We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location in Palma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tres to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Pangbourne, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The perfect location in Palma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Tres for 3 nights prior to getting the train to Soller for the rest of our holiday. You can't get a better location in Palma as it right by the cathedral of which you have a wonderful view of from their roof terraces. Our room was fantastic as we were very fortunate to get upgraded to their suite, which provided us with our own roof terrace with hot tub and we loved it. The local bars and cafes are great, as is the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    63
    9
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
153
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Palma - the secret gem of majorca -who would have thought that not too far from the santa ponsas and magallufs you would find such a beautiful and compact city. I have fallen for Palma - it is the ultimate city break - sun, culture, fab food, wine, great nightlife and sophisticated and unlike Rome etc you don't feel too guilty for actually lying out in the sun instead of working your way round all the tourist attractions.
Palma has a gorgeous cathedral and old town which is where we were based at the stunning Hotel Tres. The hotel is the ultimate in minimalist chich, the bedrooms and bathrooms are 5 star (though flat screen tv could be bigger - minor fault!). the roof top pool is gorgeous and so peaceful with fab views across to the nearby cathedral. Breakfast is lovely with cava and smoked salmon should you wish and it is also very nice for lunch. I cannot fault the hotel at all - stunning stunning stunning but if i was being picky then i think that to charge 3 euro to bring drinks up to pool deck is a bit steep (and doesn't really encourage people to drink from he bar?) but to be honest not much in palma comes cheap so go with the flow.
Eating out - recommend Forn - fab steaks and mohitos. And as everyone says Abaco for cocktails -15 euro a drink but go for the houSe cocktail which is the size of a goldfish bowl and you will get your monies worth - Fri night petals a bit cheesey but a right of passage! All i can say is if you are booking to go i am v jealous...enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Just off the equivalent of London's Regent Street and a 20 Euro taxt from the airport; the location is great for those who want a city break that includes designer shopping, winding streets full of smaller interesting shops mixed in with history and a sea view from the roof top terrace - which gives you an excellent view of the cathedral close by. You'll need to travel to get to a decent beach by car or

The room was big enough for two, if a little on the small side. Stylish if a little minimal. You might need to ask for more clothes hangers as there were only 5 for two of us.

Service in the hotel was friendly if sometimes a little slow in the bar. We had lunch at the hotel a couple of times and the food was reasonable but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was a standard buffet, the hard eggs were a little disappointing but filled a space - the coffee was rocket fuel. The reception staff were helpful when it came to checking the restaurants we'd chosen were ok and the ones they recommended were all good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back for a long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I don't know where to start, as everything from arriving to leaving was as good as it gets.
Hotel Tres is part of the Small Luxury Hotels chain, and is located right in the heart of Palma's Old City - just a few seconds walk from the cathedral.

The service was impeccable - always in good mood, forthcoming, service minded with a yes-we-can attitude. If there is one thing I would rate below excellent it must have been the breakfast...somewhat boring, with scrambled eggs not really tasting good....along with the bacon that was way too dry...

The rooftop terrace with the "pool" looked really appealing, but it was just too hot when we arrived to even consider using it... :)

But all in all, what a perfect stay, and what a perfect ending to a perfect holiday in Mallorca that started in Port de Soller, and ended up with two days of shopping, sightseeing and photographing.... I would LOVE to come back to hotel Tres, and I will do also, perhaps early spring or late autumn :)

My favorite person at Tres was the really nice lady from Tønsberg, Norway - imagine what hotels around the world would have been with such service oriented employees!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

What a fantastic hotel, the rooms are lovely and a number of different style, shapes sizes. air con is very good, important in july august. The food at the hotel is very good.The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very relaxed and chilled, the decor is contemporary and the staff are so helpful and polite. The view from the roof top terrace/pool is great, Breakfast is taken buffet style and can be eaten in the lovely courtyard at the centre of the hotel.. Hotel is also perfectly situated for sight seeing. All round top marks

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We were a group of nine girls (mid-thirties) staying at Hotel Tres 3 nights in June 2009. The staff helped us out even before we arrived with dinner reservations etc. and they were really fast in answering e-mails! At arrival the welcoming was very friendly, and all requests were answered promptly and they tried their best to help us out with whatever we needed during our stay.

Our superior rooms were spacious and nicely designed, the air-condition system worked almost a little too well (the room, especially the floors, were ice cold, but anyway a welcoming change from the burning hot weather outside). The bathrooms were perfect to share for three, but you cannot be shy as the loo is only separated from the rest of the room by a frosted glass door that does not entirely cover the door opening. I only have one complain about the room – the extra bed was not at all suitable for grown-ups. I am 1.75 cm and my feet were way outside the bed, thankfully I could use two of the pillows from the main bed to extend the length.

The breakfast is absolutely delicious, and perfect to enjoy outside in the patio. There are a lot of small rooftop terraces everywhere, but we mostly met up at the one with the tiny pool. Perfect for enjoying drinks and to take a quick bath to cool off, but do not expect to take your morning laps there – it is too small for swimming.

The hotel is not as busy and happening as Puro Hotel, but why would you want to stay in the middle of the noise when you can party all night and then retreat to a heavenly oasis right in the centre of town?

All in all, this is added to the list as one of my favourite hotels; I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to Palma! And you should. Hasta la vista, baby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

The Hotel Tres is perfectly located if you are looking for a city break to Palma. The hotel is in the old part of the down and is literally steps away from loads of places to eat and drink.

The hotel itself is set around a quiet courtyard with all the rooms looking down on it. Our room was one of the cheaper rooms and was decorated really simply but nicely. The only problem with the room was that you could occassionally hear some noise in the corridoor, but to be fair it didn't bother us too much. One thing worth noting when choosing your room is not to choose one with a balcony as they are all hugely overlooked and not remotely private.

One of the upsides to the hotel was the roof garden and plunge pool in the new building. It was done very well and was perfect for catching a few rays after a day of sightseeing. You wouldn't want to use it for more than that as the pool is literally a plunge pool. We did find that occassionally the loungers were reserved and people didn't show up for over an hour......that aisde it was a great feature of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres

Address: Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tres 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Tres Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.