We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HM Balanguera to your Saves list
HM Balanguera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smart Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This stay was a runaway success. The hotel was as described by other reviews, big room comfortable bed with the boutique style followed throughout. The staff were competent and breakfast was simple but actually exactly what you need, all good quality components. Enjoyed the relaxed air. Location is a walkable distance to the centre and only 25 mins to the airport. Happy with this choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Nigel,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying at HM Balanguera, I am happy you enjoyed the hotel and hopefully you got to enjoy this amazing city as well.

Best regards from Palma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    85
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
222
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful throughout although I'd agree with comments about showers looking unclean due to wear. Roof terrace was great and rarely too busy because it's a relatively small hotel. Staff were friendly and approachable. Not too far a walk from town; 10 minutes to Block House for a great steak or 20 minutes to Taberna el Burladero for excellent modern tapas.

Big downside was the air conditioning not working. We moved rooms after a very hot first night and had multiple exchanges with the staff; resulting in a fan and fruit plate, however neither solved the ineffectual air conditioning in the second room. At times, our room was 25 degrees overnight. Even once they got it working it was rarely below 20 in the room. Other guests told us their rooms were fine, down to about 15, but we weren't as fortunate.

A fair price for a stylish stay but the AC needs to be dealt with.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms at the end of the corridor (104-107) due to definite air con issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We read all the reviews and wanted to try this new and very different hotel. After a week there we have very mixed emotions:

Location
If you complain about the location, you haven't done your homework. It's a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre, but we didn't mind. On our walks we found many nice stores and places to eat.

Breakfast
Excellent! The coffee was not that great, but overall a very nice experience

Room
First impression was: WOW! Stylish design and we felt that we had made the right choice. But then there was quite a few things:

- Toilet door did not close. Hey we're married, we didn't mind too much. But not so nice when you have to do a nr.2

- Paint in shower falling apart. And the "plate" that you stood on was wobbly. Not so nice when you had a kid in the shower.

- AC was HORRIBLE. We pointed it out a couple of times and asked the reception to be sure we was doing the right thing. We set it on 22 degrees and auto on the AC. But we woke up many mornings freezing and saw that the room temperature was down to 18-19 degrees. And since there are no blankets in the room that is a problem.

Me and my son woke up with sore throat and nose the fourth day. The day after we had to make a nightly visit to the emergenzy as the cold triggered our sons cold asthma. Not a pleasant experience, but ANTONIO was very helpful in ordering a taxi and picking the hospital to go to.

Unfit for children
We did get a childrens bed in our room, which was great (or what you would expekt from a hotel of decent class). But there was no childrens chair available for the breakfast. And no micro wave or water boiler either for heating our sons food. So we had to ask each day for them to help us. Seemed a bit unnecessary.

I get it, it is a modern, stylish hotel, but a childrens chair is a must! And a water boiler for the guest to borrow to his room doesn't seem to much to ask?

Pool on the roof
We loved the sixth floor, even though the pool was freezingly cold. It was very cozy.

Wifi
We we're not on vacation to sit glued to our smartphone, iPad and computer. But if i expekted to get some work done, then I would have been angry. It connected fairly well to the Macbook, but it was hopeless with our smartphones and the iPad.

OVERALL
This hotel has the potential to be GREAT! But it seems that a few things has been made in haste. They were renovating the bathrooms when we were there, we smelled the paint, and our room needs a whole lot of fixing.

We are quiet swedes, but after our trip I almost regretted that I did not demand a new room. I pointed out the problems three days in a row, but if we were more demanding we should have asked to be upgraded to a decent room instead.

If the hotels fixes some issues and we visit once more we could surely give av 5 to the hotel. I pondered giving a 4, but there were to many issues with our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in third floor, room 304. Kind of loud noise from the street, so you could not keep the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Ortenvik,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I apologize for the inconveniences that rose up during your stay and I welcome your suggestions. Please feel free to email us directly, we would be happy to hear any other recommendations you have! Anything than can help us to be even better is important information.

In regards to the location, I guess it depends on which way you walk to the city. The shortest walk is 10 minutes from the hotel to the center but other routes do take longer.

