We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fab Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Japones Shogun

Restaurante Japones Shogun
Camilo Jose Cela No 14, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 73 57 48
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Japones Shogun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,545 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: It was the first Japanese restaurant on the island and one of the first in Europe. With over 25 years standing, Shogun is synonymous with elegance and authenticity of the East; is practically located at the doors of our historic landmark Bellver Castle and close to the popular promenade. Specifying, in C / Camilo Jose Cela 14, in the town of Palma de Mallorca. Notes nd the site shows that in our restaurant you can enjoy not only delicious food but also a privileged environment. At Shogun will be attended with great taste and can taste this unknown food for most of us, they do not leave you indifferent. They discover all what it can offer you this fantastic cuisine; with its aromas, textures and flavors that will delight the most discerning of diners, thanks to our expert and professional chefs, highlighting the Master Mr. Hayashi and without forgetting the perfect presentation of all our dishes. Visit us and check a diet repeated very healthy insurance. . Featuring a variety of dishes that seduce you You will enjoy a privileged and magical atmosphere in complete harmony. Now have home service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL NO LONGER OWN IT TO OUR TRADEMARK SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 AND ARE IN appointment process QUIT . We apologize TO ALL CUSTOMERS WHO MENTIONED AND NOTICED CHANGES. Follow your instincts and eating to visit, experience a magical atmosphere, where you can enjoy casual Either a romantic dinner or with friends, family, coworkers, etc ... You simply Have to choose your company. The rest, leave it to us and you will be totally satisfied. We have two rooms with a large number of tables to Accommodate our customers and we are used to Organizing lunches / dinners for big groups. You can recreate your sight, watching our sushi masters, ITS Pure art! . Verify That in Shogun, the Slightest we care to detail, creating a distinctive environment Characterized That have us for many years. PLEASE NOTE THAT We Also have a Tatami room with capacity for 10-12 people. You can experience the Japanese cuisine in a more intimate way as the original and it is located in a separate room. We advise you to make your reservation before hand. Also You can organize your business meetings or corporate events. . We count with a range of services That will make your meals a success overall History: Shogun STI opened doors in March 1987, It was a pioneer in This Area Because During this time, it was not as fashionable as it is today. With over twenty years of courier, it has established Spanish Japanese cuisine on the map and to make a difference Continues in this ever growing field. Its founder and current Director is Mr. Sato, a multifaceted entrepreneur who after living in New York and Denmark, and to traveling around the world, fell in love with Mallorca and thought it would be the perfect place to launch His business. The building was designed by Japanese architect Dofu Ogawa (Belonging to the family), following to a similar structure to That of a Japanese castle. Also I Counted with the help of a carpenter who did everything Mallorcan under traditional Japanese designs. Initially the reception in the island Difficult Because here was one at that time People were not so "open" to new cultures, and of course, to new flavors. After almost 25 years we can say That info we have Achieved the main goal. To Make This special and unique cuisine to permanent settlement in the island Now we count with home deliver service: 971735748 WARNING: SHOGUN PORTIXOL DOES NOT BELONG TO OUR REGISTERED BRAND SHOGUN SINCE JUNE 2012 WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF FROM THEM AS SOON DISSOCIATING AS POSSIBLE. . WE APOLOGIZE TO OUR CLIENTS WHO HAVE MENTIONED AND NOTICED THE CHANGES To be better informed, profavor agregadnos here
Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another Fab Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

As always Food and Service were on point with this little Japanese Gem!!
The new additions to the xtensive Menu were a delight in a big group as we all could share and enjoy!
The Caramiso, Gyosa, maki tempurizado, sushi, okonomiyaki, self made stew and stake all tasted awesome to my group and I!!! What can I say everyone to their own...but we love this place!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geneva switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“the rice !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we were given 2 thick menu books (!) + 2 flyers .. TMI .. i had trouble figuring out what was on offer ..

one order arrived wrong, but was corrected immediately, the spicy tuna uramaki was plain tuna with a spicy sauce u dip it into .. the yakitori were ok, as was the miso soup .. however the sushi rice was awful .. too sticky and very crumbly .. the only good news was that the tamago (omelette) sushi were tasty .. but at €2,50 p.p. !! .. maybe in NYC but surely not in crisis struck spain !!

i asked for the dessert menu and a coffee which never arrived, so we left without ..

we came away with ~€45 for 2p. for 1 entrée, 22 pcs of sushi, 1 tea, 1 water, no wine, no dessert, no coffee .. oh yes, the tea pot .. why don't they just fill it to the top, instead of half full .. i don't appreciate what i call the "expensive hot water attitude" ..

