We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoix

Smoix
Ciutadella de Menorca | Sant Isidre 33, Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
+34 971 48 05 16
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 164 Restaurants in Ciutadella
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A beautiful courtyard setting with lovely flowers and plants, well hidden from the road, a little gem, the food was superb. Glad we took the time to find this little hidden haven.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    89
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

what a find!
in fact very hard to find but so worth it. The food is on par with Cas Consol, the location is great in a different way but the staff are not quite as friendly as Cas. However I can't fault the food...Simply Superb !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at Smoix (October 2012). The restaurant itself is in a very pretty setting - you enter through an old archway into a beautifully planted courtyard. We ate inside - it was October after all - and apart from another table of six, my partner and I were the only customers, which wasn't surprising given the time of year and that it was a Tuesday night. This could have meant the ambiance wasn't there, but we were so warmly welcomed by our hosts that we felt relaxed and at home right away. Our starters were excellent - a ceviche of sardines and a Mexican inspired egg and tortilla dish - but our main courses were even better. I had steak stuffed with foie gras and leeks and my partner had duck. The chef's wife took great care to find out precisely how we would like our duck and steak done and they were perfect. We both finished with an amazing chocolate mousse with raspberry sorbet. Presentation and service were immaculate. For two people, our three course meal with bread, water and one bottle of medium priced wine, came to 90 Euros. We found this very good value given such high standards. Overall, this was a real treat and an excellent way to round off a lovely holiday in Menorca. It's on our 'must do again' list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch - wonderful courtyard setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our experience at Smoix. Great courtyard setting! Both the starters (chicken ravioli and Menorca salad) were excellent. Mains were good, but not that impressive (Lamb and duck). Perhaps the starters set our expectations too high!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This restaurant is amazing! The chef is clearly very experienced and his wife is friendly and informative and so kind. We did not know what to expect and were blown away by an excellently prepared meal that was bold and delicate at the same time. We dream of eating here again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoix also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Smoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.