We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapa Negra

Tapa Negra
Ingeniero Gabriel Roca 29 | Paseo Maritimo, Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 28 69 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,488 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the bayfront of Palma, situated on the main floor of Hotel Palas Atenea and just inside of the most beautiful area of palma during the day and at night, since we are close to the main Discos of Mallorca.We are a family bussiness and we can define ourselves as: "Tapa Negra is about sharing, tasting with all your senses, small portions, a language for everyone, a way of living" We bring the best products from all the country such as Joselito's Ham, Canarejal cheese from northern spain, chistorra from the baske country etc etc. In fact we are the only restaurant authorized in mallorca where you can find the original Joselito's ham.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice people, good food (especially the tapa that is the same name as the restaurant) and nice sangria. We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa N, Director Comercial at Tapa Negra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Simone N,

Many thanks for your visit to TAPA NEGRA. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service, afterall, this is what we strive for.

Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments, client feedback is very important to us. I will pass your opinion onto the team here as I am sure that they will be extremely happy to know that they made you feel very welcome.

Best regards,

Tapa Negra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    131
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great modern tapas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Chose to eat at tapa negra from looking at reviews on tripadvisor and i'm glad we did, stunning meal enjoyed by our noisy table of 8 girls! Emailed the restaurant in advance to make a booking and had confirmation 30 mins later. Great modern twist on tapas, really beautiful restaurant with great service from the staff. Cod fritters, baby squid, stunning!!! Would revisit the restaurant if visiting palma again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa N, Director Comercial at Tapa Negra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear caroline194,

Many thanks for your visit to TAPA NEGRA. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and service, afterall, this is what we strive for.

Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments, client feedback is very important to us. I will pass your opinion onto the team here as I am sure that they will be extremely happy to know that they made you feel very welcome.

Best regards,

Tapa Negra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having read tripadvisor before going to Palma we went along to this restaurant with high expectations only to have the worst meal we had in our 5 nights. We sat outside which was a mistake as there is little room, the pathway was busy and the restaurant is situated next to the entrance to a large hotel and many guests come outside to smoke plus there were coach pickups going on just to the side of us. The menu is complicated and does not always mention if there is meat mixed with what you might think is suitable for a non meat eater. The food was not good it had no taste whatsoever.The service was none existent. From all the reviews that we had read this was not what we had expected.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa N, Director Comercial at Tapa Negra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kim M,

Thank you very much for taking to time to send your opinion. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Guest's feedback is very important for us and we will forward your comments to our team.

We hope you give us another opportunity and please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to comment anything else.

Best regards,
Tapa Negra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Ok newer type of Tapas bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Situated along a busy main road with some outdoor tables plus nicely decorated interior. We went for lunch and sat outside in the sunny weather. This is one of the newer types of tapas bar which try to do something different with the menu with a focus on presentation. Portions were quite small but reasonably priced so you were able to enjoy more dishes compared to other tapas bars which tend to cater for larger groups rather than couples. Not the best tapas bar in Palma but worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapa N, Director Comercial at Tapa Negra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear GH24,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on your recent experience at TAPA NEGRA.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal with us. All of your comments are a great motivator and a sign that we are on the right track.

On behalf of all staff of TAPA NEGRA we thank you and look forward to seeing you again here soon.

Best regards,
Tapa negra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tapas tapas tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Lots of variety on the menu, although the menu was a bit confusing

Waiter was friendly and helpful, with the menu and also with our 3 month old baby

Well located, and the view of the marina is nice but if you sit outside, you are sat at the side of a busy road.

Tapas was fair sized portions, we had 5 between two ... The shrimp salad was lovely, as was the calamari

We both preferred restaurant contraste, which is a 5 min walk away and was half the price !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Negra also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Tapa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapa Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.