We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect intimate hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel UR Portofino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel UR Portofino to your Saves list
Hotel UR Portofino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trafalgar 24,, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect intimate hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I absolutely loved it, the hotel is modern and lovely, really close to the beach and right in between the city centre and the airport. It's quite a small hotel which is my preference and the surroundings are very relaxed but with a good range of restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, General Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Aneta,

Thank you very much for the time taken to share your experience at our hotel with all Tripadvisor travelers.

We're very happy you enjoyed our location and your stay and we hope to see you soon with us.
Regards from Mallorca

Katia Guixa
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    130
    52
    20
    6
See reviews for
37
165
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This bright hotel is minutes from Palma airport (€15 by taxi) and minutes (walking) from wonderful beaches, shops, restaurants and bars. The reception staff were welcoming, informative and helpful as well as speaking excellent English. The free fresh fruit is a nice touch. There is a lift but we used the stairs to our 2nd floor room. Quite small, overlooking the pool, but perfectly adequate - TV (not much UK though), fridge, A.C., hairdryer and strangely one dressing gown. Lovely breakfast served inside and outside on the terrace. Spotlessly clean everywhere, friendly staff and plenty of comfortable seating in and out. Free Daily Express delivered to reception was a nice touch. Quite a long walk into Palma city (about an hour) but very pretty along the sea-front. Alternatively a few minutes walk is the regular bus that takes ten minutes (although it can be very crowded).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Welly30,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with Tripadvisor travellers.

I was particulary proud of your staff comment, as this is what makes a hotel different from the next one. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you soon with us.

Regards from Mallorca

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights this week.It really is a great hotel (yes the rooms are small!).Very clean,modern and just across from the beach.There are lots of great eating places nearby (especially Sitar,Indians on main beachfront and the Fusion,Grill straight across from the hotel), as well as local coffeee shops.The prices in the hotel are not cheap and so would recommend the other bars nearby.We ate there only once for lunch one day as we were sunbathing,the food was just ok.There is a mini bar in each room. The day we checked out we had the room until 1pm and they stored the cases for us.All in all ,a great place and would definately recommend it,will return for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear MaryAC,

Thank you very much for the time you spent sharing your experience at our hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel as well as the facilities around us, and we hope to see you soon with us.

Regards

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this hotel as a Top Secret Hotel for a 4-night break so didn't know where we were staying until we got our booking confirmation. The receptionist welcomed us by name, which was a nice touch, as was the courtesy call just after we'd got to our room to check that everything was ok. We were in the block away from the Reception building and had a side sea view from the balcony (room 214). As everyone else has said, the rooms are small, with just the one socket (it's behind the bedside drawers if you're looking for it!) and no shelves in the bathroom, but it was fine for what we needed. There's a fridge and a safe in the room that you can use for free.

For a 4-star hotel, there were a couple of things that could be improved - there was only 1 bathrobe in the room, even though there were 2 of us; the shower gel wasn't refilled during our stay; the dirty glasses weren't changed for clean ones and I came across bottle tops from previous holidaymakers when I was hunting for the plug. Am sure that if we'd mentioned any of these things the receptionists would have sorted them, but I don't think that these things should be things you have to ask about when you're in a 4 star hotel.

The location is great - only a few steps from the beach, which is full of locals enjoying the sun and sand (and even better because no-one tries to sell you anything or hassle you at all). For a refundable €20 deposit you can borrow a beach towel from Reception. If you fancy a post-beach drink, head to the little bar just up the side road from the supermarket - it doesn't look much or have a great view, but it served the best, coldest, biggest gin and tonics for under €5.

You can walk along the promenade and be in the centre of Palma within 45 minutes, so perfect if you want to explore the sights but then get away from the city centre/main tourist traps in the evening. There are some lovely restaurants if you walk along the prom to El Molinar, again all filled with locals and serving good value food and real drinks! We were out in El Molinar on Saturday night and the atmosphere was fantastic - lots of Spanish people, trendy but unpretentious vibe, you feel that you're experiencing a bit of the real, modern Majorca.

We had breakfast in the hotel one morning (€12 per person), but there are cafes on the beachfront in you want to go out. We ate in the hotel one evening - the portions were huge, but the quality wasn't what we expected for the price. Beware - the €21 'half-board' price in the room info is actually only the price to upgrade your B&B to HB - the actual cost if you're on a room only basis is €33 per person, which was a nasty shock when we checked out, considering the low quality and we didn't have time to argue because we had to get to the airport. My tip is to enjoy the local restaurants and eat out every night!

