room Tip: Not overlooking pool if a blanc cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good Morning,

I hope the Return to your home has been smooth.
Just a few lines to thank you once again for choosing us for your holiday in Menorca.

I want to thank you sincerely for your comments and I remain at your disposal for future visits to Menorca.

Kind regards,
Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had booked in Blanc Cottage, but we were made to stay in another place which belonged to them, the front office staff look very hassled due to the large number of tourists and they don't speak much of english though they try. None of our request like a quiet room with a decent view were honoured, the front desk were not too efficient in guiding us to the local sightseeing places.
The room/apartment itself was ok with a small kitchenette, the beds were lumpy and the air conditioner very noisy.
This seemed like a place frequented by families with kids and it was evident from the large number of families thronging the two large pools through the day.
Connectivity to town is rather scarce with a bus plying every half an hour, it's better to hire a car if one wants to explore the island.
The buffet breakfast which is to be paid for has a huge spread and the restaurant staff is extremely efficient, we wish to thank the gentleman serving tables who fed us past closing hours when he saw we did not know the timings, he ensured we had a good meal even though it was way past his time to close.
recommended for families with children who would like to stay on the premises and not venture out much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Firstly, on behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Menorca.

We have your suggestion into consideration and try to do it, but Keep that it's high season and the request are not 100% warranty.

Your request was a quiet room with a decent view, and if we had put him in the Blanc Cottage, would likely have been less quiet as it is one of the parts of the resort where most families with children staying.

We will consider your suggestions and thank you for telling his experience with us.

Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We (myself, my wife and my 3 young children) returned from a Thomas Cook holiday, all inclusive to Blanc Palace, staying at Blanc Cottages and have come home quite disappointed with the holiday, having tried to research past reviews, which are mainly withdrawn due to a change in name/ownership, we were apprehensive with the late deal we had chosen.

We arrived and was allocated one of the newer style duplex apartments but had real concerns for the safety of our toddler, there was a stone staircase without any gates that within 5 minutes our youngest had tried to scale several times, the terrace was also unsafe for smaller children, it had no gate and went straight out onto the main road. We asked to be moved and were shown a couple of even less safe and older styled apartments and settled on one with an enclosed terrace, the room was really dated, mouldy in the bathroom with a terrible sewerage spell, not good but safe. The furniture was really old and the floor and bathroom poorly cleaned.

The other issues we had was that the hotel has been extended it seems but no extra provisions made in the pool areas and restaurant, it was impossible to get a lounger by 8am, many people put the towels out the night before. The restaurant seemed under staffed, the staff that were there were very hard working and friendly but there were just too many people, there were queues at times to get in and for the hot buffet section. The food quality was generally poor and repetitive, I guess this depends on your normal eating habits, mostly pasta and chips. Many dishes ran out with often a long wait to get refilled, there was only a show cooking area at the evening, no fresh omelettes etc for brekkie.
One of our biggest complaints was that this is sold as a family hotel but there was no thought in the restaurant of this, no plastic glasses/plates or children’s cutlery, something that seems obvious from our experience with other family hotels.

The kid’s entertainment was quite good, lots of kids clubs and a nightly disco, the staff were really friendly, our children especially took to Maria, who seemed to really care about what she was doing. We only caught a few bits of the nightly entertainment, which looked really cheesy and amateurish, for the kids disco there was not enough tables/seating, if you were there after 7.30 you had to stand.
Surprisingly there was a lot of late night noise, with lots of young children still running around up to midnight, there seemed to be lots of children unsupervised both around the pools and later in the evening which we found a little concerning.

The Blanc palace itself over the road seemed more laid back, with many nationalities, quieter with more space around the pools, although we did look into a few rooms which all seemed very basic and dated.

So to summarise, there were some good points. Friendly staff, nice pools, nice small beech nearby.
Negatives. Very overcrowded (and we were told that it would be much busier come the main summer holidays) so nowhere near enough sun beds, queues for the restaurant and for drinks.
Drinks were mainly poor, decent beer and coffee at the main bar (pool bar and restaurant coffee was vile). No consideration for kids in the restaurant, no free soft play in the hotels. Kids play room and toys in the sandpit were dated/broken.
Nothing really nearby, we took taxis to Citudella (5 euro) and Calla en Bosch marina (12 euro) which were really nice.

