We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UR Portofino Hotel

Save Saved
You added UR Portofino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
UR Portofino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Trafalgar 24, | Playa Ciudad Jardin, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June 2013. The hotel is new and modern. A lovely reception and lounge area, with a bar and restaurant. We had a room overlooking the sea. The balconies were a bit narrow and only had two chairs and no table, but with such a short walk to the beach we spent most of our time there anyway.

Our room was not big, but it was more than ok. Huge beds. The room was very clean and modern. The bathroom was clean and nice, but the construction of the shower area left a lot of water on our bathroom floor. We were given an extra towel, obviously to help with the excess water, but most of the time our bathroom floor ended up rather wet and slippery. We did our best to keep the water in the shower, but were always left with a big pool of it on the floor.

Other than the wet bathroom floor, we really enjoyed our stay. This is a perfect little hotel, situated a little outside Palma centre. A very short drive from the airport (you hear a lot of planes coming and going, but this didn't bother us at all), and 100 meters from the beach, The neighbourhood is cozy and the beach was visited by more local people than tourists, which we found very nice.

There's is a bus stop a short walk from the hotel. It takes about 15 minutes to reach Palma centrum. There is also a farmacist, a supermarkat, a spa and lot's of nice restaurants really close to the hotel. We went in to Palma a couple of times, but we couldn't wait to get back to our quiet hotel and beach.

We loved our week here and we will definitely be staying here again if we ever return to Palma.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to express my gratitude to you for being courteous enough to write the kind comments about your stay in the Hotel UR Portofino.

Likewise, I would like to thank you, on behalf of the employees of the Hotel and myself, all your kind comments and suggestions, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients.

Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    114
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
24
121
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to this good value hotel and enjoyed our stay as usual.The staff (especially Sonia in reception )are all very plesant and willing to help.Rooms are not the biggest but adequate for sleeping in.If possible book a room with a balcony (room 215 is reccomended).The only dissapoinment on this last visit is that the catering has changed hands and the pizza chef has now gone(they were the best pizzas in Palma) but don't let it put you off this hotel as there are many excelent eateries within a short walk and if you walk to Portixol many more.Thank you again Sonia for helping with our extra 4 day holiday(we missed our flight and were accomodated with no fuss )all done with a lovely smile

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear clients,

Thank you very much and we really appreciate your comments and I will share your information with my team. I will transmit your comments to Sonia

Sunny regards from mallorca

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We chose UR Portofino because judging from the photo's many of the more affordable hotels were tackily furnished. The hotel was very nice-looking and the staff were friendly. Our room was clean and we had a wonderful private roof-terrace. The room was pleasantly quiet and the swimming pool was lovely. Location excellent, you're at the beach (and one of the nicest beaches in the city by comparison!) in less than 100 meters walking distance.

Downsides were that the room was really small (you could only just walk around the bed) and that there was a constant hum in the room coming from the electricity-cabinet. Also the wifi barely worked in our room. Another downside was that even though the hotel was already quite costly, so were all the extra's. Breakfast was at 11 euro's per person per day. A glass of wine from the bar cost 3 euro's. No coffee- and tea-making set in the room. Also it was a bit far away from the center: about an hours walk. Or 1,50 and fifteen minutes by bus.Parking in the city center is near impossible.

All in all it was a nice enough hotel but overpriced for what you're getting. But in comparison to other Mallorcan hotels: good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Buenas tardes!!

Thank you for your comments and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the UR Portofino.