Easy access to and from the airport and a good base to explore the north and west coasts of Majorca. We hired a car with Goldcar - they might be the cheapest, but they also had the longest queue at the airport and we waited nearly an hour. If there are 2 of you, one of you should join the car hire queue while the other goes to collect your cases to try and reduce the waiting time.

All in all, a nice base for a short break, the best part being in a local area away from the tourists!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have big terraces but no privacy! Ask for a room on a higher floor if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Manchester guest,

We do apreciate very much you spent time sharing your experience at our hotel with all the travelers, any tip is a good tip.
We are sorry to hear your room was not spotless upon check in as it is our priority and we take pride in the cleaniness of our rooms.

Nevertheless we're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you soon with us.

Regards

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After having read some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive about the hotel. We had booked for 5 nights, as we were coming to Palma for a friend’s wedding. The rooms are TINY – I struggled to get my suitcase round the bed (but it was a pretty big suitcase)! That said – the rooms were spotlessly clean and it had all the amenities that we required. With the exception of one… there was only 1 socket in the room… and we had to search for it! With 2 phones, a hairdryer, straighteners, iPad and a camera… this made things a little difficult – but by no means impossible! The staff were really friendly and I think that you are so close to the beach and far enough away from Palma – that this is a great wee hotel. If I have another short-stay in Palma, I’d stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Glasgow guest,


We're soo glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, next time you can request an extra plug at the desk and we will be happy to provide it, we know how many gadgets our guests travel with... thanks for your comments,
and we hope to see you soon with us.

Regards

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was clapping myself on the back for picking this hotel from the Internet but after reading about 100 reviews on TA, the only complaint really was the size of rooms, given that this is Spain - room size is always a problem, however, the room I had was perfectly adequate. The hotel is situated right near the beach about 10 steps, and its lovely, the sea view and the breeze definintely make it, the staff are very friendly, helpful, the girl at reception helped me out with bus information and had great english. There is just one tiny problem, that people might find as its only 2km from the airport, its on the flight path, I had the window closed and never heard much noise, but people might be put off, personally I wasn't you get used the sounds of the planes. There is a pool too which you can relax by or flop into, its a great location as well with lots of bars and restaurants nearby. It was very reasonable as well - I will definitely be making a trip back to the Portofino. Thanks everyone for all your help.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a sea view, I did and got it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words.
We appreciate very much the time you took sharing your stay at UR Portofino with all Tripadvisor travelers.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we cant wait to see you soon with us.
Regards

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Fantastic little hotel where the staff go above and beyond to make you feel valued and special! We would definitely return.

Right by the beach and in amongst lots of great restaurants. Rooms are comfortable and always clean, the pool is a good size and the reataurant is also very good.

Thank you Dusan and Juan Francisco for looking after us we had an excellent holiday :)

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyka j, Manager at Hotel UR Portofino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Ashton,

Thank you very much for the time you spent sharing your experience at our hotel with all Tripadvisor travelers.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you soon with us. Juan Fran, Dusan and the rest of the team we send you our love.

Regards from Mallorca

Katia Guixa
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel UR Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UR Portofino

Address: Trafalgar 24,, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel UR Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UR Portofino**** The UR Portofino Hotel is situated in the area of Ciudad Jardin, one of the closest beaches to the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its strategic location near the airport and few minutes away from the city, make it a perfect combination of functionality and comfort. The Bay of Palma is famous for the practice of aquatic sports such as windsurfing, stand up paddle, kayaking, sailing, etc.. Around the hotel, you can rent the necessary equipment for the practice of them. A total of 70 rooms make up this beautiful and comfortable hotel, which has been decorated in a pure contemporary style. An exterior swimming pool as well as free wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a free safety deposit box in the room are also some of the services available. The Restaurant UR Portofino is located inside the hotel. Which offers a wide choice of seasonal Mediterranean cuisine, open to the public, with a separate entrance from the main street. It has its own bar with an outside terrace overlooking the swimming pool and offers guests the chance to enjoy a drink on the terrace at the sunset. The hotel UR Portofino is only a few metres away from the nearest beach and the sea promenade which starts at the yacht club in the city and stretches all the way to Playa the Palma, passing by the Cathedral, and the areas of el Portixol, Molinar, Ciudad Jardin, Can Pastilla and el Arenal. One can take a relaxing long walk, skate or cycle along the promenade or simply sit down by the sea and enjoy the breathtaking views. Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel UR Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ur Portofino Urban Sea
Hotel UR Portofino Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel UR Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.