There were a number of smaller things that just weren’t good but may just be down to our expectations, this is not a 4 star place, 3 at best, I can see how some families might enjoy the place but for us there was just no quality at all. We’ve been on other 4 star all inclusive family holidays and said we probably wouldn’t do again, but the late offer here was really good, unfortunately this was much worse than our previous experiences and think we will stick to higher quality self catering in the future.

Room Tip: new duplexs were nice but unsafe if you have toddlers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Good afternoon,

Firstly, on behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Menorca.

About your comment:

We gave option to change the apartment because you said that the staircase leading to the front door of the apartment was not safe for your child.

The pool hours are from 10 to 18h, is when the lifeguard begins and ends his day.
In the welcome meetings is communicated to customers who can not reserve sunbeds with towels, so we have made the decision to pick them up every night.

On the menu, try to have an international variety as not all our customers are from the same country or have the same customs at lunchtime.
Plastic cups are given in the pool bar and lounge bar, but the restaurant is served in glass. If a customer asks for a plastic cup for your child there any objection to give it.

Vacances Menorca Resort has an animation team and thomas cook has the kids club, but the supervision of the children at night must be provided by parents.

Thanks for your review, we will consider your suggestions.

Kind Regards,

Sheila Gordo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I didn't know what to expect after I'd read the reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. I stayed in the Cottages across the road from the main Hotel. The accommodation was very clean, very well equipped, and the decor was of high standard, the maid came every day except Wednesdays. The Pool Area was washed and cleared of litter every day, and the gardens were very well maintained. The Restaurant was clean and very well run, with a good selection of food to cater for everyone, the bars did get a little busy, but Staff were very friendly and efficient. The Thomas Cook Entertainment Team were brilliant with the Kids and got the Adults involved too, and they wasn't persistent if you didn't want to participate. The Hotel is ideally positioned next to a small sandy cove with a larger cove 10 mins walk away in Santandria. The buses run to Cala'n Bosch and Ciutadella every half hour, which is a cheap way of getting about, but not easy to access the whole Island. We hired a car for a day and managed to see most of the Island. I Would recommend this hotel to families, as it caters for everyone from the age of 0 - 80+

Room Tip: The Cottages were very family friendly and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zennon, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Vacances Menorca Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Firstly, on behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Menorca.

Thank you for telling their experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacances Menorca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacances Menorca Resort

Address: C/ Aries 2, 07769 (Urb. SA Caleta), 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ciutadella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vacances Menorca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vacances Menorca Resort comprises of 3 holiday complexes - "HA Blanc Palace", "AT Sa Caleta Playa" & "AT Son Blanc Cottage", each one with a 4*/4 Key rating. The Blanc Palace Resort is situated in a quiet residential area of Menorca just 1km and easy walking distance from the centre of the historical capital of the island, Ciutadella. There is also a regular bus service from the resort into the town. The beach of Sa Caleta is just a few metres away where visitors can enjoy the crystal blue waters of the small, quiet bay and a further 500m away is the neighbouring beach of Santandria. All of the apartments in the resort are air conditioned and consist of 1 twin bedroom, full bathroom with hair dryer, lounge/dining area with sofa bed, telephone, flat screen TV with some satellite channels, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Safety deposit boxes are available to hire. Two bedroom apartments and adapted rooms for wheelchair customers or customers with reduced mobility are also available on request. The resort has a 24 hour reception service, buffet style restaurant, bar & swimming pools with separate children's pool, sun terrace, sunbeds & umbrellas and an extensive entertainments programme both throughout the day and each evening. A mini market is also onsite for all guests use. The location of the resort and the facilities its offers provides the opportunity to enjoy a wide range of sporting activities during your visit including cycling, trekking/rambling/walking tours, diving, paddle tennis, horse riding, sailing, kayak, etc, etc - the possibilities are endless. The resort also has its own "Wellness" centre where guests anenjoy Jacuzzi, sauna, gym and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Vacances Menorca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacances Menorca Resort Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacances Menorca Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.