We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good hotel in central Old Palma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tres to your Saves list
Hotel Tres
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A really good hotel in central Old Palma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely boutique style hotel, excellent staff, superb breakfast and lovely courtyard for relaxing.

Very convenient central location surrounded by restaurants and close to the marina and cathedral.

Just be aware that it adjoins Abaco the famous cocktail bar and so there is some noise until quite late, this did not worry us and was only voices and background music.

We would certainly stay again when in Palma.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony/terrace. There is however ample space to relax in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    72
    11
    11
    11
See reviews for
21
169
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel lived up to its reviews.

Great location within walking distance of all the main attractions of the old town.
The hotel is located in a very narrow side street and it looks like you could touch the buildings opposite. Don’t be put off by the narrow street as at night there is lots of very good bars and restaurants all within a stones throw offering many different types of cuisine.
Our room overlooked the street and we had no problem with noise at all. The room was very clean and well equipped with all you could need during your stay. A very comfortable 5ft bed, plenty of hot water and towels.
The staff very attentive, cheerful and helpful. Good choice of a buffet breakfast with some hot options.
Would stay here again great for a city break ,shopping, sightseeing and the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is an expensive hotel but the location and the service warrants it. Don't be put off by a person below who said about it's in a dirty street - it's narrow, yes, but it's right in front of La Seu and can't really beat it. Noise level - yes, it's on the street but don't you travel with earplugs anyways? Given the strong and early sunshine, I highly appreciated the excellent black-out curtains. What I loved was the excellent view of the top bit of La Seu that can be viewed from the top floor of the more modern side of the hotel buildings. I was worried about being in the more 'traditional' side of the buildings, no problem, it had good character, actually! Everything is pristine, excellent bathroom and storage space. I had reception's help to arrange excursion, they were very helpful. Fantastic welcome drink - ask the bar to make you a fresh Sangria, it was one of the best I've had outside the mainland Spain. Breakfast - enough choices so no problem there.

Bad - in my room at least, the tv controller was finicky, wish there was a guide to what is what channel just to make it easier to find an English-speaking channel (there was only Sky News, it turns out). If you're looking for a pool, you'll be disappointed, it's small - but I don't see why you wouldn't just visit a nearby picturesque beach. The cost - mine was on a deal but I still found it expensive. Apparently one of the Small Hotels of the World group hence the price range but hm...my thought was, oh well, the other ones are even more expensive! Overall, no regrets due to very good service, breakfast, room quality, and location.

Room Tip: Traditional building side rather than the newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

on arriving to the hotel the welcome of the reception was cold and unfriendly and it was just a cold smile. I had read so much about good location that when i arrived i was disappointed because the hotel situation is in on an old dirty noisy back street of palma.the view to the suroundings is also poor and it sees the old but nothing elegant houses in ruin.

The breakfast was also of not good value and there was not many things for choice and two times the juice was finished and two times i had to ask the girl waitress to put more.

The room is noisy because at night you can here everybody going to their rooms and the walls are thin and you here everything from the people next to your room.

The little pool very very small and and the day before we had winds and the next day it was dirty and it wasnot cleaned.

i would have rated hotel better if the price was more in reason with what you receive and for 4 stars it was not good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svenn R, General Manager at Hotel Tres, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at Hotel Tres.
I was extremely concerned to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I trust that you will allow us the opportunity in the future to showcase to you the great choice of accommodation we are able to offer. I am also very interested in getting in contact with you regarding your view of houses in ruins. I did not know that there were any rooms with view to a house in ruins
I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Tres, please contact me directly prior to your next stay and allow me to personally look after your arrangements for you.
Yours Sincerely,
Svenn Rudow
svenn.rudow@hoteltres.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've just returned from a three night stay at Hotel Tres with my mum and was VERY impressed. Not only is the hotel gorgeous but its central location and helpful staff are guaranteed to make your holiday extra special.
The rooms are spacious, clean and modern with lovely little touches such as a sewing box, comb and shoe horn in the drawer under the mirror and an iPod charger.
The breakfast offers a wide selection of breads, meats, fruits and a hot counter with bacon, sausages, eggs. My mum is coeliac and they catered for her wonderfully with gluten-free bread, crackers and muffins - I'd recommend letting staff know in advance if you have certain dietary requirements as they are more than happy to help.
The staff are so happy and welcoming - the customer service is of a very high standard and the best I have ever come across in a hotel.
There's a lovely rooftop terrace to sunbathe on with a pool (not one for swimming but perfect for a little dip with a fantastic view of the city.) If you're feeling peckish, you can call down to the bar and order a salad or sandwich and a staff member will bring it up to you - great service.
The hotel has recently had a new gym installed - I'm not a gym-goer but from a spectator's point of view it looked great!
All in all we had an absolutely fantastic time at Tres and will certainly be returning and recommending to friends. Thank you x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable stay in the Tres. The staff are very friendly and unobtrusive . Our room overlooked the central courtyard and we would recommend paying a little extra to have a balcony! The standard of finish in the rooms is simple but tasteful.The breakfast choice is super and we also enjoyed a few snacks. The hotel roof terrace is a great way to relax for a few hours in the afternoon with beautiful views of the city rooftops, cathedral and the harbour. If you enjoy the gym on hols. it has a new well finished gym and shower area. It is in a great central location , close to many bars, restaurants and shops.
We hope this is our first of many visits to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here a weekend in September 2012, and it was our first visit to Palma. We will stay at Hotel Tres again for sure for our next trip to Palma. Perfect location in the middle of the charming old town, with all the best restaurants and bars around the corner. The hotel has a nice roof top terrace with a very small pool where you have a fantastic view. Nice rooms in modern style and big bathrooms. Very good breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tres

Address: Calle Apuntadors 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tres 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Tres Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.