too dear for what it was and the restaurant itself lacks charm ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengo S, Propietario at Restaurante Japones Shogun, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear customer.
Thank you for your time in writing to us. We apologize for your experience at our restaurant.
I assume you came for lunch? as the 2 thick books you mention are 1) The mid day menu book / where you have 5 options of menus from 12 Euros – 25 Euros, and 2 ) The a la carte menu. The 2 flyers? Are probably our new dishes which we are promoting at the moment. ( It may also have been the wine menu book..? )
Yes, the spicy tuna is a plain tuna uramaki roll ( has B&W sesame seeds.. ) and the spicy dipping sauce is apart becuase the majority of our customers asked us to do so. Im glad the yakitori & miso soup were ok. As for the rice, we take our sushi rice/ (shari ) very seriously as we consider it just as important as the quality in fish. You mention it as being too sticky and very crumbly? Normally if it was too sticky, it wouldnt crumble, but it all depends on peoples tastes and the pressure applied to the piece by the sushi man at given times. We apologize for this impression. Crisis struck spain or not, our sushi prices have not changed in over 15 years. Please have a look at how a hondashi tamago yaki ( omelette ) is made layer by layer and you will understand that the time invested in them is considerable.
Regarding not being attended for the dessert menu and coffee is unacceptable and your comment has been duly noted.
As for the teapot being half full with hot water, I dont know what to say, as we often allow free re-fills. If you would have mentioned it, Im sure there would have been no problem. ( We shouldnt fill it to the top beacuse the tea herbs in the tea pot net wouldnt taste as good. If it was a tea bag pot, we apologize and more water shall be added for sure )
All in all, we are very sorry for your impression of our restaurant and deeply apologize in the name of all our staff.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose the place because we love sushi and this restaurant had the best reviews on Tripadvisor but this time Tripadvisor was wrong.. We ordered a few different types of maki rolls and nigiris, all tasting equally terrible (too much rice + ridiculously little piece of filling). Even our favourite salmon nigiri was mushy and tasteless :( Really disappointing dinner, I wish we had chosen some other place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengo S, Propietario at Restaurante Japones Shogun, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear customer. We are very sorry to hear about your impressions at our place. Especially if you came recommended and with high expectations. We have organized stricter quality controls on everything and therefore it is very frusutrating to see such comments, but we will work harder to avoid this.
The salmon niguiri is also a personal favorite and what I order most to check the quality of Salmon. Therefore I apologize even more for letting this happen.
We are known for generous portions in everything from hot dishes to sushi where all the ingrediants, condiments and everything else is measured and memorized in order to always achieve the same taste and quality. The maki you mention as too much rice and little piece of filling might have been a futomaki ( fat maki in Japanese ) and the propotions would look like more rice and less fillings. If that wasnt the case, we deeply apologize and will look into it and correct anything that isnt our norm. We are very sorry for having disappointed you and hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in Mallorca.
Best regards
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Rip off tasteless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Worst meal of the holiday so far. Walked in and stood like lemons whilst waiting staff walked past us and ignored us. Not a good start. Service was slow and unfriendly all evening. To start we had a mixed plate if sashimi which was totally tasteless, never experienced that before. The edamame however were lovely. Then we both ordered seared Teryaki tuna with rice and vegetables. One arrived and we had to ask them for the other which arrived ten minutes later. This consisted of three over cooked lumps of tuna in a sickly sauce with a teaspoon full of rice. Terrible. The wine was v expensive. Our bill came to 84 euros, double what we paid for a nicer meal the night before. Absolute rip off and terrible food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kengo S, Propietario at Restaurante Japones Shogun, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for your time in writing to us. Good customer service and food is vital in our restaurant and what we are known for. Therefore we are terribly sorry for your unfortunate experience in our restaurant and for having spoilt a good evening of your holidays. I have personally looked into this and have been informed of the occurances, apart from having tried all the dishes you ordered with my chef`s supervision.
We deeply apologize for your impression of our staff being unattentive and unfriendly and for the error in miss placing an order of two same main dishes for one. We will take extra care in order to avoid such impressions and errors and will ask for a stronger supervision by the manager when he returns from his holidays.

As for the food :
We have over 90 different varieties of dishes ranging from starters that average approx 5,50 Euros and the Tuna Sashimi 30 Euros being the most expensive main dish.
I am glad to hear you liked the edamame 3,75 Euros, as it has been a recent adding to our menu after atlast having found a Japanese brand which is so difficult to find here.
The sushi ( Sashimi Mix 22 Euros / 23 pieces of tuna, salmon, saebass and gilthead fish ) which you mention as tasteless is one of our star dishes. The salmon and tuna arrived on the same morning and tasted fresh as we always try it and return anything thats not up to the standards back to our providers.
The Maguro Teriyaki 16 Euros ( 160-80 grams of tuna, sauteed soy bean sprouts / spinach / carrots and onions, and cup of rice ) might have been a bit overcooked as we have customers that prefer it that way. From now on, we have decided to ask our customers about their preferences for how cooked they want their tuna as we do with our meats. We thank you for this and apologize for not having asked. The sickly sauce you mention is a home made teriyaki sauce which consists of soy sauce, mirin, sugar and a few secret ingredients that we have been using for over 20 years.

In reference to the wine, we have over 25 different types ( They are all D.O. or Reserva ) from the cheapest being the Coto de Hayas ( D.O. Campo de Borja ) at 9 Euros and the most expensive being Viña Ardanza 2000 ( D.O. Rioja ) at 35 Euros.

We thank you for your construtive criticism where your observations have been well noted.
We deeply apologize for all the inconveniences and hope that you could have a better experience at our place if you were to repeat with us someday.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to Shogun because it was listed as the number one Japonese and it was as good as everyone said here. Great sushi and decent service and not expensive. The tuna was especially fresh and delicious. Atmosophere was also good and I recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Japones Shogun also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Japones Shogun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Japones Shogun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.