We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoix

Smoix
Ciutadella de Menorca | Sant Isidre 33, Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
+34 971480516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Ciutadella
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A beautiful courtyard setting with lovely flowers and plants, well hidden from the road, a little gem, the food was superb. Glad we took the time to find this little hidden haven.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    97
    60
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

what a find!
in fact very hard to find but so worth it. The food is on par with Cas Consol, the location is great in a different way but the staff are not quite as friendly as Cas. However I can't fault the food...Simply Superb !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at Smoix (October 2012). The restaurant itself is in a very pretty setting - you enter through an old archway into a beautifully planted courtyard. We ate inside - it was October after all - and apart from another table of six, my partner and I were the only customers, which wasn't surprising given the time of year and that it was a Tuesday night. This could have meant the ambiance wasn't there, but we were so warmly welcomed by our hosts that we felt relaxed and at home right away. Our starters were excellent - a ceviche of sardines and a Mexican inspired egg and tortilla dish - but our main courses were even better. I had steak stuffed with foie gras and leeks and my partner had duck. The chef's wife took great care to find out precisely how we would like our duck and steak done and they were perfect. We both finished with an amazing chocolate mousse with raspberry sorbet. Presentation and service were immaculate. For two people, our three course meal with bread, water and one bottle of medium priced wine, came to 90 Euros. We found this very good value given such high standards. Overall, this was a real treat and an excellent way to round off a lovely holiday in Menorca. It's on our 'must do again' list!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch - wonderful courtyard setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our experience at Smoix. Great courtyard setting! Both the starters (chicken ravioli and Menorca salad) were excellent. Mains were good, but not that impressive (Lamb and duck). Perhaps the starters set our expectations too high!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This restaurant is amazing! The chef is clearly very experienced and his wife is friendly and informative and so kind. We did not know what to expect and were blown away by an excellently prepared meal that was bold and delicate at the same time. We dream of eating here again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoix also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Smoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.