We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I really like Miro but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca

Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca
Saridakis, 29, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
34 971 701420
Improve this listing
Type: Art Galleries
Attraction Details
Tunbridge Wells UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not sure I really like Miro but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We thought the exhibition itself was rather mixed but he space, light and layout of the site were outstanding, The access to Miro's studio was particularly interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A MUSTvisit for art lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's been 3 years since our last visit and it was every bit as moving as the first time. My husband and I were thrilled to return to Foundation in Mallorca, this time with with our teenage boys. We are huge fans of Miro's work and have had the opportunity to see it in a number of museums and settings (including the Maeght Foundation-- fantastic display of hid outdoor sculpture). This particular venue; however, provides the opportunity to better understand who the artist is, and get a greater sense of the progression of his art. Seeing the studio and all the work displayed was in one room was fantastic . The four of us stood at the designated opening of the studio, looking at the 30-35 paintings in awe; not knowing where to look first. I only wish we could have viewed the paintings from a closer vantage point. There is also a number a benches throughout that provide an opportunity to sit and enjoy the lovely grounds and view of the sea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Artist's studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I hadn't realised the breadth and depth of Miro's work. The museum is excellent with commentaries in English as well as Spanish. The studio space is lovely and the cafe does drinks and light snacks. Not easy to find, but worth the effort. The 46 bus goes past it, or there is a small car park opposite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“For Miro fans only.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I spent a pleasant hour at the Miro Foundation, although it was a bit of a trek from the centre of Palma!
It was good to stand where the great man stood and explore his working environment. The architecture was impressive too.
However, I found the quality of work on show disappointing. Many of the pictures on display were maquettes, work in progress or mere sketches. I'm not sure that Miro would have considered most the work on show to be of sufficient quality to be framed and displayed. I saw his best work at the recent Tate Modern show and, frankly, much of the work at the Foundation was poor in comparison.
If you have only a passing interest in modern art, I'd suggest you avoid this place and visit the Juan March museum instead. It's centrally located and features a small, but interesting, collection of contemporary Spanish art.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of colours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Interesting art institution outside Centra of Palma.
A bit difficult to find but beatifully situated with a fantastisc view of the sea.
Many wonderful coulorful paintings done by Miro.
I loved it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pilar and Joan Miro Foundation in Mallorca to your Saves list