We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt for choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni L

Giovanni L
Carrer de Jaume II, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Forres, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

So many ice creams to choose from and the best display I have seen! It was so good I went back three times during out stay in Palma. The staff were very friendly and recommend some good ice creams. Great little hidden gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loads of different delicious ice cream 2.20 euros for a small. Chocolate is lovely and rich. Was really busy when we went

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hands down, the BEST gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I work for a cruise line that traveled the entire Mediterranean this past summer; and we tried so many different kinds of gelato. It was my girlfriend's mission to try as many different flavors...and she did. But when we ended up at Giovanni's for a try, we were first blown away at the presentation of their store. Then, when we had our gelato...we were sold. Absolutely delicious. We went back for seconds! And then when we arrived in Palma for our second and last visit, we went straight to Giovanni's with a large group of friends. Each of us had our favorites: Bailey's, watermelon, Mozartkugeln (which is a specialty chocolate, and the only place we found this flavor), Oreo, vanillia negro (which is delicious at the same time it turns your tongue black), etc.. A quick stop, long stop, one stop, or two stops...this is a must for a refreshing little snack! Only thing to note about this place is they do not have seating or wifi. But definitely worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place has some of the best ice cream our family has ever had. Even ended up having two serves in one visit to Palma. Wish they had a. Branch in Port de Pollenca where we usually stay when we come to visit Mallorca. They have a great variety of flavours & are reasonably priced too. Well worth a visit, but will set the bench mark for your next ice cream experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An ice cream experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

As you approach Giovanni, you can't help but be intrigued: puffs of cold gas squirt into the street from the awnings, drawing you in! Once you can see the counter, the ice creams look incredible, dozens of different flavours that are a feast for the eyes. We had 2 scoops each in a medium pot, which was good value, and tasted amazing. I had creme catalan and butterscotch, my wife had toblerone and strawberry. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni L also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Giovanni L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni L, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.