We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are very friendly and helpful...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Industria 10, 7013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Santa Catalina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The staff are very friendly and helpful...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious, up to date and very clean. There is underground parking but you do pay €8 a day for the privilege and don't take a big car as access is quite tight! Although stated that Wi-Fi was available in "some parts" of the hotel, we were unable to find where these areas were! Breakfast was satisfactory but there are local cafes which are at least as good and a faur bit cheaper. Overall however a very good hotel with only a few minor niggles.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    71
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
87
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just to confirm other reviews the Hotel and staff could not be faulted. Just a stroll to the front and a little further to the old town.

You do not have to wander far from the hotel to find superb restaurants that are a fraction of those in more trendy locations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

4* and completely corresponds to it! Also a very good value for money.

It is not a large hotel, but has a restaurant and the bar was working pretty much all the time when we needed it.

Spacious, furnished with taste rooms. What could be improved is to introduce key cards for the room, at the time we've been they had normal keys, so we left them at the reception when going out.

Location is in the city centre, i.e. easy to walk anywhere by foot. The street that passes under it is a bit noisy.
We used also the hotel garage to keep our car, and that was one a block away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I booked the Continental from theTrip Advisor reviews and also because we wanted a hotel as close to the centre of Palma as possible. Some of the central Boutique Hotels seemed very expensive and I could see from the map that this hotel was walking distance. We like walking but even if you don't it is really a short walk to the nice shopping areas, cafes and restaurants and the buses run from a stop opposite.

This hotel is a city hotel, no pool or particular views although our room did have some views to the front and side, and as previously mentioned a bit noisy to the front, although it isn't on a particularly main road, the traffic noise didn't bother us. It is a very convenient location, the bus to Illetes, where there are two small beaches goes from just across the road and goes into the centre, we also walked from the hotel to the train station to go to Soller for the day.

The room was imaculately clean, nice bathroom and the lady on reception spoke perfect English and was very friendly. The day we left they let us store our bags in a locked room for the whole day after we had checked out and even offered us a shower when we returned to get a cab to the airport.

This isn't a trendy boutique hotel, but it is traditional, friendly and very clean and situated in a good position for sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

was very impressed with this hotel .It is a little bit away from the main stretch but not too far . The rooms are lovely size and immaculate and the free mini bar is great (soft drinks). staff are ok thought they would have been a bit more friendlier to be honest .Breakfast is ok nothing special but plenty of choice . overall its a great hotel and very reasonable too .

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Booked this hotel based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews and thought it was terrific. The staff was wonderful and helpful and friendly, and the room was lovely and comfortable. The only weird thing was a strange buzzing in the wall on the last night of our three night stay, it sounded as if a fan was starting to go in the HVAC system, but since it was so late and it was our last night we just put our earplugs in and went to sleep. I had also read in other reviews that street noise a consideration, and it is, but it wasn't overly disruptive. The hotel is central and all of the Old City of Palma can easily be reached on foot. Note that internet was available but for a small fee, which I found reasonable given the relative low price of the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The rooms are very nice and are furnished in a "traditional" style. The bathroom was very spacious and modern. Their cleaning staff does a wonderful job -- our room was immaculate. There was no view from our room -- It overlooked the atrium roof and surrounding buildings. But we didn't care since we spent until dark each evening sightseeing and dining.

It was a quiet location and in our room, we heard no street or traffic noise.

We ate breakfast in their restaurant one morning and the breakfast buffet is very good.

There was only one negative. They have no "double" beds (queen or king in the US). Only twin beds. The mattresses are quite good, but if you are tall like my husband, a twin bed isn't long enough to be truly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Calle Industria 10, 7013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Continental Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.