We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish but.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HM Balanguera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HM Balanguera to your Saves list
HM Balanguera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Cocentaina, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very stylish but.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

......staff were very friendly and efficient. We had the"best" room, the junior suite and it was spacious and quiet with2(?) TV's. However, it is a brisk 20 minute walk to an area with restaurants or bars. We found a local bar serving food, quite by chance, and dined in solitary splendour. The food was OK but, apart from long chats with the owners about the hard economic times it was not an evening to remember.
So location would prevent us from staying again.

Room Tip: If it's important to you ask of the roof terrace will be open. It wasn't during our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    85
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
222
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

10 out of 10....no need to say anything else except 200 characters are minimum. 20 euros for taxi to hotel, location just off the beaten track but fabulous, roof top perfect, breakfast amazing (best ever inc cava).....to be honest best hotel I've ever stayed in. thank you HM Balanguera

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the great style and overall standard of this hotel, considering we got a room for an extremely good value for money rate (September). The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are stylish, quirky and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff are very helpful. A thoroughly modern and up to date experience.

Location is reasonable and walkable (or a cheap taxi ride) into/back from the centre.

We had a hire car for the whole time we were there which allowed us to do a few day trips out of the city - parking can be tricky, but with a little perseverance we always found a space close to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed Palma and there are lots of great places to eat in the area to the west of Av. d'Antoni Maura. Portixol is another great place to go in the evening.

Mark and Ollie
Ireland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mark & Ollie,

Thank you for your great review. It is a pleasure to see that our efforts don't go unnoticed, I am happy you liked our hotel! It does seem that our breakfast gets the attention of our guests, thank you for commenting on it.

Best regards and hopefully we'll see you on your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The balance of new and classic Spanish works well at this hotel. My room was bright, clean and the layout worked. Smart bathroom with an excellent shower system. Breakfast is set out as a buffet, for this smaller hotel it works really well and keeps it feeling relaxed. Fifteen minutes and you can be in the midst of the stores or walking along the promenade around the marina. This is a modern city with enough to keep you wanting more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this stylish hotel. The rooms were lovely but a bit small with not much storage space but lovely large showers and beds. The breakfast was a nice buffet style breakfast in the sitting area near the lobby. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the heart of Palma but it is an easy walk. The staff were very friendly but the wifi was broken for the 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused to you due to our Wifi's malfunction. We are aware of the issue and we are working on finding the best solution.

Thank you again for your feedback and best regards from Palma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great small hotel for what we needed and a perfect city base. Very clean and modern and had all the little touches we like to find, like decent toiletries, good shower and nice pillows and good beds. Not for beach holiday people and not much going on for kids, so I think it is only suited to couples and singletons. Staff were friendly and always available to lend their ideas of things to do and see and places to eat at. Good quality breakfast and good value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at HM Balanguera, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Karen,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at HM Balanguera. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Palma.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our experience here was a good one right from the minute we arrived. Friendly, reception staff full of info about the city. Cool room, spotless and so chic, need a clear out at home it makes my bedroom look a right mess. Found the location fine, we walked into the centre and it took a slowish twenty minutes. Enjoyed the laid back eating habits here, the food in restaurants is so good, even though it can get a bit expensive the quality is there. The roof is a nice extra space to sit for a quiet drink. Glad we've found this unassuming hotel, will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HM Balanguera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.