We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Industria 10, 7013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Santa Catalina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous in appearance and it's a short walk from the river, it is worth the walk. It has parking underground at an extra charge (€8 per day in May 2013), the receptionists are multi-lingual and very helpful. They do arrange some excursions if you need them but we had a hire car and ventured around the island ourselves.

We ate in the restaurant only one evening because there are so many restaurants to choose from in Palma. The restaurant was quiet however the menu was varied and the food very nice.

The rooms are spacious and good enough for a week's stay. It did have a hair dryer in the room which was not mentioned on their website. Being a Brit, I missed no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our room had a fridge in it. If you paid for B&B the items in the fridge were complimentary, if you paid for room only, the items were chargeable. There was enough room in the fridge to keep a few of our own purchased items. The air conditioning the room was very effective.

Noise does tend to carry from the corridors into the room and we did have a particularly noisy neighbour on our last night which was a mum and child. The mum didn't know how to keep her voice down so as I say on hotel reviews, just remember there are others around when you decide to let your child run up and down the corridor or have loud conversation whilst walking past everyone's rooms... a little consideration can make any hotel more pleasant!

That said, we would definitely stay at Hotel Continental again when visiting Mallorca. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: We asked for one at the back of the hotel and at the top, based on earlier reviews of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    88
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
106
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a lovely hotel for a city break, situated within a walkable distance from the main attractions of Palma but quiet enough for a good sleep! The hotel itself doesnt have many rooms which makes it all the more attractive. The lounges and bar area are beautifully spacious and beautifully decorated with inlaid marble floors and antique furniture. Staff are so helpful. Rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast was a buffet with tasty savouries and lovely pastries. An excellent find - would go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed there August 2012, This hotel is lovely, has a fantastic location, within walking distance of main attractions, and tucked away on a quiet street away from the crowds, rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms which was nice. Staff are friendly and very helpful. This hotel is quiet and the bar is often empty due to its odd location, which is downstairs from the lobby, but the bartender is (Jose, I think) was kind and helpful, always went out of his way to make sure everything was ok, if I needed anything he was always eager to help with recommendations. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. Great value!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a better view, hotel has only 3 floors so the 3rd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

as per review of jaime 111, this was only a one night stay, due to our room being flooded.
all staff, including housekeeping, we encountered were very friendly, and the hotel was very grand and clean throughout. breakfast was better, choice wise, and also more relaxed than at jaime 111. i'd also give this hotel 4.5, but slightly less than our hotel of choice, maybe 4.2, as it it seemed to be lacking any vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Type of hotel: Very good for tourists; good for business/meetings
Location: Close to the heart of the city. Close by a street full of restaurants and cafés.
Room: Quite big; very clean; no feather pillow; aircondition good.
Breakfast: For Spain a big variety; fresh!
Stuff: Always very friendly and helpful.
Extra Tip: Do not miss to ask them to deliever that Majorcan cake (mid size about 10,-€) to the hotel. A bakery near by does this service and this guarantees fresh cake for your family at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

For the price, the hotel was excellent value. The room we had was large - with a gigantic bathroom - spotless, and located a pleasant 5 minutes walk to both the heart of the city and the port. Service was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

chose to stay here for 10 days in august
location is far better than the other hotels on the strip that run along passeig martim
these hotels are large, tired looking and a good mile or two out if the town
the continental is in a safe side street just of av majorca and a 5 minute walk to all the shops and old town
there is a bus stop right outside ( the main bus terminus at placa espagne is a 20 min walk away where you can get buses trains and the soller train to all parts of the island)
the staff is excellent especially the young man on reception who works mornings and the lady receptionist on afternoons.
the rooms are large and very clean, with hairdrier tv bath shower bidet fridge etc
breakfast is plentiful
the hotel is quiet and calm and very well cared for
it is suited for couples but not for large rowdy crowds
i cant wait to return and would recommend staying here to anyone

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Calle Industria 10, 7013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Continental Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.