We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Calatrava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Calatrava
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Stockholm Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“cool boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

nice surprise when she got there after the taxi having been lost.
Room was very nice, upgraded to suite, clean and with a view of the sea.
Breakfast is very nice in the roof terrace. Staff is extremely helpful and nice.
You get a private SPA visit, nice gesture but nothing spectacular.
can really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I just have one word to describe this hotel- excellent! The nicest and most friendly staff, amazing rooms and service.My boyfriend and me stayed there for couple of days only for his bday and were so sad we had to leave in such short time. Considering it was his bday I wanted to suprise him and prior to our arrival I had asked the staff to arrange some small cake, fruit basket and bottle of champagne to be ready for us in the room and not only have they orginised it perfectly but I was only charged for the fruit basket. Two girls working there (reception and bar) were so sweet, polite and helpfull. Wish all hotels around the world had staff like that.Location is perfect, only 10min from the beach and city center. Great value for the money. Well recomended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South African
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a short stay at this wonderful hotel.

This hotel is ideal for a stay in the city of Palma. It is a modern hotel set in the culture of the old city. The location is great -in the old town overlooking the park del mar and a few minutes walk to the city centre (including cathedral, Passeig des Born, the hop on hop off bus stop and a number of great eating spots).

Without doubt, it is the service of this hotel that sets it apart. Before we arrived, they organised VIP car access from the airport, a reservation at a beach club, recommended the best restaurants and beaches to go to and made reservations and selected best tables for us. They go out of their way to plan your day with you and ensure you get the most out of your stay. Our airline (Air Europa) lost our bags and the hotel went out of their way to recover them for us! (Don't use Air Europa if you can avoid them - we were told by many subsequently that late flights and lost baggage is par for the course with them)

It only opened this year and they have had maximum occupancy every single evening.

The rooms hold their own! We stayed in a suite and were very happy with the size of the room (very large!!) as well as the breakfast (served on the roof with a view overlooking the ocean).

Room Tip: Pick the suites! Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Calatrava & chose it due to the positive tripadvisor ratings.
The hotel is in a good location in the old town overlooking the park del mar.
The staff were freindly & efficient, we booked a calatrava suite which overlooked the park & palma bay. The room was better than we could have hoped for very spacious. My wife & daughter used the spa on both days with very short notice on both occasions & they loved it.
The hotel is ideally placed for the cathedral which is a 5 minute walk, as is the old town.
There were a couple of downsides the 60 euro charge to make a bed out of the sofa for our daughter & the cost of breakfast, that said we didnt have breakfast as within a few minutes walk theres plenty of restaurants at a fraction of the cost. A word of warning though dont t
ake a car, we had a hire car & the hotel parking is so tight we had great difficulty parking. We would have thought a 5 star hotel would park your car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

GREAT hotel; excellent breakfast and exceptional views from the terrace.

GREAT location; a few minutes walking distance to the city center and also to the beach. Very quiet area.

GREAT stafff; certainly what makes the difference in this place is the staff and the great personalized service they offer. Very helpful, they deserve six stars.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

When we arrived we were given a complimentary glass of cava in the hotel terrace while our luggage was taken to our room. A lovely introduction to our stay.
It was my birthday on the day of our arrival and when we went to our room a complimentary bottle of cava awaited us with a note wishing me a happy birthday.
Our Suite was spacious, first class and very clean with incredible views to the ocean and a private terrace.

The hotel is very centrally located so all sights of Palma are within walking distance. Wi-Fi is free, breakfast is delicious and served in a spectacular roofterrace with views to the bay.

One the great things of this hotel is the staff, they were all friendly and very professional, they ensure you have a great trip. I was absolutely impressed with the team at the hotel.

Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The Suites Calatrava are really spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have to admit our expectations to the hotel were high given the positive reviews on tripadvisor. However, I can unfortunately not confirm those reviews. The design of the hotel is nice but the service is mediocre at best. Selection of breakfast is limited. We asked for a recommendation of a good restaurant and were guided to Hotel Can Cera which turned out to be part of the same company owning the hotel Calatrava (which would be Ok if the food at the Can Cera was not mediocre as well). Furthermore, you don't get the possibility to use any of the amenities of the hotel as those are booked out all the time; what is then the purpose of spending an arm and a leg for staying at this hotel? Very disappointing experience. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Calatrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Address: Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Calatrava 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is part of the marine facade of La Calatrava, in the city centre and close to the Catherdral. The hotel has 16 suite-type rooms, a cafe-bistro, SPA and a large terrace with magnificent views over the bay of Palma and the Parc de la Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calatrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Calatrava Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Calatrava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.