We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HM Balanguera

Save Saved
You added HM Balanguera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HM Balanguera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 65 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great small hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I like to find smaller hotels and this is a good one. Nice personal service when you arrive and lovely staff but not intrusive, so you feel at home. Good (not great), quiet location just a few minutes walk from the hub of the city. Excellent room, bed, shower and toiletries. Nice use of natural materials everywhere like wood, stone and raffia. Liked the big pieces of artwork and photos and especially the costume displayed in the lobby. A good price for the high standard we received and a good week overall.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    63
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
17
180
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic modern, clean, friendly Hotel. We stayed for four nights whilst visiting our son who is working here . We couldn't fault this hotel, nor it's facilities,staff and generous buffet breakfast. Upon our 'late at night ' check in, we were greeted by very friendly and attentive staff who took the trouble to provide us with a map and explain all the interesting sites and locations both locally in Palma and also further afield on the Island of Mallorca. Our room (202) was clean, welcoming and very 'trendy', we had no complaints at all. Lovely facilities, very comfortable large bed, great toiletries and good attention to cleanliness every day of our stay. En-suite facility is 'unusual' , it provides excellent showering and everything you need in a compact area, however the washbasin is situated inside the main bedroom area. This wasn't a problem for us. WiFi access is free and reliable. Some street noise as you would expect in any City, but this was because we slept with the windows open. The Roof Terrace was beautiful, it was charming, it was quiet and a great place to relax. We found an excellent range of Restaurants on the Calle Fabrica, this was about a 10 to 15 minute walk (depending upon your pace) and was through a safe area with no problems at all. Staff at the Hotel were able to recommend a range of restaurants to suit your taste and price range. We particularly enjoyed the 'es Trampo' and ate there twice. This area is a Pedestrianised Street and is dedicated as a food area. Great to visit.
We were disappointed to read some negative reviews about this Hotel and they really are unjustified. We are seasoned travellers with expectations of high standards and this Hotel ticked all the boxes for us.
All the staff were to be complimented for their attention, politeness, helpfulness and Customer care.
When visiting Mallorca in the future, we would not hesitate to use this Hotel again as a base in Palma and for exploring the island as a whole.

Room Tip: Ask the Hotel Staff when booking your room, they couldn't be more helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good hotel - most of the staff very friendly and helpful.
We had a couple of problems with our room - and these were fixed fairly quickly by the maintenance man. Despite being a new hotel the safes do not take laptops.
The only issue I would have against the hotel is the fact that one person only mans the front desk. One person decided to lock the front door when he left the desk which was not good. SAFETY HAZARD here. I was most upset by this. The hotel should set up a buzzer (only switched on when desk is not manned) so that people crossing the threshold into the hotel are more obvious. Others manning the desk just left the door unlocked. For people leaving luggage at reception - this was not ideal either.

Room Tip: High Floor - reduces road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here mainly due to the staff and also the nice surroundings. Lovely guy checked us in and took time to explain about the city and what to do and see and also about breakfast and the roof terrace at the hotel. Our room was faultless. New, clean, spacious and bright. We had a suite which had an excellent outside space with seating area. Thankfully the sun shone a lot, so although it wasn´t hot, a cardy was enough to keep me warm while I enjoyed my book outside. The bed was divine and we slept like logs. Good pressure in the shower and nice smellies. Breakfast as promised was a good spread with tasty pastries and cold cuts and cheese, fruit, yogurt and juices. Plenty to keep you going till lunch. Loved Palma and could have spent longer exploring. We highly recommend this hotel for any savvy solo travellers or couples looking for a stylish, comfortable place to lay their head in Palma.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our second time to Palma and enjoyed it more this time round, mainly due to The Balanguerra. It is a small hotel but you do not feel under the microscope as you often do in small hotels. You can come and go as you please and the staff are very laid back but also very approachable. That´s not to say they weren´t professional, because they were. Super bedroom with semi-open plan bathroom within the bedroom and all done to a very high spec. Extremely comfortable mattress which I didn´t want to get out of! Good breakfast and nice open style reception come lounge area. We will no doubt stay here again as we are hoping to go to Palma again before the year is out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We wanted to love this hotel after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor. However, the hotel is not near any restaurants/bars and is a good 20/25 minute walk from the centre of Palma, the port and the places to eat and drink. It is a problem at night walking back and forward because it takes so long. We thought the rooms were quite basic, the windows when open, you could hear traffic noise and dogs barking as it is in a residential/not so nice part of town. The shower cubicle base rocked and the loo had no privacy as it was built into the room with very little soundproofing behind a frosted glass door.

Staff on reception were helpful and we enjoyed the breakfasts. However on our next trip to Palma we could stay near the centre and the Port.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had in fact reserved one evening in the sister hotel, but due to a burst water pipe were given alternative accommodation in the Balanguera.Obviously, the staff could not help the fact that our original booking was no longer available, but the alternative was to say the least, grossly inferior. The room itself was very small and stuffy. The air conditioning was eventually brought to life by the staff, although to be honest didn't really to cool things down very much Apart from that there were several, smaller, but nevertheless annoying faults:Fridge didn't work, shower flooded over,room generally in poor repair.Also to note is that if you choose to stay here you must be prepared to do a bit of walking as the hotel isn't near any bus routes...To walk into the centre you need a good 25-30 mins. On a positive note, the staff were very helpful and did their best to help under difficult circumstances All in all for a 4 star hotel and in particular compared to its partner where we originally booked, this hotel really didn't come up to the mark..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HM Balanguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Balanguera

Address: Calle Balanguera, 37, 07011 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Balanguera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HM Balanguera Hotel is an urban 4-star hotel built in 2012. Its Mediterranean character and special design make it an attractive option for those seeking accommodation in the city of Palma de Mallorca. Its exceptional location, close to the city center, allows guests to reach the main attractions in a few minutes walk. Museums, historic buildings and shopping areas are easily reached without the need of a car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your HM Balanguera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HM Balanguera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HM Balanguera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.