We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels to your Saves list
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda del Mar 14-16 | Urb. Son Oleo, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Ciutadella
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May 13, although the weather in Menorca was not the best, this little B & B was great. Just a 15 min walk into Cuitadella town, fantastic view from our room (No 9), sufficient breakfast - nothing fancy. Very helpful staff especially Tony - nothing was too much for them.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and we would return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Propietario, Manager at Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes,

Agradecemos su opinión y estamos encantados de que haya pasado unas buenas vacaciones en Menorca.

Será un placer que se vuelva a alojar con nosotros si decide volver a Menorca.

Un saludo,
Toni Marqués
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    61
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, MS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was extremely impressed with Mar Blava. Not only were the facilities super clean, the hotel situated right by the water, and the breakfast absolutley delicious, but the staff was so sweet. Frank was a huge help and another employee (I can´t remember his name) was just genuinely kind. He shared the Menorcan pomada gin tradition with my boyfriend and I and was just great to talk with. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a beautiful location and an excellent interaction with some super sweet Menorcans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't stay on your first impression. We were disappointed when we first saw the building: pink, giving the impression of very low standing. After going over this first impression, you can really enjoy this place. It is very simple but it offers a good quality-price. The staff is really friendly and will always be ready to give you advises and tips. The breakfact is basic, however it is lovely to have it with the great view.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We would recommend this hostel/hotel to anyone. Compared with the price we paid for it, it exceeded our expectations in every way! Really friendly staff and perfect location, near the centre but still quiet. The staff were always ready with advice and good ideas, and just down to earth and personal, in tone with the style of the hotel..
Breakfast was good, so no complaints there either. You could even enjoy it just next to the water on the outside terrace..
So in general a really good stay with no complaints whatsoever. That said, it is not luxury accomodation, so keep that in mind as well but when you don't expect luxury, you can only love this place!
One last advice: we rented bikes, and that was a great way of seeing the different beaches that the island has to offer, so do that! It is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishguard
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We asked for a room with a balcony and view - it was great. Simple, clean and looked out over the small inlet (cala) (we had room No 9). We stayed in April and the room was airy and cool. Lovely for the evening and the setting sun.
The bathroom and shower were adequate but not spacious, plenty of hot water. As already reported breakast is buffet style, plenty of breads, cheeses,coffee etc. The room does not have a kettle but on request a coffee machine was supplied, the fridge was very useful.
Family run by Antonio Snr, Antonio Jnr and Frank(twins), what smashing people, they really cared about the guests and the Island.
Only difficulty we had was finding the hotel(s), we arrived late at night, with no clear instructions or directions. Picked up a hire car from the airport and drove to Cuitadella. We have copied the town map and added it to our review.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and view over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Propietario, Gerente at Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks for the review.

Thank you for taking time to send a review of your stay in our hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed Menorca and the facilitties in our Hotel.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at Cala Bona (the quieter building with the balconies) for a week and were very happy with most things.

GOOD THINGS: nice room with a great view and balcony overlooking the cala (inlet); room cleaned every day by friendly cleaner; small fridge (a nice surprise, not all hotels have them); working telly (didn't use it much, but watched Cheers for five minutes dubbed in Spanish!); comfortable mattresses and pillows; free safe!; the all-you-can eat continental buffet breakfast on the terrace, again overlooking the cala, at the Mar Blava building, was an absolute treat for us; staff (waiters who doubled up as receptionists when breakfast was over) were very efficient and friendly. We got cracking suggestions for places to eat from one of them (eg Ca'n Lluis, Cas Marino, Ca'n Bep); the whole place had a friendly, relaxed, continental feel, with very few Brits (not a pink beer belly in sight) and with mostly Spanish guests. Another great thing was that we were a 10 minute walk from the old town of Ciutadella, and a literal jump from the sea in Mar Blava and a 1 minute walk across the road to the sea from Cala Bona!

NOT SO GOOD THINGS: The whole place could do a lick of paint and our room could have done with new curtains as they were torn in one place (they did keep the light out though as they were full length and black-out). Noise in these rooms travels very easily, so we wouldn’t go and stay in the high season. And finally, we got a mild jolt of electricity through the shower controls and shower head the second time we used it!!! We were told it was caused by the electric boiler, but the hotel staff got it seen to as soon as they could.

All in all, we don't know what the other hotels in Ciutadella are like, but we would love to go back, in June or September, and we would ask for a room with a view and balcony in Cala Bona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at Mar Blava Hotel for 4 nights, its location is fabulous on a tiny inlet about 15 minutes walk from Cuitadella old town. The hotel terrace overlooking the inlet is peaceful and affords lovely views, it is an ideal place to have breakfast or sit to enjoy a drink. A few steps lead from the terrace to ledges for sunbathing and give easy access into the water for swimming and snorkelling. Continental breakfast is adequate with a small selection of cereals, cheese, meat, bread, preserves and juices. Wifi near to the reception area and free internet access is available and quick.
The hotel is clean but is in need of updating, everything has a tired look about it. The room we were given had many problems and really was not suitable to be offered in its present condition. It was very narrow and ran from the centre of the ground floor to the side of the hotel. The lighting was not adequate and the fan did not cool the room, which made the room dark, hot and stuffy and very difficult to sleep in because of the lack of air. The bathroom had an appalling smell coming from the drains, the overflow had been sealed and the plug left in, in an attempt to prevent the smell coming through. The tap leaked where it was fitted to the sink which meant water poured over the rim of the basin every time it was turned on. There was no hairdryer, the TV didn’t pick up any channels and none of the sockets appeared to work with any of our electrical gadgets. After a very uncomfortable night we were given a room on the side of the hotel facing the inlet which was much better with windows down one side which could be opened to get air into the room. However the bathroom did have a slight smell from the drains, the hairdryer was awkward to switch on, the TV didn’t pick up any channels and only one of the sockets appeared to work with any of our electrical gadgets.
The hotel owners and staff didn’t come across as friendly, with the exception of one of the men on reception and a girl who served at breakfast. They hardly smiled and were very terse, often avoiding eye contact and ignoring us when we spoke to them. They made us feel as if they couldn’t be bothered with us so ultimately we let things go rather than asking them to deal with things which were unsatisfactory. Sadly unlike one reviewer we did not find the staff courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inlet and off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels

Address: Avda del Mar 14-16 | Urb. Son Oleo, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ciutadella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ciutadella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ciutadella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a complex of two hotels: Cala Bona / Mar Blava where guests can be accommodated in any of the two establishments. The hotel comprises two buildings, with shared facilities. These include a beautiful garden terrace and bar. The hotel has two floors, being located in the best area of Menorca. Located on the beach, in a quiet promenade. Located 50 meters from the beach (Platja Gran), in the historic town of Ciutadella Menorca. Features an outdoor pool and wireless internet access. Ten minutes walk to the center and the charming Old Town, where there are numerous entertainment venues. very close, only 300 meters, there is public transport. Credit card, satellite, home, garden or terrace, central location, pool, hair dryer in room service, bar/cafeteria, TV room, WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Bona Mar Blava
Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels Spain/Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.