We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Placa Major” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Placa Major

Placa Major
07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (La Llotja-Born)
Improve this listing
Attraction details
none
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Placa Major”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

What once was a lovely square ruined by people posing as statues every few metres especially when the cruise ships in town. If you are not on a cruise try and avoid central Palma on the days and times they disgorge thousands to wander through the centre.
Check the prices carefully on the cafes around the square, go off the main pedestrian north south route for better deals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    131
    127
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southeast ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice place to take a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Always worth a visit somewhere to take a break while walking the city.Full of cafe's so a stop for pizza is a must for us.Must say the street entertainers coming to your table one after the other is very annoying so sometimes we eat inside.note there is an extra charge for eating out on the terrace

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“God fun to see, to walk through,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great to stop and have a cup of coffee, and decide where else you will go while exploring the general area. Lots of Mimes to entertain, not far from the great market of L'Olivar, nor from all the surrounding shopping areas!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,744 reviews 1,744 reviews
1,403 attraction reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
781 helpful votes 781 helpful votes
“Great place for a stroll, everything is nice here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

You get there just walking through the streets of the old town, so as I did, and it was a pleasant surprise, the Plaza itself is pretty big, full of cafes and restaurants.
I've been here over the weekend and the place was swarming with people, very crowded, and I really liked all this, I felt the true Spanish atmosphere.
One hour for a walk around here, a coffee and some pictures I think it's more than enough.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely area to sit and people watch and relax. After busy morning looking around Palma. We enjoyed looking around Palma.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Placa Major also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Placa Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Placa Major, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.