We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Smell!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel

Save Saved
You added TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo 11, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Appalling Smell!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed at the Bellver on our second visit. The outside is really in need of major face lift and there is signs of crumbling masonary to balconies. We had booked a Junior Suite room 1307 and paid top dollar for it. On arrival we found the bedroom had a terrible smell of sewage. When we raised this with reception they did not seem surprised and sent a technician up with an electrical box, which they said would remove the smell. This worked for a short time but the smell came back and was now in the lounge area and in fact despite the box stayed there the whole trip. We spoke next day to one of the Guest Managers who told us it was to do with the tides coming in and out and that all hotels in Palma had this (Oh Yeah!). She then tried to show us alternative rooms which were lower value and were not suitable. She then tried to get us to move to another hotel (unseen) which we turned down. In the end all we got was a 40 Euro reduction on total bill. It did not help that the air conditioning was not present downstairs at all and in rooms only sometimes. The Manager said this was because it was winter and aircon didn't go on until June.

The hotels position is one of the best in Palma and the views great (if you pay for them). The staff are friendly and helpful particularly Juan on the desk. However the barman in the Horario Bar was rude and unhelpful.

It is a shame the hotel has deteriorated since our visit 5 years ago. The problems we experienced and the way it was dealt with was poor. There shouldn't have been any problem with smells and no air con is unacceptable. We love Mallorca but will not be staying at the Tryp anymore.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    363
    144
    55
    23
See reviews for
76
351
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

A very enjoyable short break spent at this hotel,spent time time finding a marina front hotel and was deternined to get a seaview room.Discovered that for a further 5euros per night we could upgrade to a Premier room and it was very much worth it.The quality of the room and the front facing high floor position (1105)provided us with the most stunning views possible.
The breakfast as previously reported on other review sites was simply wonderful,the choice of hot and cold buffet items made one reluctant to get up and leave !
The staff on reception were pleasant ,but not very effective when we pointed out around four times, that the TV was not working,it was not a big issue though ,when we were rarely in .The only other gripe would be a low water pressure on the shower,which I suspect will be due to a high floor position and the demand for water in the early evening.
The bar lounge is very comfortable,but during our stay we found it was not popular ,even though prices were cheaper, than we discovered in nearby bars.
A fifteen minute stroll takes you into the old town area behind the Cathedral,where we found the best eating places,on the last night we ate at somewhere called Paloma nearby to the well known bar called Abaco,it was an excellent meal made more enjoyable by very good service.
Really enjoyed the trip around the city on and off the touring Citybus ,and we also visited the amazing Cathedral, to view the wonderful stained glass windows and religous history .
Palma ,is a great place to visit for a short break,and this hotel is in a good position to tour the sights

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I had emailed the hotel a week before our arrival to say that we would be arriving late and also to request a high floor based on advice from the forum. We had booked a sea view room. The deputy manager replied to my email within a couple of hours saying that our request for a high floor was noted and although it couldn't be guaranteed they would do their best to accommodate our request. Well they certainly did. We were given a room on the top floor (14) with the most wonderful view of the sea/marina/city and cathedral. It could not have been a better placed room from our point of view. The room itself was small but had everything you would want. Water pressure in the shower was excellent and the bathroom again had everything you would want - but it was rather cramped - only one person could get into the bathroom at a time. The room was kept very clean and also looked as if it had been recently decorated as everything was fresh looking. The inside of the hotel looks a lot better than the outside which needs a lick of paint - but on the sea front this is always a problem. The room had a generous balcony with two chairs, a table and a sun lounger (although sadly the weather wasn't that good while we were there).

Location was perfect - an easy walk into town, bus stop almost right outside if you didn't want to walk and numerous restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff were very friendly and helpful from front desk to restaurant and the buffet breakfast was excellent - lots of choices, continually replenished and although service was meant to end at 10.15 they were not strict in their enforcement of this and you certainly never felt hurried out of there (we weren't late but saw other people who were).

We had a late flight home and were given a late checkout without any issues when we asked if it was possible.

I speak some Spanish but my husband speaks none and our treatment when we asked for anything separately from any of the staff was always the same - friendly and helpful so although they seemed to appreciate my efforts at Spanish, it didn't affect the service level and if you don't speak any Spanish don't worry as everyone we encountered (apart from the maids) speak excellent English.

Would we stay there again? Definitely and I hope we get a chance to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

From the outside the hotel looks likes it is in need of a cost of paint, but inside we were pleasantly suprised at how nice all of the communal areas were. Their were plenty of lifts, the bedroom size was good with balcony and beds were comfy. Bathroom was quite small and somehow didn't feel entirely clean, although I think some of that was due to the cieling being partly dislodged and you could see wiring,dust etc which was a bit distrubing over the shower!

Having paid around £100 for a twin bedded room including breakfast I am not unhappy with my stay, but I think if I had paid more I would have been very dissappointed. My main issue was the staff. It was out of season so there were very few guests but the staff never went out of there way to make you feel welcome. For example when we came in or went out we would always smile and greet recption but sometimes we were never even acknowledged. When we asked for assistance with getting places or information we were given incorrect information purely because they could not be bothered to find out for us. On check in we were asked if wanted to upgrade to a sea view for about £40 a night...haivng only paid 100 we didn't bother, but you would think that with the hotel being so empty they would have put everyone in a seaview room for no cost. They did get things fixed/done quickly when we asked though, i.e. when the bulb in our room went by the time we returned they had changed it and when they did not leave us any towels one day they were delivered instantly.