If you plan your next trip to Mallorca, we like to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May. As we were on a short break (4 nights) we wanted somewhere not too far from Palma and the airport. The hotel is close enough to Palma, a short bus ride, 20 minutes by bike or about an hours walk, but has the advantage of being by the beach so you get the best of both worlds. Portixol is about 15-20 minutes' walk away and is well worth a visit as it has some lovely bars and restaurants.
We are regular visitors to Majorca (see other reviews) but it was our first stay at the Portofino. We were met at check in by Davinia who was extremely helpful and friendly and helped my husband practice his ever improving Spanish! We were also introduced to the Manager who informed us where his office was and that we should contact him if we had any problems. Luckily we had no need to as there were no problems with our stay but it was a nice gesture.
We had upgraded to a sea view room and the view was spectacular (even from the bathroom). However, the room was on the small side and although this was ok for a short stay we may have struggled if staying any longer. Having said that the room was clean and the hotel have tried to equip the rooms really well and we had a safe, fridge, TV and even a pillow menu. The bathroom was also very small and only had a shower, no bath. Not a problem for us but some may prefer a bath.
We ate in the hotel one night and this was fine. Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice. We had drinks in the bar each evening and found these to be reasonably priced 2.50 euro for a decent sized glass of wine.
We hired a car and found no problems parking for free near the hotel, plenty of spaces. The hotel is close to a cycle path which leads all the way into Palma and bikes can be hired at the UR Azul Playa hotel a short walk away. Davinia on reception sorted this for us on the day although there were a limited number of bikes so it may be advisable to pre book to guarantee availability.
All in all we had yet another great stay in Majorca. This hotel was exceptional value for money and we would definitely recommend it for a short break. We loved this area close to Palma and would definitely consider staying here in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good evenning UK,

Muchas gracias for your comments and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the UR Portofino.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you. I will transmit your comments to all the team and especially to Davinia from the reception.

If you plan your next trip to Mallorca, we like to welcome you again.

Kind regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Decided to visit the hotel for the third time on a bed and breakfast 14 day holiday , mainly for value plus its proximity to the wonderful beach, local shops and many eating places, 3 kms to palma so easy to walk, lovely resort and plus close to airport, the walking and cycling facilities are excellent, one thing has changed the the hotel, they now run the dining facility direct, which started end of April, the quality and choices were poor, after pleasant discusion with the staff and manger, improvements were ten fold the day after our complaint, overall a big improvement now employing there very own employees attending to the breakfast lunch and evening meals, having said that we only had one evening meal of pasta and a pizza, prices very reasonable, could with increasing menu choices , a couple of late drinks, could do with improving the room cleaning by using vacum to clean the bedroom the carpets, based on this
trip we will use the hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Roger,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback and for sharing with us your impressions on our Hotel UR Portofino.

It has been a pleasure to have you at the hotel again.

Please give, on behalf of the whole team, our sincerest thanks and looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours faithfully

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 3 days here at the end of April 2013.

The location was very close to the beach, as well as to the Europa Original restaurant just a few steps away from the front door, where the food was of a very high quality.

There is a good bus service to the City centre for just €1.50, although it is busy and you may have to stand. A taxi is about €12.00.

The staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful.

The room was basic but adequate, after all, you only sleep and get washed in it.

We would stay again!!

Room Tip: Good base for exploring Palma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good afternoon ,

Muchas gracias for your comments and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the UR Portofino.

I hope you can experience our restaurant next time.

If you plan your next trip to Mallorca, we like to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the moment we walked into this hotel felt like a home from home. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming, especially Davinia on Reception who is fantastic. The hotel is bright and modern and ideal for families, couples, solos. The rooms weren't the biggest but were clean and bright and well appointed and the many positive aspects of the hotel more than made up for that. Breakfast selection was good and nice quality. The hotel is about a 25 minute bus ride from the centre of Palma (or about 1.5 hr stroll along the beach front) and it's proximity to the beach is one of it's attractions. It is fantastic value for money and we will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URPortofino, Gerente at UR Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much, we really appreciate your comments and that you spend the time to give us your feedback. On behalve of the whole team we would like to say " Muchas Gracias".

We hope to welcome you soon again and sending you sunny regards from Mallorca

With kind Regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UR Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Portofino Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Ur Portofino Urban Sea
UR Portofino Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Address: Carrer de Trafalgar 24, | Playa Ciudad Jardin, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Portofino Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your UR Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UR Portofino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.