We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...........loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Calatrava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Calatrava
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“WOW...........loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked to stay at the Hotel Calatrava for two nights, sadly at the time we couldn't get any more nights so we stayed at its sisted hotel Can Cera.

Everything about the hotel is Superb, the decor, service but the best thing about the hotel was the room. We stayed in a Calatrava Suite (room 7), as soon as we walked we were blown away with the size of the room and bathroom. It was pure luxury. It had a wonderful terrace with a great view of the bay.

The staff were attentive without being over the top, it had a very relaxed feel.

The roof top terrace for breakfast was lovely as well.

It took just 10 mins walk to get to a huge choice of bars and restaurants.

I'm planning on returning next year for my milestone birthday.

Can't wait!!

Room Tip: We had room 7, it was a huge suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a lovely upscale Boutique hotel overlooking the Parc de la Mar in Palma - a five minute stroll to the Cathedral. This isn't a bellboys and bowing and scraping kind if place - opting for friendly, attentive and discreet service led by Carlos and his team. It is a very welcome addition to the Palma scene - a beautiful restoration away a little from the madding crowd of La Llotja. Beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious furnishings and a lovely mix of old and contemporary pieces - light and airy and cool sophistication. A welcome change from the usual boutique minimalism. We had a huge room on the 2nd floor with large bathroom. Suite Calatrava.Breakfast on the roof terrace was wonderful overlooking Palma Bay and a great selection to tempt the appetite every morning. The winning factor for me was the location - perfect to take the long walk to one of my favourite areas of both Portixol & Molinar and the many restaurants there - or in to the well trodden cobbled paths of the Old town. No real negatives at all - no where is perfect for everybody - some might say that the area outside the hotel needs a little attention - but the gnarled old trees the ancient surroundings and a glass of Cava in the sunshine and you can forget it. It is sure after being open only a few weeks to go from strength to strength. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My preferred choice of hotel is of course five star. This hotel is newly opened so the expectation of everything being perfect is probably where my problems began. The reception hall is a very casual affair with a small desk although the room was comfortable apart from the echo. Our room was a good size but I had a problem when shaving in the modern sink it all got very wet and seemed to be rather too small to perform my task with ease. What a shame there is no restaurant it did get tiring having to leave the hotel at my age. On reflection maybe this hotel would be more suited to a younger clientele.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oensingen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

- modern spacious rooms
- extremely friendly and helpful staff
- nice roof terrasse with sea view
- delicious breakfast
- good location for old town visit - close to the cathedral
- beautyfully renovated hotel
- and again so friendly staff ...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm glad to have had the pleasure of being one of the first guests of this magnificent hotel. We made an incredible election; this is a modernly designed hotel in a 19th century home with an exquisite decoration.
The bedroom was beautiful, elegant, and quiet. The bed was big and very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding, it was a relaxing way to start the day, on a beautiful terrace facing the bay.
The staff took care of every detail - such as booking special restaurants for us and organizing excursions around the island, nothing was too much trouble. I am so grateful with the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of choosing this hotel on our visit to Palma during a tour of Spain. The hotel is spectacular: small, intimate, and luxurious.
Breakfast is served on the terrace with incredible views to the ocean, with exquisite, fresh and high quality products. We stayed in a suite with a terrace facing the ocean. The room was spacious, comfortable and had a beautiful bathroom with a modern style.
The service in every place of the hotel was impeccable; their employees are friendly and very professional. We had dinner one night at their sister hotel Can Cera and we were so delighted that we repeated it the night after.
The hotel's location is very convenient, as it is close to the Cathedral and the main touristic spots of Palma.
It was one of the best travelling experiences we have had no doubt about it. We will most definitely be returning soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of choosing this hotel on our visit to Palma during a tour of Spain. The hotel is spectacular: small, intimate, and luxurious.
Breakfast is served on the terrace with incredible views to the ocean, with exquisite, fresh and high quality products. We stayed in a suite with a terrace facing the ocean. The room was spacious, comfortable and had a beautiful bathroom with a modern style.
The service in every place of the hotel was impeccable; their employees are friendly and very professional. We had dinner one night at their sister hotel Can Cera and we were so delighted that we repeated it the night after.
The hotel's location is very convenient, as it is close to the Cathedral and the main touristic spots of Palma.
It was one of the best travelling experiences we have had no doubt about it. We will most definitely be returning soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Calatrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calatrava

Address: Plaza Llorenc Villalonga, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Calatrava 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is part of the marine facade of La Calatrava, in the city centre and close to the Catherdral. The hotel has 16 suite-type rooms, a cafe-bistro, SPA and a large terrace with magnificent views over the bay of Palma and the Parc de la Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calatrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Calatrava Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Calatrava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.