Breakfast was included and it was wonderful, so much food, everything you could want for breakfast, including local specialities. The only think was again the staff, we had to wait ages for someone to offer us tea or coffee and the only attention they gave us was each day when we left. They follow you out to the lifts to make sure you haven't taken any food with you! I felt quite insulted that they did this.

Location wise, the hotel is on the seafront about 10 minutes walk from the city centre. We did not find it a problem at all walking in as we could walk along the wide promenade which was very pleasant. It was also handy for walking to the castle. The number 1 bus from the airport stops a short stroll from the hotel so it saves money on a taxi and only takes 30-45 mins.

I wouldn't rule out staying here again if the price was right, but if I was paying their rack rate then I think I would rather try one of the city centre boutique hotels.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

What a great place!

Fantastic location, friendly people, amazing views, nice pool (though December not the time to use it).

We booked seriously last minute to go here on the 28th December coming back on the 3rd Jan.

Easyjet flights into Palma, 17Eu taxi ride to the hotel. Friendly greeting, though they put me down as being female as opposed to male!?.

Room was nice. Very fresh, clean and a nice big bathroom. Only downside is that one evening whilst lying in the bath I could over hear a whole conversation from the room next to us. The walls in there are paper thin, and I doubt there is a great deal of segregation above the false ceiling. Though I am greatful for my neighbours sense of humour when fed up of his partner whittling on about her hair he came in their bathroom and belched in front of her. Most amusing!

We didn't use the hotel restaurant though that looked good. The bar looked a little "exclusive" so we opted for not using this either.

Cappucino a restaurant about 200yrds up the road was very nice. We had a few meals and NYE in the Hard Rock Cafe which was awsome. It had a great atmosphere and some awsome food.

My main recommedation here was Hogans bar. An irish bar just behind Cappucino. What a top place. Great atmosphere. Top food. Liked by both the locals and the tourists. Sean Hogan has done a top job with this. It's also recommended in the Easyjet magazine.

Off the English route though there are some amazing little tapas bars tucked away in little side streets. Don't be afraid to explore the streets they are a labyrinth of history. They are all very friendly though!

Only downside for me personally is that there is still smoking allowed in pubs there, and they all smoke!

We had a top time and a great NYE in Malloca, and would certainly go back for a few days when it got warmer in March / April time. You could walk down by the harbour for hours!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Visited the Tryp Bellver in Sept 2008 for a week's holiday in Palma; our whole experience was very good from checking in to checking out......we were early arriving as we had an early flight but there was a room ready as I had requested it was on a high floor no smoking with a cathedral and sea view room (not one of the premier rooms) it was very nice perhaps slightly on the small side but there was plenty of room for both of us - the balcony was huge we spent a lot of time there watching the world go by and deciding which boat we planned to buy when we won the lottery ! The maid service could have been a bit better on a couple of days - our dirty glasses from the bathroom and room bar were not cleared or cleaned and a couple of other things. The reception staff were really very helpful and had excellent english

The food at breakfast was fantastic and really neither my husband nor I really needed much more through the day although we had a toasted sandwich from room service a couple of times - very nice but not of the same quality as the breakfast - we had a room service meal one night - nowhere near the best we have had but OK - it seemed to be aimed at a german market.

There was a very nice Italian Restaurant just about 50 yards to the right of the hotel which was very good, reasonable priced and the staff were very friendly - we ate here three times; the other recommended Italian further down was OK - the food was good but we felt as if we were in a cattle market and the service was atrocious.

We stayed from Weds to Weds and must say despite being a bit concerned about the stag / hen parties we did not seem to notice any at all - On the Friday evening / early Saturday morning whilst standing on the balcony we noticed a little bit of noise coming from some groups and later on whilst again being on the balcony I heard an english voice having a row with someone but that did not seem to last.............there a few of same sex groups staying but I did not feel overwhelmed at all ....... we did notice a few Spanish Stag and Hen parties out on the Saturday night whilst we were walking along the Paseo Martimo.

The only thing is that it is a bit of a walk to the centre of Palma but the tourist bus stops right outside as well as other buses and of course the taxis are cheap. We hired a car for the second half of our week and the parking at the hotel was reasonable too.

Overall a good stay in a good hotel we would not hesitate to return and would recommend it to all concerned.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

The hotel is very nice, nicely furnished.
We had a premium room (free interner great bed) but sadly no seaview. We were told all premium rooms have seaview when booking. Which got very annoying.

The hotel is on paseo maritimo. (sat nav will not find it - avenida gabriel somthing is the real name) the street is the main road through palma center so it is quite noisy. our room was facing back to another busy road. So i had to sleep with earplugs. This was the only minus of the hotel, otherwise, all good.

The reception staff was ok, the staff in the restaurant was very nice. The breakfast excellent. JURA espresso machine :) nice pastries..

THe hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the center 20 to the cathedral.

THe pool area was a pleasant place to relax after day in palma's streets.

The hotel is quite popular for businessmen and pilots, not many tourists.

I would probably go again, only make sure to get the marina view.

  • Liked — location, furnishing
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo 11, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#30 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP Palma Bellver is located in the heart of the Paseo Maritimo seafront promenade and overlooks the Bay of Palma de Mallorca. Its strategic location in the heart of the city, its personalised service, and its excellent facilities make it the ideal choice for your stay in Mallorca. Near the hotel guests can visit the city's main attractions, such as the Cathedral, the Es Baluard museum of contemporary art, the historic Bellver Castle, as well as the city's main entertainment areas. TRYP Palma Bellver offers you the chance to discover the city's daytime and evening activities thanks to a location opposite the marina and just a few minutes walk from the trendy bars and restaurants and the major shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Bellver Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Tryp Palma De Mallorca
Tryp Hotel Bellver
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.