We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Can Bep

Can Bep
Paseo Sant Nicolau, 4 | Passeig de Sant Nicolau, 07760 Ciutadella, Minorca, Spain
971487815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 110 restaurants in Ciutadella
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent food, nice and friendly service and fair price. We ate the best mussels we've ever had, and fish dishes were well prepared and tasteful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    42
    27
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine Spanish Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just off the main square of Ciutadella, this unassumingly-fronted restaurant disguises a fine restaurant behind. A good wine list compliments a menu of freshly sourced fish and meat - we had duck, steak and sea bass. All cooked to perfection. A Spanish treat. Friendly and attentive service, and a short walk from the harbour front and bus station.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a fine looking traditional restaurant with corteous service.
Some great looking lobsters greet you from a tank as you enter the main dining room.
However once you look at the price list you realize those are not affordable.
Settling for some more regularly priced items, unfortunately
The outcome was quite diaappointing, especiLly the main course
(squid) pretty tasteless.
Just not worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just the place for a very menorcan meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have visited this place a few times over the last couple of years and have never been disappointed.
The food is great, the decor very relaxing and cool and the service very good. The staff can speak menorquin, Spanish a little English, enough to make sure you have ordered exactly what you want. The quality of service is traditional Spanish silver service, good quality and not obtrusive.
The wine list is extensive with a good quality to choose from, but the restaurant is always happy to help you pick something out of the ordinary if you wish.
We have had paella to sea bream, all cooked authentically without over garnishing which I find not necessary – the food should speak for itself. The desserts, which I am not a great admirer of are very good and my Husband, the sweet tooth between us cannot resist.
Each time we have visited this restaurant we have had a wonderful and relaxing evening, do not be put off because it is set aside from the main area of Cuitadella – just go and have a great time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Squid ink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Don't miss this one. The food is delicious (try the seafood paella coloured black with squid ink, it's gorgeous) and the staff are very friendly. Themeasures of Mahon gin are probably double as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Bep also viewed

Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 
Ciutadella, Minorca
Ciutadella, Minorca
 

Been to Can Bep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Bep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.