Thank you again and best regards from HM Balanguera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not long home and had a very enjoyable time in Palma and this hotel contributed a fair deal to the whole experience. The staff made a great impression on us and were so cheerful and also very helpful in answering all our questions about best places to visit and to eat and drink and so on. The room we had was impeccably clean and had a nice bed and good shower. Felt at home immediately and could have happily stayed longer. The breakfast served down by reception was super. Good quality and a nice change to the rows of boring and expected things you usually find at a hotel breakfast buffet. Taxis are not necessary as the location is quite central. Very good small and well run hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We really liked that this hotel put their own stamp on the look and feel of the place. They haven´t gone down the road of doing the usual small hotel thing of everything looking the same, being modern but having no character. It was nice to look around and say to yourself that´s a good idea for example, when you notice that the breakfast is served open plan and gives a feel of being at home. Basically it´s a simple, very clean and friendly hotel down a quiet street of Palma and very near the heart of the city. Extra clean throughout including the rooms which have nice fixtures and fittings and good beds. We used the rooftop terrace and got talking to some other holiday makers one day and had the roof to ourselves another. Took some impressive pictures of the city view from up there. Nice staff and they will guide you on where to find good restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'd like to give this hotel a better rating, as it is beautiful and the services were excellent. Upon checking in, they upgraded us to a suite, so it's especially uncomfortable to criticize. However, there were just enough oops and uh-ohs to detract from what is so good about HM Balenguera.

First, the things that they are doing right: BREAKFAST! Also worth mentioning: gorgeous, modernist white concrete design, big window with light-blocking shutters, large balcony, good WiFi, comfortable bed, good shower, large sitting areas inside and out, spacious work area, 2 TV monitors, welcoming staff, 2 lifts, okay location, moderate price. The concrete floor and fabric-covered ceiling, the light fixtures, the balcony furniture were unusual and attractive. The poem on the dining room wall is lovely, and worth finding a translation.

What detracted from a perfect rating: not all that white paint actually stays clean and ON the concrete surface: areas in the shower and behind the beautiful stone sinks were cracked and peeling. The concrete floors, especially in the shower, never looked really clean.

The nice big shelf in the work area didn't have a lamp, making working after dark a real eye-squinter. The seat for the work bench is a low hard cube on wheels with chipped corners - ouch!

In the sitting area, the "couch" is an uncomfortable concrete bench with cushions, facing a wall mounted flat screen. When changing channels, the other wall mounted flat screen that faces in the opposite direction, magically turns itself on, with volume. Also in the sitting area, are 2 very low chairs and a coffee table: child sized, not for the mature adult. Adjacent, the closet has a minibar and safe, 11 wood hangers in rod fittings, and a long curtain that drags on the floor, most annoyingly. Other than some shelves and baskets, there is not much storage; I just left my suitcase open on the rack provided and worked out of that; on a 4-night stay, I prefer to unpack into a bureau.

The "open plan" has two sinks essentially IN the bedroom, with a storage shelf below. The toilet has a separate room with indirect lighting and an echo, as does the shower. It's an excellent shower, with two little hooks for towels, but nowhere to hang a few items a traveler might need to rinse out. A box of facial tissues and a waste basket would be useful additions here.

Breakfast is wonderful. Unfortunately, for those of us who stay for more than a cup of (excellent) coffee, the muted video loop on the flat screen does not bear endless repetition.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel. It is well-run and just a bit different. I slept and ate well here. The location is a good walk from the train station and the town centers, but Palma is a great city for walking, so I didn't mind a bit. When we got tired, there was always a pastry or tapas joint with a chair and a view.

We certainly appreciated the upgrade to the suite and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for the useful feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you liked Palma as well. If you would like to provide us with more insight please feel free to contact us at the email indicated in our website, you can address it to myself if you wish.

Best regards from Palma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Glad we thought outside the box and chose this hotel. Not in a prime position but the staff, breakfast and rooms more than make up for it. We loved the rooftop terrace and as the weather was still very hot we sat up there for a couple of hours every day. Lovely rooms, great beds and just very good value. Good for couples.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HM Balanguera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.