We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned 25th May 12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Cala Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Cala Blanca to your Saves list
Hi! Cala Blanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Cala Blanca, Av. Ponent s/n, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Ciutadella
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Returned 25th May 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just returned from 1week all inclusive holiday at Hi! Cala Blanca .An excellent hotel.ALL the staff were friendly .Hotel is very clean and staff work so hard to maintain this standard . Dining room is efficiently run by friendly manager and staff with excellent foods and choices.Entertainment team were very good, friendly and entertaining especially the club dance!. John from Scotland has the making of a very good entertainer and gained confidence everyday (it was only his 2nd week). Bar staff are great, nothing too much trouble.This was our 2nd visit and can`t wait to go back. It is a quiet place, has a beautiful small beach and beach bars. If you want a really relaxing holiday at a great hotel with excellent friendly staff Hi! Cala Blanca is for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    233
    86
    28
    23
See reviews for
209
288
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just back from a wonderful holiday - my first time in Menorca. Gorgeous island, hotel and it's hard working staff were lovely and so friendly. On arrival we were greeted by our lovely friendly rep called Gillian who was very friendly and helpful. She was very knowledgeable about the hotel and island generally. I mentioned a small potential safety hazard to her and it was dealt with immediately. I was checked in very efficiently and shown immediately to my room which was immaculate. Rooms and communal areas were cleaned to a high standard daily. Without exception all the bar and dining room staff were excellent and so friendly. A special mention has to go the following... Maribel, Llorenc and Sergio were amazing and so patient and encouraging of my bad Spanish and kept me going in drinks all day! The maitre de Carolina, Pili + Joanna in the dining room were fantastic and always smiling. The food was varied, plentiful and tasty and better than i have had in some establishments with higher star ratings! Muchas gracias amigas! Last but definitely not least were the excellent entertainment team. I have never met such lovely friendly hard working people. They provided a wide range of games, quizzes and activities to suit all ages and abilities. I enjoyed learning new games and although the activities were totally voluntary they gave you such encouragement if you wanted to participate. Sincere and heartfelt thanks goes to the wonderful John D, gorgeous Anthi and Jony for helping to make my holiday and stay at Cala Blanca such a memorable and enjoyable experience. You were amazing. I keep humming the club dance to myself!! I met some lovely people and cant wait to come back again. Love to you all Eileen x x

Room Tip: If you have young children it may be a good idea not to choose a room above the bar or entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just back from a week at Hi Cala Blanca.Booking in was a bit of a chore as we had three rooms
two with cots but the receptionist couldnt find the booking for the children even though they had put cots in the room. Gigi the receptionist was quite rude as though she was doing us a favour letting us stay at the hotel. After eventualy getting booked in we we went to the rooms which
seemed fine even though we did not have balconys. Down to the pool area which was fine. The bar staff and restaraunt staff very nice. The beer was nice and so was the food with enough choice. The first night the people in one room couldnt sleep because of the noise from the pipework above the room water constantly running. Gigi again was on reception and again not very helpfull explaining in the end they could not move for a few days as they had other people to move first. The holiday was going fine, the animation team first class with activitys through the day and at night. The holday makers at the hotel some of the nicest we have met. One night the cot in one room broke and guess who was on reception. Yes Gigi whose first answer was that the baby would have to sleep in the bed. After a bit of arguing she stomped off and brought a cot just pushing it into the coridoor. On the last night we had to report some items missing from the room which ment an evening at the Police station, All in all 99% of the hotel staff first class, the food nice, the pool area and the animation team very good, would probably spend another weeks holiday at the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor , balconys and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive holiday. Had a brilliant time. Our rep Gillian was fantastic, with helpful information about hotel and Menorca in general. I raised 1 safety issue with her which was very promptly dealt with and resolved. Check in was very friendly and efficient. My room was spotless and cleaned to a very high standard daily. All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. Food was good and dining room staff were lovely especially Pili, Carolina and Joanna. Bar staff were very efficient and friendly providing good range of local drinks. Entertainment team deserve a special mention. This is the 1st time I have taken part in activities which they made enjoyable. Absolutely no pressure to participate but got lots of encouragement and had lots of fun learning new games. Activities tailored from very young to elderly. John D, Anthi and Jony were excellent and helped make my holiday especially memorable. In the words of Arnie....."I'll be back!" Thank you guys. Missing you already! Only 1 problem though...the club dance is a brain worm and i cant stop doing it round the house!! lots of love lynda with a Y!!! xxx

