We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER LOOKING FISH & VEG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercado del Olivar

Mercado del Olivar
Olivar,, 07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971721162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Reigate
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“SUPER LOOKING FISH & VEG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Packed full of locals buying a wonderful array of fish, seafood, fruit & veg. Athmospheric but no nasty fishy smells - maybe cos it was February? Bars weren't sampled but locals were tucking in to the free snacks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wish we had food markets like this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Fantastic to visit if you are a foodie. Everything looks so fresh and I just wish we had something like this at home!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a couple of hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There is lots to see and lots of things to eat. We enjoyed fried fish and a glass of wine at the popular fish/tapas bar in the fish market section. A great way to observe local life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We went there for lunch purely because of its high rating on this site. In fact we didn't get enough attention, and the recommended mix tapas were below average. We lost appetite after that. I reckon if you speak Spanish, you might get a higher level of food and service. To be fair, there're some local people there.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“A really excellent market catering to all tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

On the final day of a cruise on the Thomson Dream cruise liner we found ourselves with lots of time on our hands as our flight home was delayed by over 10 hours. As it was a lovely day we decided to spend some time in Palma. We took a bus to town and the point at which we got off was very close to the Mercat del Olivar. During the preceding week we had visited markets in Ajaccio, Livorno and Toulon but this one proved to be by far the best, not only through the range of stalls, but the freshness and quality of produce on sale. It being our last day before flying home we were able to buy some excellent cheese, meats (packaged) and spices to take home with us. British supermarkets should really hang their heads in shame for killing off so many similar markets in Britain.

We did not however eat in the restaurant in the market, this review is about the market itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado del Olivar also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Mercado del Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercado del Olivar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.