We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Calatrava to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Calatrava
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have to admit our expectations to the hotel were high given the positive reviews on tripadvisor. However, I can unfortunately not confirm those reviews. The design of the hotel is nice but the service is mediocre at best. Selection of breakfast is limited. We asked for a recommendation of a good restaurant and were guided to Hotel Can Cera which turned out to be part of the same company owning the hotel Calatrava (which would be Ok if the food at the Can Cera was not mediocre as well). Furthermore, you don't get the possibility to use any of the amenities of the hotel as those are booked out all the time; what is then the purpose of spending an arm and a leg for staying at this hotel? Very disappointing experience. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    23
    5
    9
    1
See reviews for
8
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Newly done hotel in Palma de Mallorca. Having stayed in many 5 star hotels was expecting a bit more maybe and found the exterior a bit down at heel. Reception was also nothing to shout about and certainly had no wow factor. The room was nice. It was clean and large with a good bed although a little too bare for our taste meaning it didn't feel luxurious. Bathroom nice but basin could have been bigger. Staff did a good job and were polite and helpful. Be aware that there is NO proper restaurant at this hotel which we found a little astounding given the 5 star status. I noticed that access with a car or coach is impossible, so it is not ideal for some people.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked a deluxe room through booking site and the hotel was beautiful. Breakfast was lovely with freshly squeezed orange juice. First class ammenities throughout. Great bathroom, comfy large bed. My only regret is not having booked a junior suite as they are bigger and get more sun. the deluxe room with small windows doesn't let the sun in much and you have to have the lights on which was a shame.

Room Tip: Close the bathroom window cos neighbours can see inside the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This new hotel is a great place to stay, away from the busy centre of Palma but within easy walking. Intimate and friendly the staff are great especially Javier who was so helpful in lots of ways. The roof terrace is a great way to start the day eating breakfast overlooking the sea. Try it you will love it.

Room Tip: The standard doubles are a good size but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked to stay at the Hotel Calatrava for two nights, sadly at the time we couldn't get any more nights so we stayed at its sisted hotel Can Cera.

Everything about the hotel is Superb, the decor, service but the best thing about the hotel was the room. We stayed in a Calatrava Suite (room 7), as soon as we walked we were blown away with the size of the room and bathroom. It was pure luxury. It had a wonderful terrace with a great view of the bay.

The staff were attentive without being over the top, it had a very relaxed feel.

The roof top terrace for breakfast was lovely as well.

It took just 10 mins walk to get to a huge choice of bars and restaurants.

I'm planning on returning next year for my milestone birthday.

Can't wait!!

Room Tip: We had room 7, it was a huge suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a lovely upscale Boutique hotel overlooking the Parc de la Mar in Palma - a five minute stroll to the Cathedral. This isn't a bellboys and bowing and scraping kind if place - opting for friendly, attentive and discreet service led by Carlos and his team. It is a very welcome addition to the Palma scene - a beautiful restoration away a little from the madding crowd of La Llotja. Beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious furnishings and a lovely mix of old and contemporary pieces - light and airy and cool sophistication. A welcome change from the usual boutique minimalism. We had a huge room on the 2nd floor with large bathroom. Suite Calatrava.Breakfast on the roof terrace was wonderful overlooking Palma Bay and a great selection to tempt the appetite every morning. The winning factor for me was the location - perfect to take the long walk to one of my favourite areas of both Portixol & Molinar and the many restaurants there - or in to the well trodden cobbled paths of the Old town. No real negatives at all - no where is perfect for everybody - some might say that the area outside the hotel needs a little attention - but the gnarled old trees the ancient surroundings and a glass of Cava in the sunshine and you can forget it. It is sure after being open only a few weeks to go from strength to strength. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My preferred choice of hotel is of course five star. This hotel is newly opened so the expectation of everything being perfect is probably where my problems began. The reception hall is a very casual affair with a small desk although the room was comfortable apart from the echo. Our room was a good size but I had a problem when shaving in the modern sink it all got very wet and seemed to be rather too small to perform my task with ease. What a shame there is no restaurant it did get tiring having to leave the hotel at my age. On reflection maybe this hotel would be more suited to a younger clientele.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Calatrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Address: Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Calatrava 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is part of the marine facade of La Calatrava, in the city centre and close to the Catherdral. The hotel has 16 suite-type rooms, a cafe-bistro, SPA and a large terrace with magnificent views over the bay of Palma and the Parc de la Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calatrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Calatrava Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Calatrava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.