Room Tip: not above entertainment hall if you have young children needing to sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is lovely;but although it is in need of some work -stair carpets were worn, it is clean and well maintained. We went with Thomas Cooke, who bring in 3 flights to the hotel at the same time; therefore we had to wait over 3 hours for our room, not good after an early flight. If you enjoy a dawn chorus of bins being moved in and out, or the smell of meals being cooked then ask for rooms 108, 208 or 308!! Yes, we were above the kitchens!. At other times the room was quiet. The 'entertainment' was awful! The entertainment team seemed very inexperienced and relied on audience participation, a great deal of screaming and shouting and not a lot more. The first 3 days were not good weather-wise, therefore in the evenings there was only the entertainment room to sit in and it was impossible to speak to friends. Fortunately the weather improved and we could sit outside. The food is good considering it is 'mass' cooking, with a choice of salads (safe to eat), cold meats etc., as well as soup and hot meals. Now that we know what to expect, we would go back, but for no longer that 7 days - that was long enough!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 108,208,308 - they are over the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and myself have just returned(25th may) from a 4 night all inclusive break from Hotel Cala Blanca.We had a very enjoyable break and felt rested and relaxed on our return.The staff are excellent especially those who work in the bar and dining area nothing is too much trouble for them.
On arrival we could get into our room by 1pm on the 1st floor with a balcony overlooking the pool area a plus because you get the sun until it sets.
The food was good always something there that we could eat and generally hot with fresh cooked products being bought out all the time,only downside is sometimes you had to wait to get a table.
The bar is open from 9am -midnight,plastic glasses during the day but glass in evening,beer and wine being of good quality and as i have said excellent staff.All in all a good well run hotel and would go back.
The area is very quiet,the sandy beack is a 2 minute walk away and has a couple of bars on either side if you fancy a chance from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had a lovely two week holiday here with my boyfriend. Just a couple of things to bear in mind. Checking in takes forever at the hotel. We were in the queue outside in the sweltering heat for 45 minutes and our room was not ready so we waited in the bar and were told by Gigi to come back in 30 minutes. We left it another 45 minutes and went back to be rudely told by Gigi that she had no idea when our room would be ready and that we had to join the other ladies queue which was still outside the door so agian we queued and this time the lady was thankfully very helpful!
The walls in the rooms were very thin and I heard the man next door snoring, talking to his wife and I now know his bathroom routine.
The restaurant was very small for the size of the hotel and you spend a lot of time queuing outside the door for a table to become available but luckily the food was worth waiting for. There was always a good selection and was very tasty.
There were many good points too. The pools were lovely and clean and a lifeguard was on duty most of the time. It was always easy to get a sunbed too.
The thing that made the holiday for us though was the friendliness of the staff, especially Mirabel who worked behind the bar. She had a wonderful sense of humour and was always smiling despite the long hours that she worked. The entertainment team were brilliant too. Anthi, John and Johnny were so friendly and hardworking and took the time to learn everyones name. The entertainment schedule went on throughout the day and well into the evening.
The hotel is only a short walk from the beach and there are some lovely restaurants down there which we ate at a couple of times despite being all inclusive and the food and the service is wonderful and the prices ar reasonable.
We had the maid service and clean towels every day and they did a wonderful job and you always saw them cleaning the communal areas of the hotel, it was very clean.
We also booked a couple of trips through the Thomas Cook rep. Initially we were quite disappointed that because it was early in the season not all of the trips were running but in hindsight the 3 trips that we did manage to book covered most of the island anyway. The Thomas Cook reps on these trips were fantastic too and they were so informative! We also did the dancing horses trip and I would reccommend this to everyone especially families as the things the horses could do were mindblowing. Although Thomas Cook do offer the deluxe package we did not pay for this and just had the normal trip but we discovered that when we did the discover Menorca trip we stopped off at the stable on the way home and got to do all the extra things that were advertised in the deluxe package anyway like seeing the horses in the stables, visiting the trophy room and even sitting in the V.I.P seats. You don't get to see the show on the discover Menorca trip like you would in the evening but they show you a selection of the tricks in the arena so it is definately worth booking both trips so you get the best of both worlds! I would definately reccommend Menorca and would reccommend the hotel as long as you don't expect 5 star luxury on a 3 star budget.

Room Tip: We were told rooms over the pool were very noisy in the evening as the bar was underneath these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Cala Blanca

Address: Urb. Cala Blanca, Av. Ponent s/n, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ciutadella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS HOTEL IS TO BE REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ADULTS ONLY (16+) The Sunprime Cala Blanca Hotel*** is situated in Cala Blanca, on the island of Menorca, a location of great beauty to enjoy a restful holiday along with family and friends. The hotel is located 150m from the small bay of Cala Blanca, only 4 km from Ciutadella, the second town of Menorca. The hotel disposes of 167 rooms with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), safe rental, SAT TV, bath, shower, toilet. The hotel has both facilities for sports and relaxation in a large gardened area, along with 1 adults' pool. Day and evening entertainment program offers extra fun for your stay in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hi! Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Blanca Hotel Ciudadella
Cala Blanca Ciudadela
Hi! Cala Blanca Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Cala Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.